We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, rooms and food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blooming Hotel

Save Saved
You added Blooming Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blooming Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duinweg 5, 1861 GL Bergen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bergen
Leiden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service, rooms and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Booked a night at the Blooming hotel in Bergen and had a really great time. We booked into one of the spacious Ultimate rooms and found it to be fitted out to a very high spec with nice wooden floors, great bathroom with a rain shower, excellent Coco-Mat bed and a Tivoli hifi with an iPod dock. I'd definitely recommend the Ultimate rooms - only 20 euors more than the (unmodernised) cheapest rooms which sound pretty bad from some of the other rooms.

We paid 135 for a deal which included a night in the Ultimate room. a 3 course meal in the restaurant and breakfast. We found the evening meal to be really excellent with the style and quality of food normally found in very good dutch/french restaurants for at least around 50 euros a head.

The staff were universally helpful and very friendly with quick and efficient service. The town is also a great base on the edge of the forest to explore the dunes and get to the beaches on the coast. Bikes were available for hire at 9 euros or so a day.

There was a lovely pool in the hotel. The pool, sauna and jacuzzi were brand new, very tastefully lit and very pleasant.

Would definitely recommend this great hotel. Just don't get the cheapest rooms - the 20 euros or so for the Ultimate room are well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    55
    14
    10
    3
See reviews for
21
48
2
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

First of all, this hotel is not in Bergen op Zoom, but in Bergen, Noord Holland. Big difference.

The hotel is beatifully set in the dunes, and perfect for walking in the woods and dunes, and towards the beach. They've hammocks, picnic benches in their own private dune area, which is lovely in summer. You can rent a bike to get around, into the little town or into Alkmaar, for some cheesiness. All good.

Make sure you don't book the cheapest rate - this will give you a room in the old part of the hotel - not so nice. We've booked a Lofts of Love room in the past, and an Unlimited room this time around - with rain shower, wood floors and a bath. The view was magnificent. The pool and sauna are good, the quality of the food was good. Breakfast is fine, with organic milk and fresh rolls etc.

HOWEVER. This hotel misses out when it comes to the details. First of all, our room wasn't ready until an hour and a half after check in time. Then our heating wasn't working, and at a temp of -4C outside, thi was quite an important detail. The staff attending to our complaint felt it necessary to tell us that in his opinion it wasn't cold in the room. Eh? First of all, who cares? Second, we had our coats on, it was that cold.

They describe the rooms have double duvets on their site, but no double duvet. In our new room (with working heating), two lamps were not working, and there was no shower gel/shampoo. Also they seemed to have missed our a large spot when hoovering.

Also, for a conference centre it seems strange that the wifi/pc use is not free. And the mini bar was locked, you had to call a member of staff to have it unlocked. What is that all about?

All in all it was a hassle to get the things we wanted, things that weren't too demanding and should have been ok in the first place. What a shame.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We booked a room Hotel Blooming. The beautiful design and location of the hotel was promoted at the website. However, when we arrived at the hotel and looked at the shabby carpet of the entrance, we already got a bad feeling. The reception gave us a tiny 'youth hostel like' room. After complaining at the reception desk we got a bigger (but also darker) room, but still in the same smelly and worn-out part of the hotel. The next morning, when we had breakfast in the new part of the hotel, we saw the beautiful new part of the hotel and we felt extra cheated. We have written our complaint at the questionnaire, but the only response I got was the debit notice of my creditcard. Very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel, and would thoroughly recommend it to everyone!

The hotel is set in large grounds, which are very private. You really feel you can 'get lost' in them, but in a nice way. Only 10-15 minutes in a taxi from Alkmaar Central Station, it is a perfect countryside retreat for business and leisure alike.

There are several inside and outside areas, which means the hotel did not feel too busy. The new wing apparently opens in July, so there is a little bit of building going on at the moment, but this did not affect me or my partner during our stay (no noise).

The food and wine menus are second to none - we had a selection of different types of dishes, including red snappers, which were nicely prepared and hot (!). The breakfast had an amazing selection of different types of items, including full english, wide variety of continental breads/cheeses and loads of other bits. Great choices and regularly refreshed and replenished when needed.

Bedroom-wise, the place is brilliant. Spacious, contemporary, flexible and comfortable. Everything you need, including a station for your I-pod so you can listen to music etc...

Staff is knowledgeable and discreet, explaining all about the venue and different products, which is great. I would highly recommend this place for a relaxing break!

  • Liked — The spacious, relaxed feel
  • Disliked — Due to the set up, it sometimes feels like you are a little bit lost.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

We spent a weekend at the blooming hotel in bergen on zee (or lets say in schoorl e few km away from bergen). As my husband and i love to travel an to spent our free time in design hotels we were looking forward to this trip. But it was a really disappointing experience, there was only housemade design, there was carper on the floor and everything seemed really old and not well renovated. The bathroom was like in an old fitnesscenter. Just after checking-in we had to pay the whole amount of our stay, and this even after my husband had given his credit-card number. We have seen e lot of Design-hotels like for example St Paul in Montreal, Gault in Montreal, Paramount and Royalton in NYC; Hopper hotel in Cologne, la bergere in Maastricht, W syndey, Adelphi Melbourne but this Hotel is not to recommand to design freaks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blooming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blooming Hotel

Address: Duinweg 5, 1861 GL Bergen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Bergen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blooming Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Blooming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blooming Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.