We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel for a short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blooming Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blooming Hotel to your Saves list
Blooming Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duinweg 5, 1861 GL Bergen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bergen
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice hotel for a short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

It was the third time we stayed at Blooming.This time we had a very small room with no terrace and no airco, which was a pity as it was quitte hot.There are however several spots to sit in the garden and the terrace in front of the (indoor) swimming pool has some nice daybeds. The bathroom was also very small, with no space to put your toiletries.The small bed was very comfortable.The part of the hotel where our room was located was rather noisy, you could hear every conversation in the hallway and all the doors shut with a loud bang.Breakfast was good, dinner above average compared to the restaurants in town.The reason for choosing this hotel is not so much the hotel itself but more the surroundings: probably the best beaches en dunes in Holland.Very nice for walking end cycling and close to the old city of Alkmaar.I will certainly stay here again but in an upgraded room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    82
    24
    12
    3
See reviews for
32
70
3
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
126 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The hotel website suggests an intimate boutique or design hotel. But do not be surprised when you enter this large conference centre with rooms designed to cater people who join a conference. The building itself is an architectural chaos.

When there are no meetings, the place might feel empty. When there are meetings, you might not being able to have a conversation in the restaurant or find a chair on the terrace.

Breakfast might be served in a huge but somehow cozy restaurant or it might be served in a small but clean public space where groups might be passing by.

You can enjoy nature walks from the hotel, but it does not have the best nature on offer in Noord-Holland. And this is not Bergen aan Zee, so the sea is still a few miles away.

When attending a meeting I found myself thinking I was landed in a modern kind of crematory.
Great chairs nevertheless.

Service was good and informal, sometimes a bit too informal.
You will not have to worry about parking space or WIFI.

The design and the concept are too confusing for me. But I am afraid this might just be the best place to stay in Bergen.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are very small. Spent a little more to have some space. The rooms facing the pond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed for two nights with our three children and the grandparents in two Roomy rooms. The rooms were not on the same floor, which was a little inconvenient. They were very comfortable though and certainly roomy enough. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant on the first night. The food was nothing special and took too long to arrive. The breakfast was very good though. All in all we had a very pleasant stay, just a bit too expensive for just two nights (1200 euro for two rooms and dinner for seven).

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
301 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Blooming Hotel is a place that’s so self-consciously wacky and creative that you can’t help thinking it wouldn’t hurt if they toned it all down a bit. From the stripy carpets in the meeting rooms, to the gravel beds in the bar and the stuffed ball pouffes in reception, it’s not so much a visual feast as a visual assault.

After staying for two days I was still not entirely sure what the Blooming was supposed to be. It was hosting a lot of business meetings and workshops, had a large number of meeting rooms, and the meal service seemed to be set up to serve large and mid-sized groups. Our bedrooms were decidedly ‘minimalist’ in their facilities, rather more like student accommodation than a place you’d want to spend your holidays. I just can’t imagine Mr and Mrs Dutch Tourist putting their kids and their buckets and spades in the car and going to the Blooming to spend their holidays surrounded by loudly braying execs being creative and stomping around the breakout rooms.

We arrived around 1 pm on the Monday and went straight for lunch. The lunch room offers a pretty spectacular hot and cold buffet but it’s an extraordinarily loud place to be.

Our meeting room was very large and had lots of natural light with big windows and views over the woods. The temperature was good, the facilities we’d asked for were all provided and food and drink kept appearing throughout our stay. For our breaks there was a room next door with an excellent coffee machine, on tap scalding hot water for teas and plenty of different teas and herbal infusions all provided.

For an evening group activity we had something called ‘Bubbles and Bites’ which was sparkling wine testing with oysters and a chance to make our own sushi.

Everything else about the hotel had been pretty good but my room was really poor and disappointing. Looking at the hotel’s website afterwards, I learned that they have 124 rooms classified into NINE different types. I’m sorry but that’s just plain ridiculous. These range from the tiniest – the so-called ‘just me room’ for single occupancy up to two enormous suites. I would guess that ours were either ‘small rooms’ or ‘basic rooms’. Either way they were small and basic and I felt like I’d been put in a slightly upmarket student room. For just one night it was manageable but I really would have hated to be there much longer. There was really no space for anything with the TV, room safe, pull out desk, and a book shelf full of books (in Dutch) all squeezed into a unit in the corner. I could find no cupboard or anywhere to hang anything so it’s good that I was able to live straight out of my suitcase. The bed – despite being a bit small – was exceedingly comfortable which was a nice surprise.

The bathroom was tiny but well presented with a grey stone sink that you’d never want to have in your home because it’s utterly impractical and you’d have to spend half your life trying to keep it clean. The shower had a rain-shower head but the power wasn’t really up to the challenge of delivering the monsoon experience.

Despite the really good mattress and bedding, I didn’t sleep especially well because the noise from both outside and from the corridor was really annoying, with lots of people stomping around at the end of the evening and first thing in the morning.

In summary, the meeting room was good, the food was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful, but if you are there for more than a night or two, I’d strongly advise to check really carefully what you’re getting for the different room types. If you’re in one of the ‘just me’, small or basic rooms, you’ll get an experience that’s more ‘youth hostel’ than luxury hotel. As a venue for training or off-site meetings, it’s well equipped but it’s hard to get my head round the idea of this place as a holiday venue. I’d also recommend to only consider it if you’ve got your own transport and can get out and about a bit. A taxi to or from the station will cost you about €20 each way.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquitaine, France
Level Contributor
337 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were fairly standard and uninspiring but were clean and comfortable. Big bed with a good selection of pillows and a decent bathroom with a great overhead shower, though I do prefer a bar of soap to bath gel, and there were no tissues ... unusual these days.
Free wifi which worked well, and location is quiet and rural.
Very good breakfasts in first floor restaurant, though there is alsogood coffee and biscuits available in the lobby area for those in a hurry.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Big hotel visited by families, friends, couples and colleagues. Well equiped for all these kinds of guests. Good concept to be found throughout all details: breakfast from local foods, hotel room with minimal interior, but high Quality bed - the main thing, reading table with inspiring books, inspiring and welcoming phrases inside and around hotel. Attentive staff

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limmen
Level Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

After hearing great stories about this hotel, I arrived with high hopes for my two day business meeting. Found the rooms to be a bit standard. Was expecting a bit more design. Meetingrooms were standard too, allthough the kitchen with a Smeg fridge was nice. The best part of the meeting was the food. I was told that the hotel grows it's on food and all natural. This was a real treat !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergen
0.8 mi away
Parkhotel Bergen
Parkhotel Bergen
#3 of 8 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Breeburg
Hotel Villa Breeburg
#5 of 8 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Boschlust
Hotel Boschlust
#1 of 8 in Bergen aan Zee
4.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Heerlijkheid Bergen
1.2 mi away
Restaurant Hotel Merlet
Restaurant Hotel Merlet
#1 of 3 in Schoorl
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#3 of 8 in Bergen aan Zee
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blooming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blooming Hotel

Address: Duinweg 5, 1861 GL Bergen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Bergen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blooming Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blooming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blooming Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.