We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely with a rustic country feel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau La Closerie De Fronsac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau La Closerie De Fronsac to your Saves list
Chateau La Closerie De Fronsac
No. 1, Lariveau, 33126 Saint-Michel-de-Fronsac, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely with a rustic country feel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed this little quaint place, it reminded us of growing up in our grandma's house (different grandma's ofcourse :)). It was homely, comfortable and the hosts were very welcoming. The room was spacious with charming decor. The breakfast was delightful. A great experience and one that we would recomend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
21
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We enjoyed our stay and wished we could spend more time there. This old house in the vineyards is simply charming. It's a complete change of scene and time with all modern conveniences. Our room was large and had a view on the vineyards and the setting sun.The owner who is also a winemaker held a wine tasting for us and other clients. He gave us a lot of explaining too.
I advise you to choose this place for kindness of its owners, authenticity, tranquility, comfort and magnificent scenery.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

My sister, niece and I were happy to have found this B&B in the middle of the vineyards a short distance from St Emillion. And actually, finding it was our most challenging part of our entire trip...but one that we can use for one of the fun travel stories for the future. My gps wasn't recognizing the address, so I called and Alain answered and spoke little English, and I little French. So I got enough to know some basics. Then we stopped and my sister got assistance froma shop keeper who got us closer, then stopped again and a pharmacist got us to the correct road...where we found it! Once we got there, we were so pleased as it was right in the middle of the vineyards....so beautiful!

We had a very large room for the three of us and access to a ktichen down below. The beds were comfortable, but we really enjoyed the courtyard. We sat out there and relaxed after a busy day of sightseeing, and Alain was gracious to bring us a glass of wine (it was wonderful). The breakfast was the typical croissants/coffee/etc, which was perfect to start the day.

The location was really the best, as it was so close to all of the wine chateaus and St Emillion...but not in the middle of the action. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay here and wish only that we could have stayed a bit longer. The owners are lovely people who made every effort to ensure that we had a good visit and all the help we needed in navigating the area. You are not far from Bordeaux or St. Emilion so it's ideally located to tour either. Our room was the Art Deco room and it overlooks the vineyard with a neighbor's small chateau at the top. Truly a lovely way to start your day. The room was spacious and had an attached bath with shower. I saw other comments on Trip Advisor about the rooms not being clean, but we found everything to be in good order and very nicely done. Breakfast was coffee or tea, juice, croissant and jams in the dining room with lots of nice old furnishings and old beams. There is a patio if your schedule allows for some down time and the owners produce a very nice wine which is also available for purchase. Alain made a reservation for us at Bord D'Eau, just a 5 minute drive away. I would recommend this as an option for dinner since it was a memorable meal and there are not too many other options in the tiny village where the Closerie is located. We thank our hosts and hope to return another time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a vineyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

The Chateaux was lovely, very impressive. Unfortunately we tried to find it without a street map or Sat Nav and got lost!! However the owner kindly came to find us.

Unfortunately we did not get the room I booked as it had been allocated to someone else. It was still very nice but I was slightly dissapointed as I had booked it 2 months prior.

Breakfast was very nice and served on a table with the other guests.

  • Liked — It had its own vineyard
  • Disliked — Allocated wrong room
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2008

We booked this hotel at the last minute on a road trip through France. Marie-Christine was very kind over the phone and was more than willing to book us for a night.

When we arrived Alain greeted us and showed us to our room. Our French is very bad and Alain spoke almost no english but he was very kind and made every effort to help us understand him. He recommended a wonderful restaurant in nearby St. Emilion and his directions were great.

Our room was lovely with a wooden beam ceiling and the prettiest bathroom I've ever seen. Even the toilet was pretty.

In the morning we were greeted with a simple breakfast of a huge crossaint, and coffee or tea and delicious grape juice.

Alain then took us on a small tour of their wine making facility and concluded it with a wine tasting.

Overall our stay was wonderful and it left me wishing we could stay longer.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blekinge, Sweden
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2008

Stayed here for a couple of days as we toured the vignobles of Pomerol and St. Emilion. Facilities were OK but not up to the standard of other B and B's we stayed in during our tour of France. No one there when we arrived, though owner came within 20 minutes when we phoned. Main reason we wouldn't go back was that the room wasn't clean and fresh - nothing had been dusted for some time. It was more expensive than other B and Bs and stretching the imagination to call it a "Chateau".

  • Liked — The breakfast was fine
  • Disliked — Room was not clean
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau La Closerie De Fronsac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau La Closerie De Fronsac

Address: No. 1, Lariveau, 33126 Saint-Michel-de-Fronsac, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Michel-de-Fronsac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Michel-de-Fronsac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in close proximity to Saint-Emilion and Pomerol, the Château “CLOSERIE DE FRONSAC” guesthouse has roots in the famous Bordeaux wine region. It produces its own red wine Fronsac going back three centuries. The House will seduce you by its authenticity preserved and centuries attached. All the appellations and famous châteaux of Bordeaux are quickly accessible from the “CLOSERIE DE FRONSAC”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau La Closerie De Fronsac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau La Closerie De Fronsac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.