We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blooming Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Blooming Hotel to your Saves list
Blooming Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duinweg 5, 1861 GL Bergen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bergen
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

A newly build hotel, rooms that have their own terrasses over water or in the garden, situated in the middle of a forrest, 1 km from a picturesque city, 2 km from the sea... these are the prefect ingrediënts for a perfect place. Recommend

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    58
    16
    10
    3
See reviews for
21
49
2
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Very nice location, quit, in the dunes, near Bergen.Great to rent a bike. The bikes of the hotel are not so good so rent it in town. Rooms are small (althoug we had en spa room) and a very small bed. Looks nice but some details could be better done. Breakfast was super ! A great buffet, delicious bread and very good quality. Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: ask for a big unlimited room, best at a floor otherwise everyone can look into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hotel self is located in one of the most beautiful areas of the Netherlands, close to the artists town Bergen. It's on the edge of one of the biggest duneslandscaping in the Netherlands with foot- and byciclepaths leading to the beach. It is surrounded by trees, like it is in the middle of a forest. Rooms are simple, maybe on the small size, but comfortable, clean and quiet. Staff are friendly, the restaurant is outstanding; they use mostly natural ingredients for preparing breakfast, lunch and dinner. The poolarea is not too big, but big enough to swim around. Whirlpool is nice. The best thing one can do is take some longwalks in de dunes area to work up an appetite for eveningdinner which we have enjoyed all week. Take a short walk to the town of Bergen and walk around in the ancient and historic centre of the town, visit the deercamp and enjoy looking at hte architecture.

Room Tip: Rooms around the patio are less quiet than the rooms on the outside. On the other hand one can have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Im told it was a suite, it was very unusual, walk in the door, glass shower cubicle on the right, in the bedroom, just there, showering entertainment for the room guests, no place to hang a towel, you know what I mean, need to hang it somewhere right? Nope, had to leave on the floor outside, in the middle of the room? A sauna, yep, taking p lots of space, a big old sauna, Infra Red too, as in no coals, walk around the sauna, round the back, the sink? Goofy set up -But.
Great place, get the impression Steve Jobs may have had something to do with the place, IT, Silicon Valleyesk, off the wall kind of furnishings etc. Breakfast area, a bit of carry on walking around spotting stuff, fun though, the food was great, cheese country so no worries.
The setting for the hotel, in the heart of Bergen, not to be confused with Bergen Norway, Bergen NW Holland, you think you know Holland, go have a looksee at this part, mind blowingly beautiful, the Real Estate is outstanding.

Room Tip: Take time to have a look at the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This hotel is located in one of the most beautiful areas of the Netherlands. It's surrounded by trees on the edge of the dunes leading to the beach. Rooms are simple, on the small size,but very comfortable, clean and quiet. Staff are friendly and the mojitos are wicked! Food is good and lots of Fairtrade things to make us feel good. Pool is small, but beautiful and absolutely adequate for pottering around with our young daughter. The whirlpool is lovely. We've stayed here already twice and I am booking in again for next month. It is the hotel I would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the area of Alkmaar to Schagen. We're excited to have discovered it.

Room Tip: ASk about room size. They have all sorts of rooms spread out throughout the complex. Some are newer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in very nice surroundings in the sand dunes and forrest around bergen. The hotel is very trendy and looks beautifull inside and out. We booked an unlimted room, which is the a few steps u from the standard rooms. And thus the price is much higher to. When we entered the room we saw a very very small room in which white was the dominating color. We had a bed, a tv and a small seat. A very small nathroom and lots of things broken. We had 1 big and 1 small towel. Not handy with 2 people. The soap bottles we put back empty by the previous guests it seemed. And we had stains on the bed. We expected something really exclusive and unlimited but it was smaller and more basic then a standard room at another hotel. I checked at the reception ( ver friendly staff!) to make sure it was an unlimited room and indeed it eas. We did not even have a seperate shower. We saw some other rooms when we walked the hallways and they were bigger and nicer it seemed, no clue what people had to pay for those. Breakfast was ok, but fresh orange juise should have been available.

Walking maps for the surrounding would be available a the reception but cos 4 euro's each..

Conclusion, very nice hotel, but this room was overpriced and terrible. No clue what kind of room you should choose to be in line with the total feeling of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

This was the second time we stayed here. Surprised by the nice renovation. Location, location, walking in the dunes of Schoorl and nice walk to Bergen-Binnen via the gateway behind the building to the Nijverheidsweg, down near the cross of Il Primo Ski, and straight on to Bergen. We were lucky to be there in the Dutch White World of Winter 2012. Perfect walking in the dunes and the Bergen Forest. Biking in the summer, dunes and beaches.
The hotel is modern and easy going. The seminar bizz is putting a certain logo on it but thats no problem, enough places for quality time.
Very nice hotel for family with childeren, good brasserie and bar, also for a snack or small dinner, very friendly service.
We had the french breakfast, served separated from the breakfast at the dining room, much quieter and very good for a small breakfast. Only the coffee can be better!
Swimming pool, 30 celcius, in summer great with the small garden behind. Go early, otherwise it's a kids world. Was not a problem for us.
We didn't manage to have dinner there. Our advice in the neighbourhood is to go to restaurant "Bergen Binnen" at the Breelaan.
Room was very good, we had all we wanted for a weekend away. Good beds, heating and bathroom.
Again location is great in summer and winter. For bargains check hotelspecials.nl in january or february. They have almost every year a promo of 50 euro/night for 2, french breakfast included.
That's a gem, and can bring the overall rating easy at excellent, this time even with welcome drinks and gluhwein with a snack! Indeed, number one.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blooming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blooming Hotel

Address: Duinweg 5, 1861 GL Bergen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Bergen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blooming Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blooming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blooming Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.