We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Theatre Deli

The Old Theatre Deli
4 Market Place, Southwell, Newark-on-Trent NG25 0HE, England
01636 815340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 26 Restaurants in Southwell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top notch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 NEW

Fabulous food, service and ambience! Staff were friendly throughout our visit (very welcoming and smiley) and the food was so tasty. Would definitely recommend. Keep going guys - you're doing a great job :)

  • Visited May 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    33
    12
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

The food and service here are brilliant. I have been many times and will return time and time again. My only fault - it is not big enough!! I wish you had bigger premises and we could always get inside on cooler days. Everything- totally delicious though so worth wrapping up in a blanket for!

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lunch with hubby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Decided to pop into The Old Theatre Deli whilst in Southwell...
What a delight! Beautifully set out very shabby chic/cottage feel. Tea cosys lined the top shelves with a selection of jams, wine etc to purchase on lower shelves. Seating snide and out and Waitress service with a smile.
Steak pie and chips with a salad was delicious, a small pot of gravy on the side.
Iced coffee was gorgeous as was the large glass of Pinot, so much for being good. A large fabulous looking display of tempting cakes , thankfully I managed to resist!
Atmosphere very relaxed, could have sat all afternoon people watching.
Lovely place will definitely be returning! Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

A friendly waitress cleared and wiped the table as we sat down. The noise from the espresso coffee machine made it difficult for me to make myself heard to the person taking orders at the counter, or to hear her (see the comment made by another reviewer about repositioning the till). We shared two quiche and salad dishes - salmon and asparagus, and feta and roasted pepper. Both were very tasty, with light pastry. The portions of salad were huge, but really fresh and crisp, with a good dressing. The coffee was good too. All reasonable priced, considering the quality. The cakes looked fantastic, and the comments from neighbouring tables suggested they were as good as they looked. We will try one next time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

It look appealing from the outside, with a pavement cafe atmosphere and a variety of food being made available from sandwiches to hot main meals. I opted for the Stilton & Stout rarebit, and my wife fancied the roast beef with creamy horseradish sandwich on granary. We sat inside as outside still had a little nip in the wind and no seating was available in the sunshine (not the fault of the cafe at all!)

My rarebit arrived and was a large slice of bread topped with rarebit placed on a mountain of salad leaves, with a number of vine tomatoes placed across the top. The topping was pleasant enough but I think required some form of chutney to counteract the saltiness of the cheese.

The roast beef sandwich came along and it was doorsteps of bread which was difficult to put into the mouth properly. A knife and fork to the rescue! This sandwich was a bit of a disappointment as it tasted of spread, not horseradish and the meat, whilst locally sourced was very fatty (nothing wrong with a little fat on beef - this was a bit excessive though)

I have noted that one reviewer has said that the staff didn't smile at all or have good manners. The staff on this occasion were surly and not at all helpful (see below). There are a couple of minor points that can help them improve

1. Re-position the till so that the staff do not need to shout at the customers to order, or when they are looking to pay the bill.
2. As there is a lot of salad leaves on each plate, perhaps bring knives and forks for each customer not just the ones ordering the rarebit (hot food). It also means the customer has a napkin as well.
3. Take note of those customers who have concerns, as a couple of ladies (daughter with elderly mother) were trying to find out how much longer their food would be as apparently the mother would be eating the table soon. Please do not ignore them as complaints are often overheard and people listen in take note of what reactions the staff have,
4. Cut down on the amount of leaves placed under the bread, and position nicely on the side perhaps to give a better overall presentation and appeal.

All in all it was pleasant enough although perhaps a little expensive for what I would normally pay for this type meal.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Theatre Deli also viewed

Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 

Been to The Old Theatre Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Theatre Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.