We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Gentilhommiere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Gentilhommiere to your Saves list
La Gentilhommiere
2 Rue de l'Eglise, 59269 Artres, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Artres
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

For the second time this restaurant did not disappoint me. This XVIII brick farmhouse is set on beautiful grounds. The building is charming. The staff was welcoming. I highly recommend the dishes I chose: the foie gras in puff pastry with mushrooms and prosciutto. It was very well presented and was excellent. My main dish: scallops on a bed of crushed potatoes with confit shallots and truffle oil was superb and the plate looked like a work of art. Unfortunately, this time around I did not have any dessert. It was a pleasant experience. Just one negative point: the service was very slow. So be prepared to wait if you go there on the weekend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali M, Responsable réception at La Gentilhommiere, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir pris quelques minutes pour nous donner votre avis ,d'autant plus qu'il est des plus agréables.En espérant vous revoir une troisième fois. Peut être aurez vous cette fois la place pour nos succulents desserts?. A bientôt. Magali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
15
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamburger
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel, once part of a larger farm estate, is situated in a very pleasant and calm French village on a vast secluded ground. The hotel rooms are in a separate building, probably a converted barn. The spacious rooms are tastefully appointed and clean. Beds large and comfortable. Bathrooms in our two rooms were a bit tired already, but very clean and well-kept. Our rooms overlooked the walled meadows with a little creek along which a few gooses were holding court -- absolutely idyllic and calm.

The restaurant is in a different building across the courtyard in what seems to have been stables once upon a time with a beautiful brick vault, a romatic place. We enjoyed the daily dinner menue which was freshly prepared and tasteful -- not the latest frenzies (as they are often served nowadays by ambitioned cooks who make it into the Michelin Guide by mixing up food with entertainment), but "real" food. Breakfast was highly enjoyable as well.

True -- this is not a five star hotel, but good value for money, much better than in many other "Logis" hotels in which I have stayed in France.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband & I spent one night here enroute to the UK. Our room was quite large and pleasant. We had a great meal in the restaurant, starting with an aperitif on the terrace. We had the 3-course menu, both of us choosing the same courses as there wasn’t a huge choice. For entrée we had a seared tuna and tomato chutney tart and for our main course we had red mullet fillets served with saffron and parmesan risotto and chorizo chips. Our dessert was three scoops of chicory ice-cream, served with speculoos and a burnt toffee sauce. The entire dinner was fabulous. In the morning we were impressed that breakfast included some fresh fruit and cereals. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We found the Gentilhommiere by chance a few years back and it was love at first sight.
Our most recent visit didn't disappoint. The courtyard and grounds have matured beautifully and in the late summer sunshine we were able to relax on the terrace and enjoy a beer after the drive down from Calais.
The large, airy rooms have been refurbished since our last stay and proved extremely comfortable with a large firm bed and plenty of room to sit and read or watch TV.
The exposed brick and vaulted ceiling with clever lighting create a wonderful atmosphere in the restaurant even when it isn't too busy. The menu is good and the food excellent.
With attentive, very friendly and helpful staff I can't think of a better place to break a journey into the depths of La Belle France.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We used this as an overnight stop on our way down to Burgundy and were not disappointed, having stayed here some years ago. The setting is tranquil and the gardens beautiful, an ideal place to relax after a journey. The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Dinner in the restaurant in the old stables was the highlight of our stay with first class cuisine including a memorable cheese trolley. The menus change according to what is available at the market and we had no difficulty finding something we liked (one of our party is vegetarian, an alien concept in many French restaurants).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

Set around a courtyard in what was once an impressive farm, the Gentilommmiere is entrancing from the moment you drive through the magnificent brick gatehouse.

While the rooms are spacious the decor would not be to everyone's taste, being "eclectic" to say the least. But clean, well equipped and tidy.

Helpful staff and a restaurant to die for, being set in the old stables with the bluestone feeding troughs still in place. The food, too, is excellent.

This is a great part of the country, well off the normal tourist route but much to explore when it isn't raining.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, UK
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

We stayed at the Gentilhommiere for 2 nights as part of a short (enjoy the food and wine) break in Northern France.

The hotel is in a quiet little village just south of Valenciennes and is a converted farmstead. The bedrooms and dining room surround a cobbled courtyard which opens onto some quite extensive greenery with its flock of wandering geese. Travelling with friends we stayed in rooms 7 (the beige room on the web site) and 8 (the pink, very pink one). The rooms were quiet (apart from the pink décor) and very spacious and relatively modern with a big bathroom (bath/shower). The hair-dryer provided was very good -apparently something worth reporting on. Each room was provided with 2 pairs of disposable slippers but no robes.

Staff at reception and in the dining room were particularly helpful. They explained that the hotel does not get too many British visitors because of the large demand they have for seminars and wedding receptions, so maybe advance booking is worthwhile.

The restaurant was had a brick finish, and may have once been stables – it's exactly as you see it on the web site. Our one complaint was that the menu was not as described on the web site which made no reference to a “sample menu” or “typical menu”. This was I felt a bit misleading. The €35 menu offered 3 main courses one of which was a mussel risotto whilst the other 2 were beef and veal. The €46 menu was a beef dish, a veal dish and a cod dish. It wasn't until you got to the €60 menu that you were offered turbot, lamb and then a further two veal dishes. It was just too much beef/veal for us. You could still of course go a la carte and mix/match but I'd already decided what I was going to have and was looking forward to it even before we arrived. The lesson is never trust the Internet!

The food we had was of excellent quality. A two night dinner, bed and breakfast stay, with drinks for two couples was just under €900.

On our way to Artres we stopped at Bavay to see the Roman Forum. There is also a small museum there with a 3D presentation of Roman life! Okish but much more interesting and enjoyable was our trip to the battlefield at Waterloo. An excellent, informative day out well worth the visit.

  • Liked — Friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — Restricted choice on menus (unless you like beef)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Gentilhommiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gentilhommiere

Address: 2 Rue de l'Eglise, 59269 Artres, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Artres
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Artres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Gentilhommiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gentilhommiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.