We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in olive garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vardis Olive Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vardis Olive Garden to your Saves list
Vardis Olive Garden
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Asproulianos, Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 73007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Georgioupolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in olive garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This peaceful, modern and ultra clean hotel is situated in a quiet area, but not directly close to the sea. By car this takes 4 – 10 minutes, dependent on which beach you want to visit. The location is particularly attractive for visitors who want to explore cities such as Chania and Rethimno (AKA as Réthymnon, Retimno, Rethymnon and Rhíthymnos!!!; the high variability in spelling geographic names makes it occasionally very difficult to use a GPS route planner on Crete!!), but the most western part of Crete and the Samaria Gorge are also within reach. Not surprisingly the place is, just as everything on this island, surrounded by olive trees. The hotel consists of several small buildings, all separated by well maintained gardens with, again, olive trees but also palm and orange trees. We had a pleasant, spacious room with a kitchenette and a balcony. Unfortunately, and unexpectedly given the status of the hotel, wi-fi was only available in the hotel lobby. The central part of the hotel area is the nice swimming pool, surrounded by a terrace with parasols and bed chairs to make life less demanding. Close to this area was also the restaurant, offering good meals, excellent breakfast and pleasant views of the hotel area, the olive gardens and Cretan mountains. Staff was very adequate and friendly and offered us, as a good-bye gift …..……a tin with Vardis organic extra virgin olive oil! Thank you, olive people!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    26
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Olive trees create the Cretan atmosphere we were looking for. The pool always clean & the restaurant food was value for money. Friendly personnel & always there to help. The sea about 15' walking distance from the hotel. Between Rethymno & Chania cities the hotel is a strategic point for excursions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A friendly and well appointed hotel, set amongst an olive grove. The rooms are spacious and well equipped with a small kitchen area and fridge. The balcony is a good size too. Unfortunately however our bathroom had a permanent sewerage smell, which was quite unpleasant. The staff are friendly and helpful and there is a restauraunt which nightly have an excellent buffet of traditional Greek dishes. A car is highly recommended if you stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Vardis hotel 2 last weeks of September. It was very good hotel, excellent and very customer oriented staff. The place is super, we can compared with other hotels at Crete. It locates in nice olive garden, the owners even produce olive oil from this garden and you can buy it at the hotel. However, at the end of our stay we were presented by nice olive oil bottle. it is very peaceful place, with great view at mountains and the garden. We preferred to have dinner at the restaurant than at tavernas since when we compared we realized that quality of food and size of portion is better at Vardis:) The rooms have quite enough space, well-equipped and well cleaned, They have small kitchen with all needed kitchen facilities to cook. It was good for us because we travelled with little son. We can easily recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We spent four weeks, and I found all enthusiastic comments justified.So actually, there's nothing more to add. Be aware that either a car or a bicycle is extremely useful, both can be rented for a reasonable price in Georgioupolis.

Room Tip: Some rooms are facing the street, try to avoid them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Had a week at this hotel last week. It is in the middle of an olive grove with a mountain range close by(car needed). It's lovely and peaceful and very attractive. The "cleanliness" of the spacious rooms ,the premises and the swimming pool area was excellent. The personal oriented service of the personel was remarkable. You get real value for your money. The limited breakfast buffet was OK but the diner was not what we expected. Despite we had booked half board we only had diner three times in the hotel due to a lack of variety and a limited buffet. There a lot of better options in the wider environment(Georgioupolis, Rethymnon,..).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We arrived early evening after an adrenalin pumping drive from Fragokastelo across the mountain road - brilliant! We did have a little difficulty finding the hotel but once there received a very warm welcome. Our room was huge and very comfortable. We had a relaxing swim in the pool (only 2 other people in it) and then to the bar for some great cocktails recommended by the barman who was quite a character! A nice dinner and wine to end a great day.

Breakfast was wide ranging and reflected the tastes of the Dutch & German guests there. We asked about local points of interest and we told we MUST walk out into the sea to the Chapel of Saint Nicholas (which we did - well worth visiting but wear non-slip shoes and no socks as a perfectly calm sea can suddenly send in a wave to, momentarily, cover the causeway). Reluctantly, we had to leave for Rethimnou but, on settling the bill, were presented with a small bottle of olive oil pressed from the trees surrounding the hotel. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vardis Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vardis Olive Garden

Address: Asproulianos, Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 73007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Georgioupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vardis Olive Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated within an organic olive garden of 22000 square meters, offers its guests great moments of peace and nature. Its privileged location between the historic cities of Rethymno (17km) and Chania (43km, international airport), allows visitors to explore the island. Enjoy the longest sandy beach of Crete (1km) and relax by the unique ecosystem of Kournas lake (4km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Vardis Olive Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vardis Hotel Georgioupolis
Vardis Olive Garden Crete/Georgioupolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vardis Olive Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.