We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel for the slopes and very friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sporthotel St. Christoph

Save Saved
You added Sporthotel St. Christoph to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sporthotel St. Christoph
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Christoph 6, St. Christoph am Arlberg 6580, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Crowhurst
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel for the slopes and very friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have just returned from spending Christmas in the hotel and had a lovely holiday. Ski - in, ski - out is a real bonus.

The hotel is very nice, but fairly basic. It was clean, had hot running water and a great Sauna to ease the aching muscles at the end of the day.

The food was good, with one exception for me, a vegetarian meal that I had one evening when the meat options did not suit, and this was not very nice at all. However, there was plenty of other things to eat. Breakfasts are great, Soup and cake for afternoon tea is available and a five course evening meal, starting with Canapes in the bar. The staff were all very friendly and, just as Klaus the manager said, we felt like family by the end of the week.

Some people moan about anything and I think that Gary R, a previous reviewer, should have given the chef the feedback and he would have listened.

For skiers, St Christoph suffered from lift closures for 2 days of our stay and buses were laid on to get to St Anton. The local ski area was very busy, but Zurs was great, especially after a day of snow and the off piste was open - fantastic. Getting to Zurs or Lech is easy by bus via Stuben and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Third Floor is recommended, apparently the lower floors were a little noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    56
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
60
19
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

In short the food was terrible!! The portion sizes were tiny!! For example one evening I had Chicken with mash potatoes (given the choice of 3 options) I got about a 1/4 or maybe 1/3 of a breast of chicken and it was burnt on the outside!! Chicken can sometimes be dry if it's overcooked and still not look brown on the outside - so who thought that a bit of black chicken was going to be edible? The guy sat next to me at the shared table had lamb, and it was just a (very small) pile of raw grisly fatty mess. Service started at 7.30 - we didn't get our cheese and biscuits till gone 11pm one evening which was a disappointment..............we had got used to it turning up around 10.45!! I could go on about the food at length but I'm sure you get the picture.

The swimming pool is lovely, and towels were provided - but you had to get there early for a towel as they were never checked or replenished and the dirty towel basket emptied!

On the plus side the young staff were eager to please and would get anything you asked for - they just didn't have any direction for what they should be doing, and the manage, Klause, appears very committed to everyone enjoying their stay, I guess the problem lies with some of the heads of departments.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Have just returned from the opening week of the season. This hotel is an exceptional standard for a chalet style hotel. From the moment we arrived, Klaus, the manager ensured we were well looked after. His enthusiasm was in abundance and he worked tirelessly to ensure his huge team of staff provided a consistently high level of service. The staff were hardworking and enthusiastic and a credit to Inghams The hotel is clean,modern and has a great pool. It is literally ski in/out. St Christoph is a tiny hamlet and it's not the place to stay if you want to party the night away. Its also not brilliant for beginners - there are better resorts for first time skiers, however for intermediates and up, it is really easy to access the whole area from there. I would definitely go back to this hotel which represents great value for money in such an exclusive and notoriously expensive area. Well done to Klaus and his team.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

If you're used to Hospiz Alm places which is directly across the road from this hotel, then yes, of course you'll be disappointed but unless you have £12K spare for a week in this part of Austria for a family of four, stop moaning about the Sport Hotel and take your snobby custom elsewhere....this will leave more room for us seasoned skiers who appreciate the slopes first whilst everything else is secondary.

We went in the last week of March and had near-perfect conditions but none of that matters as we're all unable predict weather or similarly, to pat ourselves on the back for choosing a cheaper week with great snow and very few people on the slopes.

Firstly, it's a tough hill for beginners but you will get a greater sense of achievement if you do the full week without stacking it into a snow plough.

Secondly, it is genuine ski to door and genuine ski to lift (all of 40 yards down a very slight slope).

Thirdly, it's a cross between a Chalet and a Hotel so you will inevitably be close to other families for the duration of your stay. Choose your friends wisely.

Fourthly, don't let the name put you off - it is quite possibly the worst sounding hotel name in the Arlberg but again, leave your snob boots at home.

Lastly, we have two small boys who were aged 9 and 7 at the time. They made good friends while they were there and learnt to ski in what is true skiers paradise.

Very lastly, get it booked.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was there earlier this year in a party of 20 and the Hotel completely exceeded all expectations!!

