We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, a real treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poseidon Fish Taverna

Poseidon Fish Taverna
Georgioupolis, Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, a real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We went here on our last night in Georgeoupolis, having watched the fish being landed from their boat earlier that day - so we knew how fresh it was. We recognised the young lady who had been helping to unload the fish, although she looked far more glamorous in here evening get up. She was a delightful person, and brought over her uncle to meet us, as my partner used to be a commercial fisherman - although he had no e
English she acted as our interpreter and he presented us with a marvellous conch shell! The fish was delicious - we chose four different sorts and it was cooked to perfection on the barbecue. Yes, it was the most expensive meal of our holiday, but still far cheaper than you would spend for that quality in the UK. We would have no hesitation in recommending that you go there - the setting, the food and the service are second to none.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    18
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

good food and plenty of it at some times to much.great staff and very helpful.when you do not understand the language

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a great diner yesterday. When you arrive you first have to go to the kitchen to make your choose of fish. We had 5 giant (and then I really mean giant!) scrimps each, the best french fries ever eaten, salad, white wine, water and a nice dessert of the house including raki of course. We had to pay €47,00. This was by far the most expensive meal this week but the taste and the atmosphere was so good it was worth every euro!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD SEA FOOD RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

A friendly service and very good food(only fish).A real authentic greek setting, fresher than this can't be the fish. Don't expect "sofisticated" food but the fish is pure and excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Rasses
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Just fantastic food, do'nt hesitate it's a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Fantastic seafood, delicious home made bread, mezze, salads, best ouzo in town, just go there and give yourself a treat!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poseidon Fish Taverna also viewed

Georgioupolis, Apokoronas
Georgioupolis, Apokoronas
 
Georgioupolis, Apokoronas
Georgioupolis, Apokoronas
 

Been to Poseidon Fish Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poseidon Fish Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.