We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zee Bergen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Zee Bergen to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Zee Bergen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wilhelminalaan 11, 1861 LR Bergen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Bergen
Bussum, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fine place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Simple but very good foot
Very friendly people
Well situated
Well proces
Wifi is good in general rooms
Good bed and new flatscreen in room
Restaurant is very warm room
A bit noisy room but that was not a problem
The number of old people is substantialistisch

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I are just back from 5 days cycle touring in Holland and from staying 2 nights at the Zee Burgen. The hotel was a welcome comfort after a day in the saddle and a good base from which to enjoy Bergen and explore the dunes. The hotel owner was terrific. Couldn't have been friendlier in helping us store our bikes securely and make sure that we had everything we needed. And the rest of the hotel staff were just as good. Friendly and welcoming.
The rooms were very clean and good value for money, especially when you consider the Euro/£ exchange rate isn't too good these days. We took the last room in the hotel so it was a little on the small side, but perfectly adequate. When we decided to stay another night we were moved to a bigger room off the courtyard which was great. The showers were excellent in both rooms! Breakfast was plentiful and good quality. We didn't eat there at night as we wanted to enjoy the centre of Bergen which was a 5 minute walk away. Just right for stretching the legs and to walk back after dinner in town in the evening.
Would definitely stay here again if we ever made it back to Begen.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the courtyard if you want your own private entrance and tables and chairs outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limassol
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The staff are extremely helpful and service minded - although I always get slightly annoyed when the staff tell me I have to pay extra for a cappuccino at breakfast. Good wifi downstairs - not so good in the rooms or in the cottage. My friends told me they ran out of hot water in the morning. We had no problem. The rooms etc are pretty small and basic but all in all it's really great value for money. Rented electric bikes and cycled through the dunes. Also went on a guided walking tour through Bergen. Lots of well known Dutch artists and writers used to live in this affluent town and it worth seeing some of the architecture with a guide.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a lovely stay here. The food was excellent- really tasty dinners and good variety at breakfast. The owners are lovely and made us feel really welcome. We rode out on the bikes every day through the dunes and woods, across picturesque fields with cows, horses etc.
The only negative would be the size of the bedroom (we were on the 2nd floor) but we had a balcony which was nice. We also enjoyed sitting outside in the sun downstairs having a drink. As there was a mix up about dinner not being available on a Tuesday the owner Jan said we could have the bikes on the house-which was really kind.
This hotel is in a fantastic spot for cycling and Bergen is a delightful Dutch town, so all in all I'd thoroughly recommend the hotel Zeebergen.

Room Tip: Ask for a large one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

everything was excellent. the staff was very polite.The food was excellent. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fritzlar, Germany
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Definitely no business hotel. More or less a residence for retired with plenty of time. Breakfast from 08:30 to 10:00 and diner from 18:00 to 19:00. Shampoo only provioded for the first day. Very weak WLAN. Weak heating though water very hot. Basic attached rooms. Dont't worth the price. Nevertheless, the staff is very frienly and helpful as well as the food is very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Zee Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zee Bergen

Address: Wilhelminalaan 11, 1861 LR Bergen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Bergen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zee Bergen 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Zee Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zee Bergen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.