Real "Ski In / Ski Out" Hotel about 20 yes from the first run. Very good rooms, but most of all fantastic 'Inghams, staff who went out of their way to make us all feel welcome. Great food and general catering, wine included - you will find it hard to beat this place!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We booked this trip as a last minute deal to take advantage of the late snow in Austria. We had checked out previous reviews on trip advisor and generally the hotel had scored well and Inghams generally have a good reputation.

Following an early morning flight and very quick transfer we arrived at the hotel about 11am, ready to hit the slopes as we bought the lift pass on the bus. Check in was a bit chaotic as guests were leaving as we were trying to check in, the result being a big bottleneck in the entrance and that only one of the two rooms was immediately available. That wasn't a huge issue for us as we left all our luggage in one room and headed out for the day but I think it would be a nice touch if your luggage was brought in by the staff and left outside your room while you check in (as at Mark Warner).

On our return we expected the second room to be ready but in fact it had been mistakenly taken by another couple and the hotel management didn't exactly help much with the situation. After waiting a further 30 minutes for them to supposedly track down the guests (they were actually in the room!) we offered to swap rooms which was an easy process. Normally the manager would offer a solution as opposed to the other way around!

The welcome meeting was at 6.30 followed by dinner at 7.30 prompt. The restaurant manager Rob had arranged guests into sharing tables which seemed to be fine for the majority of people. Each night except one there were 3 courses as well as appetisers pre dinner and cheese afterwards. Service was very good as was the food and wine though upgrades were available. After the meal most people headed to the bar area/lounge which was a decent enough size though might be a bit squeezed in the height of the season.

No complaints about the rooms or hotel though it was more like a Holiday Inn than a 4 star hotel but the location was ski in ski out with a t-bar right outside. Having stayed in St Anton before I felt St Christoph had better access to the main ski area as well as being less crowded. The rooms were decent size, clean and comfortable with large showers that actually worked but the walls were a bit thin! The hotel had a decent sized swimming pool, sauna as well as table tennis table to keep you amused as well as a sports bar which we didn't find until the last night.

On chalet night out we went out to the Hospiz Alm following a recommendation from the receptionist that it was a good place to eat and the prices were reasonable. That turned out to be completely wrong- the set menu was €110 per person, starters were on average €25 and mains were €30 and upwards. Whilst the food was very good the bill left a bit of a sour taste in our mouth! Saying that it was a very nice place for an après ski drink though as was the bar immediately above it.

Generally speaking though we had a very good week and met some nice people in the hotel. We were surprised to be some of the youngest guests there as we are in our late 30's! All the staff were very friendly but Rob the restaurant manager stood out as someone who was very enthusiastic and passionate about his job and he performed it very well. The same could not be said about the Inghams rep who was a little more elusive though a nice enough guy. We felt he could have been a little better organised about lift passes and more informative about departure times, bus timetables, places to eat etc.

Though I would go back again if there was a good deal, I still think that I prefer the chalet experience as they tend to be a little more intimate. Overall a very good trip though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

My 15 year old daughter and i travelled to this chalet hotel over Easter and were not disappointed in anyway, however I think we had be realistic in what to expect! The holiday represented great value for money, the hotel chalet was like an upmarket hostel. Yes the property was tiered in places, but the bedrooms were clean and a good size, beds were comfy, there was more than enough wardrobe space, hooks for ski jackets etc, plug sockets in all the right places and there was a fridge and room safe.

The staff were absolutely amazing, could not do enough for you and a special mention must go to the kitchen staff the food was exceptional, Rob for his slick organisation of the dining room and our waiting staff Mathew, Luke, and Billy. The Reps were always around and helpful.

The ski area is sensational and the ski in ski out aspect of the hotel a luxury for two girls who do not like to carry there skis far! The boot room is well organised with boot warmers. Hire equipment of a very high standard.

It was fun having a pool and Sauna, and the free wifi .

It was extremely easy getting to St Anton on the bus, and we enjoyed skiing too Stuben where you are able to catch the free shuttle bus to Lech. A total must is to ski the white Ring and there is a fabulous restaurant on the slopes of Lech called Rud Alpe, beautiful food in traditional,surroundings.

Inghams looked after us very well and we would not hesitate in returning - hopefully next year!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sporthotel St. Christoph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel St. Christoph

Address: St. Christoph 6, St. Christoph am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Christoph am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in St. Christoph am Arlberg
Hotel Class:3 star — Sporthotel St. Christoph 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Sporthotel St. Christoph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel St. Christoph Hotel St. Christoph Am Arlberg
Sporthotel St. Christoph Austria/St. Christoph Am Arlberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sporthotel St. Christoph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.