We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hike to the top of Mount Finlayson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goldstream Provincial Park

Goldstream Provincial Park
Trans Canada Hwy (Hwy #1), Langford, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 474-1336
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Langford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife
Attraction details
plymouth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A hike to the top of Mount Finlayson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The trail is quite well marked and only takes about an hour to ascend on the trail which starts at the steps near the Goldstream car park. For an alternative descent, try the "back" trail down the other side that uses Finlayson Arm Road for the last 15-minutes of the walk.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    63
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Yes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great hiking, and relatively closeby to greater Victoria.
Check this park out in September to witness the salmon run! Doesn't get more West Coast than this.
If you're in the mood and willing to drive further, check out East Sooke Park, which is also gorgeous.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitimat, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Falls..see the FALLS!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

A one minute walk from the parking area...only accessible if you are southbound, by the way...the falls are so so beautiful. Come summer, it'd be a great walk in the water, to the pool right underneath. One wants to pay attention to the pathway at the falls end...slippery gravel and rocks.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“One of the best hikes close to town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Goldstream is a favorite spot for me. I love watching the salmon returning to spawn in the fall. During the rest of the year I love hiking up Mt Finlayson which is just a few mins walk from the goldstream parking lot. Its only 2 km to the top, but its very steep and a bit rugged (rock scrambles). Awesome workout if you have the time and energy!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very cool opportunity to view salmon spawning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We visited while saying in Victoria over Thanksgiving and found this park through the good reviews. It was cold and wet when we visited, but there were a lot of salmon headed upstream. One tip that I would offer is to bring polarized glasses and try to view the area from the bridge. When we were on the shore I could only see a few fish, but when I went onto the bridge you could see many more. When I tried my sunglasses (even through it was raining) suddenly I could see a ton of fish all over. This time of the year be sure to bring shoes, the trails are pretty good but still bring trail grade shoes.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goldstream Provincial Park also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Vancouver Island, British Columbia
 
Vancouver Island, British Columbia
Port Alberni, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Goldstream Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldstream Provincial Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.