We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkhotel Bergen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Parkhotel Bergen to your Saves list
Parkhotel Bergen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsstraat 2, 1861 GA Bergen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bergen
Almere, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
“Very good again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed again in Parkhotel Bergen for our yearly family weekend and we were just as happy as last year. Staff was very friendly, polite and helpful. Check in was fast and parking on site was convenient, although at a charge, which is normal in the center. The weather was nice, so we made a lot of use of the balcony. Service was again great, both breakfast and dinner were outstandingly arranged. During our stay the Dutch soccer team played a match against Mexico for the Worldcup. The team of Parkhotel moved a lot of furniture and arranged a big television screen where guests could watch the game and drinks were served. They did a great job and we will be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
4
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Almere, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

For our yearly family weekend we were invited to Bergen. We stayed in the Parkhotel for 2 nights, with a group of 10. Bergen is a small but friendly local town with a relaxed atmosphere. The hotel is perfectly located, right in the middle of the old centre of Bergen. We parked our car on the small private parking of the hotel and left it there because all the restaurants, shops and places of interest are within waling distance from the hotel. The parking charges are €.12,50 per night, but this is reasonable because you have to pay for car parking in a large area of Bergen and all the hotels in the centre charge you for that. The small reception is strangely located under stairs, but the staff is very friendly. There is a small elevator available. Behind the reception there is a bar and a nice fire place with some comfortable arm chairs. One night we ordered coffee at the fire place and they offered us complementary liqueur and chocolate.

We had a double (comfort) room with airco on the first floor with a balcony, which was quite nice. From the balcony we had a nice view of the centre and could see what was going on. The room was not spacious, but big enough for the both of us and it was clean. There was a flat screen and a writing desk with a water boiler for coffee/tea. Sometimes we could hear people walking on the second floor, but this is not unusual in these kind of old hotels. If you stay in the middle of the old historic part of Bergen, then you have to manage your expectations. The bathroom was modern and clean, with a great walk-in shower and a separate bath.

For our whole group a special arrangement was booked, called 'The best of Bergen'. This was based on 2 nights, including breakfast and including 2 dinners for a total price of €.120 per person. In my opinion this is good value for money, especially in the high season! We enjoyed the dinner both times in the nicely decorated restaurant (not in the brasserie) and the quality was good. The staff was handling our large group very well and did a great job. They arranged a special table for our group during the weekend, which was spotless each time. The breakfast was outstanding. It was buffet style, fresh and more than complete. Staff was making sure that everything was filled. You could even make your own omelet in a cooking pan on a gas fire, which was fun.

We do recommend Parkhotel, but beware that it is an older hotel in the historic part of Bergen, which could have its downsize. For sure it is good value for money and the location is perfect!

Room Tip: If your make a direct reservation till 1 April 2014, you will get a free upgrade of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obninsk, Russia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently situated near shops ans restaurants, but the town itself is very small so all places of interest are quite close. The rooms are very small, in May it was very cold inside, wifi connection is very poor. But breakfasts are rich and delicious, personnel is very polite, helpful and friendly) The hotel has a nice cafe to take some coffee and snack. In general it'll be ok but money, too expensive for such a place to stay in.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel changed owner three times in the past years. The staff is efficient and friendly, the rooms are ok, the gym is good but not oustanding but overall there is nothing bad to say about this place. It is not good enough for an extended stay but a few nights is no problem

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is opposite of some cafe's with loud music until late in the night. So a welcome night's rest is not possible with the noisy rooms. And the service desk manager couldn't relate to our problem with this. Also therefor a bad score...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkhotel Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Bergen

Address: Stationsstraat 2, 1861 GA Bergen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Bergen
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkhotel Bergen 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Parkhotel Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkhotel Bergen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.