We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere and Good Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco's Stone Oven Pizza

San Francisco's Stone Oven Pizza
50 Stanley St, Ayr, Ontario, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Ayr
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Atmosphere and Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I came across this restaurant while driving through Ayr. We had never eaten here before, but couldn't resist to stop for some lunch. I really liked the decor of the restaurant (including the bathroom)- it was clean, stylish and not too over the top (San Francisco theme). We ordered the Italian Stallion pizza and eagerly awaited the stone baked pizza. When it arrived it looked great, but was obviously not stone baked - it came on a very hot pizza pan. The pizza was good and I was happy paying the price, however we both thought the crust was pretty well a replica of Pizza Hut's crust - it looked and tasted just like it. We were disappointed that this restaurant was falsely advertising their product (as far as we could tell), tarnishing the experience we had here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brantford
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We've eaten here several times hoping things would improve. The food is uninspiring and tastes assembled rather than prepared from fresh. Pricing is illogical. Panzerottis come with several regular items (3 or 4) but if you only order your panzo with one premium item and no other toppings, you still get charged extra for the premium item? Ridiculous. I've also never been to a restaurant that claimed to have a wood fired oven but the oven isn't visible to patrons? Forgive me being skeptical but the pizza is much too average bordering on Delicioso to be from a wood oven. When other nearby towns such as St George can pull off first rate, home cooked, fresh Italian food in a beautiful setting, why should the offerings in Ayr be anything less?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great little restauraunt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Never had a bad meal at this place, it's sometimes a little crowded in here, but that's for good reason the food is awesome, just had the panzarotti, my wife and my self each got our own but we could of easily shared, ceaser salad was great, and the beer is ice cold very important, the service was ok, when we were there it was packed and only one server, she was running around, we will be Back though great food

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cooked Fresh?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Overpriced assembly line food. Stone oven pizza? Most pizza should be cooked on a stone but these folks put a misleading wood burning oven on their promotional material. Try rolling your own crusts for the prices charged...

Nice decorating in bathrooms - that's it.

Hope Ayr gets another restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Ontario Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A wonderful eating experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have eaten twice at this restaurant - once with a group of friends and the second time with family. On both occasions the experience was second to none - absolutely fabulous and delicious. The attention to the individual needs of each customer has to be one of their biggest strengths. They make you feel like you are the only one in the restaurant. Their menu has many appealing choices and each time no-one in my groups were disappointed. The owner Brad is very personable and adds to the very welcoming atmosphere. My grand daughters and friends even commented about the clean, tastefully decorated washrooms. Who would think such a treasure in such a small community - Ayr should be very proud. We will all be back to enjoy another fantastic eating experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Francisco's Stone Oven Pizza also viewed

 

Been to San Francisco's Stone Oven Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco's Stone Oven Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.