We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay just as fab!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bramley Apple Inn

The Bramley Apple Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Bramley Apple Inn to your Saves list
The Bramley Apple Inn
51 Church Street, Southwell, Newark-on-Trent NG25 0HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Southwell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
“2nd stay just as fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Back for our second time at the Bramley with the lovely Cherrie and Jim. Again everything was wonderful. We ate in on Tapas night, beautiful food! Sampled some of the ciders and beers on offer. Would highly recommend this little gem of a place :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    13
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
15
33
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southwell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have just had the best Pie ever! Having reviewed the Bramley just before Christmas, I've been in again, and had an evening meal there. I chose Pie and Mash. It was belly pork in Cider. The pork just melted in the mouth, and the filling had a beautiful sweet tangy cider flavour (Scrumpy Wasp apparently). Definately home cooked, beautiful pastry, luscious mash, a real, real treat. My son who was with me chose the Vegetarian option, a root vegetable pie, which he thought was great too.
Also, since my last review of this little gem, they've extended the beer range; they've got three independant lagers on, 6 bitters (4 Springhead and 2 guests - I had Elsie Mo which was gorgeous), and a good handful of ciders. Oh, and Guinness.
I'll be going there again.

(p.s. sorry about the bad maths joke)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawley, Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were going to a wedding in Southwell and decided to stay local to avoid having to drive. we chose the Bramley Apple due to its excellent location in the heart of Southwell and the value for money compared to other places. We were delighted with our choice, the staff were lovely, the room was very nice and the breakfast was delicious, we would definitely recommend it to anyone planning to stay in Southwell.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We were going to a wedding at Norwood and so needed somewhere nearby. We chose the Bramley Apple because it seemed reasonably priced but we got a lot more for our money that expected. The rooms are simple but have everything you could need. The breakfast was fantastic and tasted very fresh. However the main selling point is the staff. They were very attentive and nothing was too much to ask. They gave us a complimentary drink on arrival and helped us arrange a taxi for that night. I mentioned that I was veggie and so ordered the breakfast minus the meat and they went and found some veggie sausages for me. Would definitely stay again

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed for one night at the pub. Check in/out times were very flexible, the room was very very clean, with plenty of natural light, and a lovely en suite. Plenty of towels and a fantastic power shower, with hot water galore.
Breakfast was generous, papers provided and the teapot refilled without us asking.
What impressed me most though was the warm friendly welcome from the Landlord and Landlady. Nothing was any trouble.
So good we've already booked to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a wedding at Norwood Park so stayed at the Bramley apple and we were not dissapionted. The welcome was warm and friendly, a free complimentary half print went down very nicely. Our room was spotless and very comfortable, some of the best pillows we have ever slept on. The new owners are lovely, you are made to feel right at home. Breakfast is made to order and is a great hangover cure. It was just so nice to feel so welcome. When we said we would be back with our mountain bikes in the summer our hosts were full of the best routes from where we live. If you need somewhere to stay in Southwell you should defently stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed one night in the Bramley Apple and the new couple that have taken it over (since December) are really friendly and make sure you have everything you need. The room we stayed in was immaculately clean, as was the bathroom. The cooked breakfast was lovely (just what you want after a night partying at a friends 40th!). To top it off, I had a phonecall to say I'd left my necklace there and the lovely landlady offered to post it to me! Thankyou so much :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bramley Apple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bramley Apple Inn

Address: 51 Church Street, Southwell, Newark-on-Trent NG25 0HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Southwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Southwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Bramley Apple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bramley Apple Hotel Southwell
The Bramley Apple Inn Southwell, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bramley Apple Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.