We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, gorgeous rooms & Suzanne a star!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Vicarage Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Old Vicarage Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Vicarage Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   The Old Vicarage | Westhorpe, Southwell, Newark-on-Trent NG25 0NB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Southwell
Nottingham
1 review
“Excellent service, gorgeous rooms & Suzanne a star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed for one night in December - we were attending a wedding reception locally. A taxi had been booked to take us from the Vicarage to the reception, unfortunately it did not arrive - weather bad etc. Suzanne (owner) not only taxied us there but also picked up our friends and then turned up later to collect us - what an absolute excellent service -we were so grateful.

Our hotel room was open plan and did not cause us a problem. The rooms are beautifully designed, comfortable beds and the all important tea / coffee making facilities are available. Breakfast was good with cereals and a hot breakfast being available - all in all would recommend this for a weekend break / overnight stop.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    22
    10
    9
    12
See reviews for
27
85
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southwell
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

just a word of warning for anyone about to book their wedding reception at this beautiful hotel, we paid a deposit in November and were given our menu options and the price per guest. 2 months before the wedding after printing all the invitations and menu's and posting them out we were informed by email in a very un professional manner that the cost would be going up by £10 per head, Needless to say we have had to relocate our reception to another much more accommodating venue

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgings, Owner at The Old Vicarage Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2010
As this client’s review is very misleading and substantially fabricating the truth I feel a response to set the record straight is in order. Its unfortunate that this individual has chosen to be so vindictive, however the truth regarding this booking, is that this client did not book a wedding reception with us at all, they chose to do it on the cheap and just booked the restaurant, choosing one of our cheap 3 course set lunch menus from our old menu. This client also talks about setting the wedding date back in November, the date booked with us has been changed 3 times and was only confirmed no longer than 3 weeks ago, so we cannot take the blame for late planning. At the vicarage we offer an exclusive wedding service and unfortunately there is a cost attached to this and therefore we could not undertake the wedding reception that was disguised as a casual lunch and get together. We value our service and unfortunately have to look out for all our valued paying customers and set specific standards for all. These cannot be compromised for any one individual. However saying that it does sadden us to have a customer that is less than satisfied and we have put procedures in place to ensure that this does not happen in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, Herts UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

We stayed here over the Hallowe'en weekend and it was more of a treat than I had anticipated. The children particularly liked the large bowl of sweets outside the front door which they dived into.
The room was very nicely furnished and still felt roomy with 4 + baby (two z beds). Nice to have a fridge though the contents didn't match the mini bar menu, not that it mattered, we kept milk in it! The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Fabulous bathroom that made our effort at home look like a slum. Slightly odd that you couldn't reach the taps once you were in the bath but who cares, the bath was amazing, vast like a ship.
The food in the restaurant was delicious, obviously popular with locals which I take as a good sign that it is consistently good.
I agree with a previous reviewer who was a bit miffed that the breakfast menu asks you to chose between cereal and cooked breakfast - I usually greedily ask for both. I imagine that had I asked for both it would have been happily provided. Also it might have been nice to have had a small pot rather than a cup of coffee. My waistline probably benefitted though and these are tiny niggles.
The staff were friendly and helpful throughout, recommending a child friendly restaurant for our second night (they fancied a pizza).

Last thing - the children reported some spooky unexplained door opening on the last morning. As I said, it was Hallowe'en.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgings, Owner at The Old Vicarage Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2009
We thank our guest for thier feedback and try to improve our service accordingly. In light of the comments regarding breakfast we have modified our breakfast menu and now offer a buffet selection of continental dishes as well as the cooked element. We hope your guests enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

This is a beautiful hotel which has been impeccably restored and which deserves to be a huge success.

I arrived at the hotel to a lovely welcome from Suzanne, one of the owners. The sense of pride and belief in the hotel from the owners is obvious and it was a welcome change from impersonal business hotels.

My room was a delight and had many pieces I would source for my own home. The bed was one of the nicest i have slept in and I did not want to leave it at 6.45am. This hotel deserves to be savoured on a mini break or celebration, vs a business trip. The fixtures and fittings (porcelanosa bathrooms etc) show this was not a conversion done on the cheap.

