We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Sea view Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Georgioupolis Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Georgioupolis Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 73007 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Georgioupolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
ch
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Sea view Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

reccomended hotel from my sister , she stayed here last year. We got everything we ewere expecting, clean rooms smiling helpfull staff , and good food . My first time in Georgioupolis and i will be back ,i highly reccomend Georgioupolis Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed ii front seaview view studios just 5 steps from the pool !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    25
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
43
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were a young group of 4 people in the Georgioupolis Beach Hotel. On arrival we were informed, that no 2 adjoining double rooms were garden view nice ,and very peacefull . These rooms are much more spacious and offered plenty of space. It was modern and clean, but really only the most necessary capacity. The food was really delicious and varied. If you are going to the buffet it's great ,we personally loved everything . what the great taste but nothing dismissed has. The staff is great. All were super friendly and helpful if you had an inquiry. Here the customer is king! For young people the much to celebrate to want is georgioupolis but not the preferred corner. Here should for the guests more the bath vacation and the culture in the foreground. But there were also in georgioupolis some bars the until early in the morning open, . All in all it was a great vacation and i can only recommend this hotel and wish, that more hotels as a philosophy to be represented like Georgioupolis Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked this hotel after reading mixed reviews and were pleasantly surprised when we got there. We had booked a 'promo' room and upon arriving enquired about upgrading to a 'sea view' room but we were told it would be an extra 30 euro a night so we decided to see how we went with our original room. We had a room on the second floor at the back of the hotel, it was spacious and clean, had a/c, small tv, shower over a bath, double bed, hair dryer and fridge. All we needed really. There was a very nice balcony where we sat out and had croissants from the bakery each morning for breakfast.

During our 2 week stay we managed to have a sneek peek inside one of the sea view rooms and the only difference we could see was they had a better mattress on the bed and obviously the sea view.

Pool area was very good, clean and never any problems getting a sun bed. All the staff seemed very friendly and willing to help.

We can't comment on the restaurant as we had a room only basis and went out for meals as there is such a wide variety of tavernas nearby.

The location of the hotel was ideal, close to the beach and shops. Just over the road from the hotel is a small pebble beach with sun beds to hire but we found if you walked along the beachfront for around 5 minutes past the stream, the beach opens out to a lovely sandy quiet area. You need to keep walking past the millions of sun beds to get to this! There were bars for drinks nearby and it was alot less crowded.

Although our hotel was quiet the hotel over the road had 'themed' nights with loud music, although this did finish before midnight usually and would probably be quite noisy if you were located in a room a the front so probably not the best for a family with children.

Cons:

Our room got cleaned quite late most days (around 4-5pm) which got a bit annoying if you wanted to go to the room after a day of sunbathing a bit earlier.

A tip if you want your towels cleaned put them on the floor otherwise they won't get changed!
Although the room was cleaned daily our glasses were never replaced and the bath didn't seem to get cleaned.

The mattress on our bed was so hard


Overall we felt that the hotel was good value for money and would recommend it to any of our friends who were visiting this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The walls and bathroom of the room had mold on them, the room itself damp. in the hall leading to the room there were two open sewage holes and I opened the service closet once to see if I can get extra towels and the smell was so bad I didn't even look inside for too long. The pool had paint coming off it.

The breakfast is decent and the location is good. However, I would stay a block or two away from the beach and get a better maintained room. The desk attendant was very nice.

Room Tip: If you must get this hotel, do not stay on the ground level where we were - maybe the upper floors a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Geogioupolis is a Great little resort and this hotel is perfectly placed to take advantage of all that is on offer. On site swimming pool with plenty of sun loungers but minutes away from the beach and beach bar. Plenty of loungers on the beach also. a river runs nearby. The hotel has everything you could want and the staff are very friendly. Excellent value and we shall certainly return

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the garden on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just returned from a one week stay at this hotel. There were a lot of good things about it but also a lot of not so good. We had booked self catering in a garden view studio.
PROs
Great location near beach, river and village square.
Nice pool, always sunbeds available.
Free air conditioning. TV - only Sky News in English. Safety deposit box for hire.
Two hair driers. Comfortable beds. Snacks and drinks are cheap.
Friendly staff. Room appeared fairly clean on arrival.

CONs
Stayed a week - no change of bedding.
After 4 days we left our towels in a heap on floor so were given clean ones.
All maid did was empty bins and a quick mop around floor each day. She never once wiped around the sink, washbasin in bathroom or shower. Hairs which were in the shower corner when we arrived were still there when we left. One day she didn't com in until 6.15 in the evening.
They didn't supply loo roll.
It was a self catering studio but there was absolutely minimal crockery and cutlery. No bread knife or tin/bottle opener. I knew there was no kettle or toaster so that was fine. There was only one bowl and we always take breakfast cereals. I asked for another one and the owner did say to ask if we wanted anything else.
We decided to try the dinner one night which was €10. It was a buffet and we looked and felt it was catering more for the eastern europeans/russians and nothing was labelled so we decided not to bother.

This is a budget hotel and we didn't really pay a lot to stay there. Because of the location and nice pool we would probably stay there again but would ask for a room on the top floor.

Room Tip: We booked a garden view studio and were given one on the ground floor overlooking a dismal little tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Arrived with an open mind about the hotel, we were suprised at the perfect location and the wonderful pool facilities. The hotel is the perfect setting at the quiet end of the village with wonderful views of the sea and the mountains. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was limited but typical of Greece - we enjoyed what was available. The room was small and basic but very clean and a great comfortable memory foam bed. The bathroom needed a little attention but this did not affect our holiday at the hotel. We spent 11 nights from the 31st August and enjoyed our holiday very much. The village of Georgioupolis is a fantastic place to visit and has many great taverners which offer fabulous food. All in all we had a fantastic time both at the hotel and choosing this resort. We will be returning!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor looking over the pool and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Georgioupolis Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgioupolis Beach Hotel

Address: Georgioupolis, Apokoronas, Crete 73007 , Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Georgioupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Georgioupolis
#6 Family Hotel in Georgioupolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Georgioupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgioupolis Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Georgioupolis Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgioupolis Beach Hotel Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgioupolis Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.