We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lavish foyer, good breakfast, average room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Glostrup

Save Saved
You added Scandic Glostrup to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Glostrup
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Roskildevej 550, Broendby 2605, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Broendby
Durrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lavish foyer, good breakfast, average room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

For a single night stay this hotel is just about enough. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is very good with cold meats & cheeses, bacon, boiled eggs and scrambled eggs plus lots of cold juice and good coffee. The room was disappointing with no air conditioning and decorated with the 60's in mind. The bathroom was a wet room and the shower wasn't very powerful. No need to bring your own stuff as the hotel provides soap and shower/hair gel as well as a hairdryer. As other reviewers have stated, there is an odd "sewer" smell when you are in the shower and the toilet never stops dribbling into the bowl though this is not really a distraction. There is also free wifi which worked very well with good speed.
The room seems very warm despite no heating being on. The windows are double glazed but you can open both to let some air in. This works fine except that the hotel is on quite a busy road and early morning sees juggernauts and noisy diesel buses running the route and this could easily wake lighter sleepers if the windows are open.
The mini bar is well stocked but quite expensive. There is adequate hanging space. I had a twin room but the quilt barely covered the bed and the pillows were small and not enough support. The mattress was very spongey and not very supportive but ok for one night,
Overall, this is fine for a one night stay but more than that would start to be an issue with the lack of control over the heating in the room, the tiny quilt and average decor..

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to avoid traffic noise at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    37
    21
    3
See reviews for
4
5
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Stayed here for one night during a short trip to Copenhagen.
Staff was friendly and the breakfast that was included was really good. Parking was free and they had little "play corner" for the kids.
Had dinner at the restaurant and tried their "Jamie Oliver Meny" that was real nice. What i didnt like was that the room was very warm

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

Took a taxi from the airport (£30). Booked in quickly. Friendly, helpful staff. Room basic but fine...same as any Ibis or Travelodge. Mini bar. Good sized wet room/shower with hairdryer. Iron and board in room. Opened windows as no air-con. LOTS of traffic noise as the hotel is on a main road but we were so tired from walking around Copenhagen all day, it did not bother us.
Meals in bar OK but limited menu.
Breakfast was good...fresh with plenty of hot and cold selection.
Bus 13 or 123 from stop a couple of hundred yards right from hotel entrance will take you 3 stops to station, which is also a shopping centre with 2 supermarkets. S-train is 8 stops to central Copenhagen.
Denmark IS expensive for beer and food out. £5 a beer is typical everywhere. Places we liked: Carlesburg brewery tour (at Enghavn staion) Boat/harbour trip/ Rosenburg Castle. Strolling along Stroget (shopping street)
Next time,would stay in a more central hotel to avoid travel at start and end of each day.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable. Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Too far from central Copenhage
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

I stayed here on business in June 2008. The location, whilst out of town, is within reasonable distance of public transport.

It's not a cheap hotel, at nearly a hundred pounds a night.....nor is it worth that price. The room was of a reasonable size, and was tidy. As has been mentioned elsewhere, the bathroom stank of sewage smells.

This hotel has a bar, but dont get ripped off at the prices in there, walk half a kilometre to the local Spar supermarket and stock up there for a fifth of the price!

Paying over 5 pounds for a 0.4l beer was a disgrace. The bar staff were friendly, but I found the staff on reception full of themselves.

In all, I would not stay here again unless I had no other options in the area, it's far too expensive.

Scandic as a company has a glossy website, with well written literature, but they are not the 4 star hotel they seem to think they are. A Novotel or Sofitel this aint!

  • Liked — Good sized room, fast wifi internet in the room.
  • Disliked — Sewage smell from bathroom, vastly inflated prices for drinks and food.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

I needed to stay in Glostrup for work and this was recommended to me by the customer I was visiting. Only stayed for 1 night, so I assume it was representative.

I was impressed at first, as I had been given a suite, dinner was fine. Breakfast wasn't amazing, but was fine also.

My problem was that I don't like warm rooms at night and even though it was May it was too warm to sleep with the windows shut and there was no air-con. Due to some stange system where there were double-glazed windows, but two of them, the inside one I could open a bit, but I wasn't able to open the outside one at all. I managed to open the windows in the other room and then slept with the connecting door open, but I wouldn't stay there in the summer when it would be really hot.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Room temperature
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

The Scandic Glostrup is simply not to be recommended. The friendly staff, reasonable room sizes and relatively clean atmosphere do not make up for the physical problems that the hotel has. While mine is an anecdotal story which may or may not be representative, I could not in good conscience recommend this hotel to anyone, especially if they are paying close to the published rate.

Upon my arrival on a Sunday, I was given a room which I found to be a bit stark and uninviting, but that was OK; I don't even like fancy hotels. As I sat in the room, I started to notice the plumbing, specifically the toilet, leaking so loudly that I knew I could not sleep there. Then, I washed my hands at the sink and found that after the counter was wet, the glasses started moving on their own, creeping every few seconds, roaming towards an inevitable crash into the sink. I moved the glasses to a safe place and got another room. Again thats all OK; a leaky toilet and slanted counter tops. Big deal. Not even really criteria for review.

The 2nd room seemed fine, so I unpacked, did some ironing and got ready for a nap. Then I tried to close the curtains and saw that the rod was hanging by one end and the curtains would not close because they just slipped off the rod. The fixture was not something I could easily fix (I did try). No one cleaning or maintaining the room could have missed this. So... On to room 3.

The first night in room 3 was actually fine, but here I am on day two during the 1st week of February in Denmark, with the windows open trying to air out the smell of backed up ... to put it nicely, bathroom smells. Apparently the venting of other peoples' rooms is either not to the outside or is not working.

I'm staying on business and because of the relatively remote location of this hotel, and the fact that other business hotels in the area are currently booked, I'll stay out my reservation, but if you have a choice, I'd suggest that you not place yourself in the same situation.

On the plus side, the rooms are neat, if sparse, and the staff is friendly and accommodating. The restaurant serves very good food for dinner, at slightly expensive, but not out-of-line prices. I felt that I was completely invisible to the wait staff, but to give them the benefit of the doubt, they were very busy. The breakfast that is included with the room is also good, consisting of an array of breads, fruits, meats, eggs and assorted other items, some of which were new to me and quite good.

Were it not for the state of disrepair in which I found the rooms, I might recommend the Scandic Glostrup, but as it is, it is a frustrating, and for the price, sort of humiliating experience.

  • Liked — Beds are comfortable. Rooms generally clean
  • Disliked — Rooms not well maintained and very few amenities
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spangdahlem, germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2007

Wow, this hotel was run down, outdated and plain not worth the money. We had stayed in Gothenburg at the same chain and had a great expierence, obviously not all Scandics are of the same quality. The breakfast was included but it was not good. It was cold and seemed like leftovers from the restaurant. Couldn't recommend this motel to anyone!

  • Liked — nothing!
  • Disliked — old, rundown, smelly
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scandic Glostrup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Glostrup

Address: Roskildevej 550, Broendby 2605, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Broendby Municipality > Broendby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Broendby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Glostrup 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Scandic Glostrup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Glostrup Copenhagen Brondby
Scandic Glostrup Copenhagen, Denmark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Glostrup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.