Morning service was a bit disappointing - breakfast service was not great and no bill could be found. I'm assuming it will be fair and accurate but as yet have no idea. Again, this would be less of an issue on a weekend break but needs to be tighter for a business clientele.

Dinner met our needs - no fine dining but lunch menu was sufficient.

Loved the decor and welcome, was a bit let down by the dxeparture. When you are only in a hotel for 11 - 12 hrs that's important. Would love to come back for a non-work visit. This hotel is lovely and I hope will be very successful

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two nights whilst attending a wedding in the area. The hotel and the rooms have been beautifully decorated in a very modern and trendy style which works well with the architecture of this old vicarage. The bed was sooooo comfortable and the bathroom was luxurious and scrupulously clean. The breakfast was lovely and the staff couldn't do enough for you. We didn't eat here but the restaurant and the menu looked fabulous. The owner, Suzanne, was extremely friendly and gave us a warm welcome and helped us get our barings during our stay. All in all, highly recommended - would definately stay here if we ever came back to the Nottingham area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

It is clear that a lot of effort has gone into the interior design of this hotel and the results are visually impressive. But it seemed to us that less thought had gone into road testing that design with actual people. Our room was large and comfortable and we had no trouble sleeping well in the quiet surroundings. However a design "feature" was the absence of a door to the bathroom. Not only does this mean that all activities in the bathroom are very audible from the room but there is a mirror opposite the bathroom "doorway" and the bathroom is in direct side sightlines from the main door so anyone entering the room cannot help but notice what might be going on. On mentioning this at checking out, we were told this was because the designer is South African (don't they have doors there?). Perhaps they should have considered that the majority of their guests will not be! Another feature is the provision of plentiful hanging space yet no space for folded clothes. The breakfast was well cooked, but not particularly good value as one had to choose between cooked dishes or cereal and pastries. Other establishments generally include cereal in the full menu options. And in a final stylistic gesture, the breakfast plates were so large that there was difficulty fitting two plates,two side plates and two coffee cups onto a table for two. This might all seem overly picky, but we paid as much for bed and breakfast in this hotel as we paid the previous night for bed breakfast and a four course dinner in another location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgings, Owner at The Old Vicarage Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2009
As the owner of the hotel, any negative feedback we receive, we take very seriously. Some of our rooms do have open plan style modern bathrooms and although we haven't received any bad feedback previously from other guests, I suppose this may not suit everyone's requirements.
We go out of our way to accommodate everyone's particular needs to our very best ability as demonstrated in our previous reviews. In regards to the comments regarding design, the hotel is designed to the highest and latest spec using the best quality products such as Molton Brown, Royal Doulton etc and every detail has been thoroughly thought out to offer design, comfort and good value for money (we are cheaper than any other hotel in Southwell). However on some occasions we cant please everyone and that's unfortunate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed in Room 104 which is large and bright with a great bathroom (always plenty of hot water which is not always so in old buildings!). The whole hotel is fitted with ultra modern,stylish furnishings and looks a treat! The drinks' choice is very good; options at breakfast are also very good and everything was presented beautifully,the portions being just right.Paper napkins don't sit well with the general style.The staff we met were first class - always smiling,helpful,friendly and prepared to go that extra mile!!! Finally,the outside is attractive with tables/chairs on decking and large lawned areas. (EVENING DINING WASN'T AVAILABLE HENCE NO COMMENT)

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Vicarage Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage Boutique Hotel

Address: The Old Vicarage | Westhorpe, Southwell, Newark-on-Trent NG25 0NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Southwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Southwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Vicarage Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Vicarage, Southwell situated on Westhorpe, has undergone a major redevelopment and refurbishment programme over the last 2 years, and is delighted to be opening on the 1st May 2009 as Southwell’s finest hotel. The Old Vicarage brings Southwell its first unique hotel experience, taking comfort and personal service to new heights. We offer pure guest luxury, down to small details such as Molton Brown products and Royal Doulton cutlery.Offering uniquely styled accommodation in 8 individually designed bedrooms and suites. Featuring an eclectic mix of new york loft meets vintage chic. Set within over an acre of conservation area, it is the ideal venue for weddings and functions or simply to get away from it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Old Vicarage Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Vicarage Boutique Southwell
The Old Vicarage Boutique Hotel Southwell, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Vicarage Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.