We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summerplace Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Summerplace Guesthouse to your Saves list
Summerplace Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   90 Caminho 2a, Lombada dos Cedros, Faja da Ovelha, Calheta, Madeira 9370-305, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Londonderry Northern Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I sould have wirtten this review a couple of years ago but I didn't join Tripadvisor until recently and wanted to share my views with other guests.
This beautiful guesthouse sits nestled in the hills overlooking the ocean where you feel so relaxed that you could be in heaven. The inside has five beautiful rooms, three with sea views, one with pool view and one with a little less view! but all are decorated to the highest standard and kept so very clean. The hosts Barry and Johannes are so welcoming and friendly and will help with directions, sightseeing, etc. The food is homecooked and wonderful. The pool area is perched at the side of the guesthouse and has a great view of the sea. You will fell at home as soon as you arrive and will not want to leave.

Room Tip: Hire a car if you don't fancy walking up and down very steep hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had an awesome 7 days at summerplace guesthouse. The interior design of the room as well as the complete guesthouse is amazing, very very clean and seems untouched. Perfect pool in a lovely garden overlooking a small valley and the ocean. Very relaxing. The hosts are absolutely brilliant - very friendly and helpful. Make sure you say yes to the offer to participate on the dinners each second day. Three meals meny cooked to perfection. Same goes for the breakfast - everything is homemade and abolutely delicious. Only the directions to the guesthouse might be improved. The GPS coordinates on the website directed us to a point around 3 km away from the real location. Also the address on the website was not very helpful to my navigon. So we drove around for a couple of minutes ending up asking locals. Anyway - the stay was fantastic and relaxing, thats what counts.

Room Tip: Only 5 rooms but every room is fantastic, even the so called budget room which has no ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed here for 6 days, in April, in a very nice room with a terrace, with a marvelous view of the Atlantic a kilometer away. The owners are totally dedicated to their guests and serve a marvelous breakfast as well as delicious dinners (every other day; all guests sit together at a large table; we met some nice people here, too). Note that you must have a car to get here, it's approx. 1 hour from the airport, and you will need it to check out the many great hiking trails, levadas and little towns around there. This is a small place, 4 or 5 rooms only, so book early and enjoy the more family-like atmosphere. Great for couples!

Room Tip: Madeira suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

fantastic location - away from it all. 3 nights was not enough could have stayed for longer. Beautiful surroundings and furnishings. The welcome was warm and genuine. If you have the opportunity to stay in for dinner then accept - it was outstanding - great food beautifully presented with wine to match.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weardale
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Couldnt really fault this place, Barry and Johannes are charming and attend to every need.
Lovely food, lovely place , lovely everything.

Room Tip: Al the rooms are charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

The experience from booking our stay, up until leaving Summerplace (which we really didn't want to do) was top notch. Having received my online booking but then having a temporary glitch with their internet connection, Barry phoned me to answer any queries I had and to tell me all about Summerplace. And what you see on their web page - and what you read in all their excellent reviews - is exactly what you get. There is an outstanding attention to detail in every room which, whilst not the largest we have stayed in, were luxurious and extremely comfortable. From the moment we walked through the door and were greeted by Barry, it was like visiting friends! Barry & Johannes have branched out from offering a B & B, to offering dinner 3 times a week. The "dining table" experience i.e. where all the guests sit around 1 large table, was great fun and we met interesting and like-minded people - who luckily for us all had a fantastic grasp of the English language - and whilst we enjoyed first class cuisine - Barry & Johannes are excellent hosts and cooks - we relaxed at the dinner table and shared stories.
Breakfast on the decking was a surreal - looking out over the sea - and we were spoilt for choice when it came to the food - all beautifully presented.
This is definitely a place we'd like to return to.
And if you're thinking of going - don't hesitate. You can't be disappointed!

Room Tip: One room doesn't have views - but that is clearly indicated on the website and is offered at a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed at Summerplace for 3 nights recently in late October My wife and I + her Parents, everything there seems just so right, from the atmosphere created by the furniture, to the wonderful breakfasts and views. Barry was an absolute Gent and host who just knew instinctively how to pitch things for the varied needs of his guests, sadly we didn't get to meet Johannes as he had some urgent family business to deal with abroad, but I'm certain that his meals would have been stunning as Barry had mentioned to us about his high standards of cusine, You may think that this would have spoiled our stay, on the contrary ,Barry directed us to some lovely varied restaurants which we fitted the bill every time. I promise you it is not possible to dislike Summerplace with it's calm relaxing
chill factor, Barry and Johannes have created something very special here grab a piece of it while you can. Thanks to Lorna for helping out you were a star. DS.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summerplace Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerplace Guesthouse

Address: 90 Caminho 2a, Lombada dos Cedros, Faja da Ovelha, Calheta, Madeira 9370-305, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Calheta > Faja da Ovelha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Faja da Ovelha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Summerplace Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our beautiful boutique guesthouse situated in an elevated position in a quaint rural hamlet. We have magnificent views of the valley to the Atlantic Ocean. You will find a sanctuary to rejuvenate and relax. Enjoy fresh unpolluted mountain air and beautiful uninterrupted scenery. Expect gracious accommodation and personalized service. We welcome our discerning guests to a stylish refuge with WI-FI internet, flat-screen satellite TV / radio, DVD player and infinity swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Summerplace Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerplace Guesthouse Madeira/Faja Da Ovelha, Portugal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summerplace Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.