We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a relaxing break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orpheas Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Orpheas Resort to your Saves list
Orpheas Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kavros, Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 73007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Georgioupolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ashford, Kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place for a relaxing break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great location just off the main Chania to Rethymno road and just a stroll through the hotel grounds to a good quality sandy beach. Great for swimming as sea is warm (was in Sep anyway) and clear and only chest deep for some way out. Only slight downside re beach is a stony strip just as you enter the water which is rather tough on the feet, but sand for the rest of the way out. This hotel does not pretend to be glitzy or particularly smart instead it provides a relaxed homely atmosphere with friendly & helpful staff throughout, and exceptionally so in the reception area. The buffet style food is adequate without being exceptional but there is plenty of choice. Rooms are fairly basic but cleaned every day with fresh towels provided daily if required. Our ground floor location only had views of the hotel wall next door but this was no problem as we we didn't spend much time inside. A cafe/bar in the grounds provides an adequate all-day selection of food & drinks at reasonable cost for those spending the day on the beach or by the pool. Opposite the hotel entrance is a reasonable selection of gift shops, supermarkets, bars and restaurants but we found no night life to speak of and as there was no in-hotel entertainment, early nights were the order of the day. We picked up a car and made our own way to the hotel but although we knew its approximate location we had difficulty finding it as the only external identification is a very small nameplate beside the main entrance. For those in similar difficulty it is between the well signed Vantaris Beach and Happy Days hotels. A car is certainly an asset as the village itself was too small to hold our attention for long but we were able to visit nearby Georgeopolis, the much larger local capital Chania, the beautful & moving Allied War Cemetary at Souda Bay as well as taking an interesting drive across the mountains to catch a ferry to the unique village of Loutro. Crete is a beautiful island and given more than 7 days we could certainly have found many other places to visit. In summary, the Orpheus is a great place if you are looking for a laid-back, relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    39
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
100
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
hessen
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

simply a great hotel,that is why we are going back again this september.the staff are pretty cool,the food is well tasty and loads of it,first hotel i have ever stayed in and i wasn't dissappointed,iwe were so relaxed after a year of stess i nearly started walking backwards,as i said relax pure just what the doctor ordered.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the sea are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The location is great - on a sandy beach and close to Retimno and Chania (if you rented a car). Most of the days the sea was very pleasant and quiet. The room was spacious with a balcony where one can see the sea, with aircondition. Very good beakfast. Good facilities such as a pool and a pool bar where we ate lunches. The staff was very friendly and helpful and they let us have a late checkout as our flight was delayed. Very recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was such a lovely hotel; decor might not be to everybody's taste, but it certainly showed individuality and care.
It was the friendly and caring atmosphee which struck us immediately as soon as we arrived. We were also upgraded to superior rooms which had a gorgeous view of the snow capped mountains and the sea.Tthe rooms were large with comfortable beds and good sized balconies with good furniture.
we had Half board and the food was very good, in particular, the salads.
The wine which we chose most evenings was Greek and really very good value; not plonk at all. On the last evening they gave us the wine free which was a nice touch.
Not many Brits at the hotel, which helped to give it a cosmopolitan atmosphere.
We hired a car and spent much of the week birdwatching and looking for wild orchids. some splendid wildflowers could be seen everywhere. It was my first visit to Crete for thirty years and there was none of the disappointment which one can sometimes feel on a second visit. We went with Thompson and if you want something different from the usual run of the mill resort I would strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We travel to Crete twice a year, travelling around the different prefectures, instead of staying in one location. This hotel was very surprising. We booked it while in Elounda on the Eastern end of the island, planning to only stay one day, but ended up staying four. The rooms are really long and narrow, and all seem to point down towards the beach. The hotel itself has a very Moroccan aspect to it, but also with a lot of Greek styling. The hotel is on the beach(well you walk the path from the hotel to it, about 100mtr), where you will not be disappointed with what you find. The golden beaches in Rethymon stretch for miles, and probably the best stretch of it is right outside this hotel. You do have to pay for the sun loungers though, even if you are staying in the hotel(at least we did).
You are only 5 mins from Georgioupolis which is a fantastic little village. You would miss it if driving along the main road, as the turn off for it does not suggest a beautiful town is close by, but it is. There are dozens of great restaurants(and I mean great) sprinkled all through the town, along with some nice outdoor bars. Lake Kournas is also not far from here which is the only lake on the island, and well worth a visit. Just don't wear your best clothes as the banks can be quite sluggish. I spent twenty minutes helping a tourist pull his quad bike out of it !
This hotel will not disappoint.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

From day one for the whole 2 weeks, the hotel, staff, food, poolside bar, beach were all fantastic, we had a bottle of champagne & fruit awaiting us for when we got there, as we are in our 50's this all made our honeymoon stay excellent. We went on the on all the little coloured trains into the mountains to see the bee hives and olive groves, the man-made lake, it was very spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed at the Orpheas Resort for 7 nights with my sister at the end of September. Even though the weather wasn't great we really enjoyed our stay. It's not a huge hotel, which I like because it has a friendly, personal atmosphere. Our room had sea view and a beautiful balcony with chairs and a table. The room itself had a nice touch to it, the bed was comfortable and everything was working fine. We were glad there was air conditioning because in the evening there were lots of mosquitos and the cold air kept them out.

The only thing that was missing in the room was a tea/coffee making facility but then again drinks and food at the hotel bar and the pool bar are very well priced (1.50 Euro for a glass of fresh orange juice). Also the hair dryer was a bit slow and overheated a lot so if you rely on one you'd better bring it along with you!

I thought it was great that slippers and bath ropes were provided in the room. Beach towels and the safe could be rented at reception.

We only booked the room with breakfast but we could decide on the day whether we wanted to have dinner at the hotel which was 11Euro per person. The food was good quality and both times we had dinner the selection of dishes was different. Breakfast was always good with a variety of warm and cold items.

The beach at the hotel was great, much better than in Georgioupolis itself where the beach is very narrow (Orpheas resort is located ca. 4 km away from Georgioupolis in village called Kavros). Sun loungers and an umbrella could be rented for 4.70 per day (for 2).

There are two pools which are both not very big so if you are planning to have a proper swim I think the sea is better.

All the staff was exceptionally friendly and when I fell ill at the end of our stay they did assist in every way possible.

I agree with some other travelers that the rooms could do with a bit of renovating but all together I was not bothered by it too much. The overall friendliness and good location made up for the rooms not being that high standard.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Orpheas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orpheas Resort

Address: Kavros, Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 73007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Georgioupolis
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Georgioupolis
#5 Romantic Hotel in Georgioupolis
#9 Family Hotel in Georgioupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Orpheas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orpheas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orpheas Hotel Georgioupolis
Orpheas Resort Crete/Georgioupolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orpheas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.