We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Marijke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Marijke to your Saves list
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Marijke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorpsstraat 23-25, 1861 KT Bergen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bergen
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel was not very good.The rooms are big but the furniture looks sparse.it seems as if random desk and coffee table are standing somewhere.No air condition in the room.The carpet is old and and dirty, the furniture is way over its use by date. Breakfast was very good.The reception staff was polite.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    17
    29
    27
    26
See reviews for
17
54
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The surroundings of Bergen and Schoorl are truly beautiful. The breakfast is good. That was the positive part on this hotel.

A very small room and a petite bathroom. Noisy. Bed is a bit shaky but clean. Curtains that do not close properly. Old fashioned TV-set, the room is in desperate need of a redecoration. I also wonder where they got these 4 stars.

We ate a pre-paid three course dinner at their restaurant. It took 30 minutes to be able to order our drinks. A couple of times they served a course different from the menu: only after we asked they replied the item just ran out. I would prefer to be consulted about that beforehand.

During check-out costs were added to the bill -- like the costs of 5 euro per room for checking-in ??? -- that we felt were unjustifed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Unfortunately my company booked this hotel for a business meeting. I think I've been in better hostels, and this pretend to be a 4 stars accommodation. Ridiculous. Food is horrible, rooms are small and dirty, tv set of 20 years ago. This is a money loss and irritating place.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

On arrival we found the parking of the hotel blocked by a coach (from Danmark). It was the beginning of a lamentable stay, last year. But our experiences should not be unmentioned.
'Marijke' advertises itself as a 4*accommodation, but even in Bergen stars do not just fall from heaven. We had to carry our suitcases up the stars in the absence of an elevator; in the corridor towards the room it was impossible to walk upright as the ceiling was too low. And we are normal length..
The room was noisy, the walls problably of hardboard. The bathroom was small, the shower hardly producing any water. The television set was small as well, with just a few channels to choose from. And the other functions (text, view bill and so on) were not functioning at all.
When we returned in he evening after a (nice) meal in the (nice) village of Bergen we took a drink in the bar. Nice girl to serve the drinks, but she announced at the same time the last round, although it was not that late.
In the morning we were too dejected to try breakfast. Check out was at reception, where the ladies gave the impression that we should be glad to be allowed to stay in this hotel. We were glad to escape as soon as possible and did not go in debate over the fee for the parking that we never could arrive at.
Leaving Bergen we asked ourselves who awarded the four stars to a place that is defititely hardly worth two.

Room Tip: Our tip: check the room before you accept !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Normally I only post reviews when I'm very enthousiastic about a place. Mediocre experiences I don't post, out of respect for the people who have to make their living in such restaurants/hotels. But this time it's different, I'm outright angry. This is at best a mediocre hotel (certainly not 4 stars), situated at a good location though in the center of Bergen. But I'm not angry because the rooms are poor, or because the we had to send food back to the kitchen because it was still raw. I'm angry because we were overcharged some 750 euros (we were quite a large group). I noticed this within an hour after payment, immediately called the hotel that rebuffed by saying that not all receipts had been stapled to the bill. Detailed inspection of the bill showed however that some 27 3-course dinners had been billed twice! Called again, but the appropriate person was no longer in. Called again the day after and was told that the money would be refunded immediately. Money didn't come in though, so called again after a few days and was told that the refund would take TWO weeks. And no, they could not send me an email to confirm this, I just had to trust them and wait for two weeks. Of course, there was no money after two weeks. Called again, person not in, call again the next day, same story. Called again the next day, manager again not available and left a message that I was contemplating further (legal) steps. Within the hour I received an email from the manager with an apology and the promise that the money would be transferred that very day. Money was indeed transferred that day, but not all of it, as it was exactly 60 euros short!? No explanation, no email, no nothing about why they transferred less. So I had to call again, manager not available. Left request to be called back, to no avail. Called again, and was informed by the front desk that the 60 euros had been substracted because the bill that I had payed 3 weeks prior had supposedly been incomplete?! Of course, it cannot be ruled out that something hadn't been put on our original bill which should have been there. But retrospectively increasing a bill, without any notice or explanation, when the hotel has been dragging its feet for weeks already, is outright unacceptable. If only we had checked Tripadvisor reviews before booking, then we could have seen that there seems to be a recurring pattern of poor service in this hotel...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed 1 night in Hotel Marijke during a weekend breakaway. We chose this hotel because of its location, close to the centre of Bergen, with all the nice restaurants and terraces. Of course we have red the reviews on Tripadvisor and some of them are very negative. Maybe the hotel is overrated and I do understand the issues mentioned, but you have to keep in mind that this is a very old family restaurant in the old part of historic Bergen, which is a small local town. You cannot compare it to modern hotels in a large city. A lot of people are complaining about the charges of the car parking. Charged parking is normal in Bergen. You have to pay for car parking in a large area of Bergen and all the hotels in the centre charge you for that. There is limited space and everybody wants to park close to the hotel. The staff of Marijke is trying to facilitate parking for all the guests, but they have limited space. As said, there is no space for a large parking-lot in the historic center. You have to manage your expectations in these kind of hotels.

