We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best lamb balti ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mughal Rasoi

Mughal Rasoi
17 King Street, Southwell, Newark-on-Trent NG25 0EH, England
01636813618
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Southwell
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Southwell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best lamb balti ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have been a few times now and never been disappointed. We also turned up once just before the restaurant officially opened with our two children and the staff still welcomed us in and offered us popodoms and drinks whilst we waited. The food is top quality - expecially the baltis.

My only suggestion to the restaurant would be to offer a set menu or early bird offer and then we would definately go more often!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“It's Pukka me old mukka!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Was visiting from London and we fancied a ruby so climbed the stairs and went on it.

The staff were fantastic, very attentive but not overwhelming.
Free poppadoms and chutneys very nice touch.
Starters, mains plus rice n nans all gorgeous... And if your dish don't come out sizzling I'd be disappointed!!
Hot wipes, mints and complimentary drinks whatever you want to finish, lovely and at £60 for 3 a bargain.

Enjoyed it all so much went back the next evening too...
I will be going again defo, so thanks Mr K and (Ricky) for 2 lovely evenings.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very good curry!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I ate this restaurant with 3 work friends on Wednesday night, and what a joy it was!!!!

We had popadoms to start the evening with mint,mango, opinion and a lime dip which were all vey nice! We had 3 starters, 2x chicken chat and a mixed kebab, once again very nice!!!!
For the main event we had one lamb tikka tandoori dish, chicken jalfrezi chicken and lamb balti and one more dish that I cannot remember I'm afraid! The sides were very nice, 2x chips, garlic naan and rice.

These dishes were fantastic!!!

Fantastic!!!!!

To top the evening we were given complementary drinks to wash down our tasty food!!!!

All in all very very good, will look forward to coming here again!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“First Rate Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The food at this restaurant is delicious and the service is very warm and friendly. On occasion this service can be slow as it is so popular, but if that is the case one is kept well informed and they inevitably offer something to eat on a complementary basis to make up for the inconvenience. I would definitely give this restaurant a go, you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Food great, staff great. What else do you need? I don't live in Southwell But will make a trip to eat here. I will return without doubt.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mughal Rasoi also viewed

Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
 
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
Southwell, Newark-on-Trent
 

Been to Mughal Rasoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mughal Rasoi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.