We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goldstream Provincial Park

Goldstream Provincial Park
Trans Canada Hwy (Hwy #1), Langford, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 474-1336
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 attractions in Langford
Type: National Parks
Activities: Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife
Attraction Details
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great hikes and the salmon spawning has just begun. This is a piece of real wilderness just around the corner from Victoria. Bears, cougars, eagles are living here - be careful.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    53
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice hike for the long weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I went here with his parents for the Canadian Thanksgiving long weekend. Even though the park was packed because it was a terrific fall day, we really enjoyed our hike up Mount Finlayson. The hike can be done in about 2 hour from the start of the trail. It is only about 1.5 km (about 1 mile) to the top but about 400 m (about 1200 feet) increase in elevation so it is quite steep in parts. The view from the top is great. You can see down into the Victoria harbor and on a clear day see Mt. Baker in Washington. Great hike if you don't have too much time but want to get out.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Majestic campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was my second time here and it is now one of my favorite places in the world getting away from all the hoards of people in Victoria this place is serenity for campers with large campsites to great hiking trails the hot free showers and the residence wild life make it a peaceful place to camp with the city of Langford just a 10 minute drive for all your camping needs we went to there local grocery store it was called The Market and the unbelievable size and variety of cheeses cake they had in there bakery was a great desert sooooo good if you like chesse cake

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mount Finlayson a great climb for a novice hiker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The park was beautiful and started off by seeing the lovely waterfall across the road. We then received some great advice from a volunteer at the Arts Centre. She encouraged us to the climb as felt the review was worth it. (The park information person had discouraged us based on seeing us and not our ability -being fifty something).
Anyway we decided we were up to the challenge and off we went. The first third was all about the hike and then the climb started. The second third was challenging but one just had to take a few stops to rest. The last third was the most challenging but with some patience and following the orange signs, we were able to make it to the top with no trouble. It was very windy up on top but the view was great. We were quite worried about coming down, but that was much less taxing than what we had imagined. It took less than two hours and we were glad we had made the attempt. Definitely worth it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
170 attraction reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
410 helpful votes 410 helpful votes
“Not Quite What I Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I visited here last month while staying in Victoria. I had really been looking forward to seeing this park as I love the rainforest, waterfalls, etc. Although it was a nice visit for us, it was not what I expected. For starters, the park is right along side the highway and therefore lots of traffic noise which takes away from the experience. The park has a rather strange set up. The visitor center is a little walk from the parking lot but a pleasant walk. Once there we did not stay long as the exhibits were more for kids and we didn't see anything to interest us. You can walk to the waterfall from this side of the highway (along the creek bed and through a dark tunnel), but there was no sign to point the way and luckily other people were walking back that we could ask. The waterfall was worth a look, very tall and in a pretty setting but low flow due to the time of the year. We noted that the picnic area was in a concrete space as we walked through, did not look that appealing. There is a very short nature trail near the picnic area that we walked and we headed back near the parking area to try some more trails that appeared to be on our map. Although I loved the trees, the short trails quickly came to a dead end and there was no signage. We found no signs on the road or parking area to designate any trails. Perhaps we missed something, but we found no information to help us in walking around the park. That coupled with the ever present freeway noise made our visit a little less pleasant.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goldstream Provincial Park also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Vancouver Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Goldstream Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldstream Provincial Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Goldstream Provincial Park to your Saves list