When we arrived at the hotel, a staff member was assisting all arriving and departing guests and she assigned us a parking spot. The reception staff was friendly and to our surprise we were upgraded from a junior suite to the only suite at the opposite of the main building. Because of the reviews we did not booked a normal double room, but instead we made a reservation for a junior suite for €.150, including breakfast and parking. I do not think that this is overcharged for 2 people in the high season and in the centre of the town. This suite is fabulous. A very large and modern living room in black and white style with a separate dining area. The bedroom is also spacious, but the bathroom was extraordinary. A double jacuzzi with a flat screen above it, a luxurious shower area with a large glass wall, a double sink and in the corner a private sauna. All in black and white style with shutters blinding the double glass doors leading to a small private garden. By far the greatest and most luxurious spot in Bergen, but normally the suite is more expensive. Because we were not in the main building, we experienced no noise during the night.

We dit not use the restaurant in hotel Marijke, because we wanted to dine in one of the restaurants in the centre, so we cannot comment on that. We noticed that there is a nice bar in the main building and an old library with a fire place. Also they have some bicycles available. The way to the sea (Bergen aan Zee) is beautiful, first through the forrest and then over the dunes.
Because of the nice weather, we used the breakfast outside on the terrace of the hotel, which was quite nice. The breakfast is buffet style and complete. Staff was helpful and constantly filling the plates when items were running out.

We do recommend hotel Marijke, but beware that it is an old hotel in the historic part of Bergen, which could have its downsize. For sure it is good value for money and the location is perfect!

Room Tip: Book a junior suite if you can afford it, the normal double rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel just to relax a bit over the holiday season with friends. The rooms of the hotel are spread out across several houses. The room we stayed in is clean reasonably sized. The beds and pillows are too soft for my liking but still comfy. We stayed at a ground floor room and I can hear people walking on the second floor. Our friends stayed at the 2nd floor where the room smelled a bit musty while another room given to our group smelled of cigarettes although it's a non-smoking room.

The location is great for exploring the quaint city of Bergen as the hotel is very close to the center.

Overall it's an ok hotel, and for our group, it's great value for money for we availed of this hotel through a promo.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Marijke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Marijke

Address: Dorpsstraat 23-25, 1861 KT Bergen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Marijke 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers elegant rooms, an a-la-carte restaurant and a cozy brasserie in the center of the charming village of Bergen. The hotel has a patio and beautiful garden. Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Marijke lies in the center of historical village, only 5 kilometers from the beaches and dunes of the North Sea. Besides that cities like Alkmaar, Amsterdam and Haarlem are also close by. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet. Or would you like a lunch or a fabulous dinner? Hotel-Restaurant Marijke's brasserie and restaurant offers these and more. And for a drink you can go to the friendly brasserie or convivial bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Marijke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bergen Aan Zee
Bergen Aan Zee Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Marijke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.