We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food, brilliant service. Lovely little place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manor Farm Tea Shoppe

Manor Farm Tea Shoppe
Main Street | Bleasby, NG14 7FX, Southwell, Newark-on-Trent, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Southwell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, brilliant service. Lovely little place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This tea shop is just down the road from my Mum's house so I often nip in with her. The service is absolutely great. In the winter you can sit inside with their big wooden tables warming up with a hot chocolate and one of their delicious meals from the specials menu. In summer you can sit in their garden area with a salad and a glass of something cold. Their menu ranges from simple snacks like beans on toast, omelettes and sandwiches to vegetable bakes and goats cheese tartlets. And lets not forget the cake!
A lovely little place, definitely worth a look.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    11
    2
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gastro dining in a village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a great meal at this new little bistro all the food is cook fresh .The service was great by all the staff and the chef came to say hello at the end which I thought was very nice .We were told the menu will charge every month I just hope they keep the lemon tart it was to die for .we will definitely be going back and will be telling other about it .It was very good value for money and it great you can take your own alcohol .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“(Almost) Always very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was interested to read some of the more negative reviews and the responses of others to them. We've been going to Manor Farm for a long time and have almost invariably had a good experience. However, there has been the odd occasion when dirty tables and slow service have been an issue, often associated with the arrival of hoardes of cyclists.
We were there yesterday and had a very good experience; portion sizes are very good but remember that you can ask for smaller portions. We are very much looking forward to trying the new evening gastro dining events that launch this week, the menu looks very interesting and the prices reasonable.
I don't agree with other reviewers who state the place is dingy but oddly enough, did look up at the roof space yesterday and did comment to my wife how dusty it was and how it was covered in cobwebs. If this was a main stream restaurant, it wouldn't be acceptable and I'm not sure it should be here. One for the management as is the very disappointing way they serve butter; one would expect a local, home made producer to use 'proper' butter, not to be served two tiny foiled catering packs of some yellow spread. Similarly, it would be great to have home made jams rather than commercially produced versions. The breakfast is excellent but finishes at 1130 apparently due to lack of griddle space. Seems odd in this day and age.
We'll be back!
The comparison with the Old Theatre Deli in Southwell isn't doing a like for like comparison. Southwell can be a bit stuffy and we've found the Old Theatre can be the same. Seating can be a problem there with singles taking tables for four. We'd always plump for Manor Farm

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were very fortunate to be invited to sample the new menu for the Bistro which will be opening as Thursday 1st August 2013. I have to say it was sensational. Cooked to perfection and tasted divine. We shall definitely be making the most of this new venture. What a wonderful addition to our gorgeous village. I can't wait for it to open!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Every village should have one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We visit the Tea Shoppe regulary and stopped by for breakfast yesterday, as always the welcome was warm, the service charming and the food delicious. They caterer for a variety of tastes and appetite sizes and I have always found it to be excellent value for money and a real asset to Bleasby village, we are so fortunate to have it on our doorstep.
If you are really lucky you will see the 12 fluffy ducklings who were all sitting together yesterday having a morning nap.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manor Farm Tea Shoppe also viewed

Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 

Been to Manor Farm Tea Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor Farm Tea Shoppe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.