We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My experiece at Hakuna Matata Beach lodgea and Spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chuini Ruins, Bububu, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bububu
1 review
“My experiece at Hakuna Matata Beach lodgea and Spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the lodge for three days with check in on 3rd Aprip 2015 and check out on 6th April 2015. Rooms were clean with all amenities as indicated in their advertisements and meals were excellent. We feel it was worth to pay what we paid and is a place we can consider for a second visit.

Staff was cheerful, kind and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room not closer to the adjacent new hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    78
    14
    14
    9
See reviews for
48
264
31
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this lodge for 7 nights and I must say this place is outstanding. It is situated in a great location, close to Stone Town and has all the amenities expected of a hotel. We had an unfortunate situation on an excursion which required emergency medical attention and both Rose and Fritz did their utmost to take the stress and worries away from us by helping us to re-arrange flights back home and checking on us to make sure we were ok. The food was of a very high standard and the rooms were kept clean on a daily basis. Breakfast always conjured up fresh fruit and there was a great family feel to this place.

A massive thanks to all the team especially the owners, Mohammed and transport, Heike and Vanilla Spice! We will be telling all our friends and families about this place.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great time at the lodge. Good location and food. The service is outstanding. We wanted to watch a football game, which we couldn't watch at the lodge because the provider had technical problems that day. So one of the staff invited us to his house to watch the game. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The bungalows are great. Big comfortable bed. Big bathroom. Great view of the ocean. A/C. Lots of power sockets. Clean. The beach is not the best you will find on Zanzibar but was good enough for us. We had a great time at the lodge. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge and Spa is indeed a little heaven on earth!
Me and my friends, we had an amazing time here, surrounded by the beauty of the nature, the speechless eyesight overlooking the Indian Ocean, right from the balcony of our rooms and not only, very friendly personnel, always ready to assist, plus very tasty food.
It worth all the money, definitely a place to go!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

This was a wonderfully relaxing, family-run, peaceful little hideaway, far from the tourist track of constant nightlife and thrill-seekers. This was a perfect place to put your feet up and let others wait on you. I loved easily accessible spa which was certainly affordable for a daily treatment. I did book once for a massage but when I arrived, my appointment had been taken by someone else. I wasn't unduly put out about it, as I was sunburnt and the therapist suggested I re-book. All excursions and travel arrangements were laid on by the hotel and my favourite was a picnic on a sandbank in the middle of the Indian Ocean. Hotel staff packed us a special gluten-free picnic and we were given the choice of champagne or beer. They sailed us out to the sandbank to do some snorkeling and then laid out a lovely spread for us, sailed off and collected us a few hours later. This was magical. We enjoyed an Africa under the stars dinner on the beach one evening, and a family dinner to say goodbye to the owners who were travelling to Germany for a vacation. The owner prides herself on taking a personal hand with the menu and we were never disappointed. The only negative is that our room was right next to a building site and we were often woken with noise. We tried to take an afternoon nap once and gave up. This was unfortunate as we had escaped our home in Muscat that was, at that time, surrounded by 4 building sites! We had not been able to have a good lie-in for months and was looking forward to some peace and quiet. The beach, too, is a little disappointing. It is fairly rocky and you needed to wear those rock-climbing shoes. But it was lovely for a get-away, no noisy children and a very friendly and welcoming staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view and not on the perimeter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

We were so excited to enjoy our honeymoon at Hakuna Matata and saw it as a once in a lifetime opportunity to stay in a luxurious honeymoon suite. However, when we arrived we were disappointed to find that the suite was overlooked by building work and the hot tub had been removed. We were moved to another cottage but this was not the luxury we had expected (or paid for!) and in fact the drains were really smelly, which was not nice at all.

On the positive side the food was nice and some of the staff were friendly but overall it was not the experience we were expecting and we did not feel it was value for money.

Zanzibar is beautiful but I think there are much much nicer places to stay. I wished we'd paid more attention to the negative reviews on here before we booked.

Room Tip: If you have booked to honeymoon suite, check the status of the building work beforehand, you may wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

That's German managed resort, so they ask you before breakfast to reserve for dinner if you wan't to! And there was no choise at all, only tortelini...! So much about spontanity. Beach is awful, becouse when it's low tide, there is no sea. For nice beach&sea go to the north west of the island. Drinks and coffe are twice the price of other hotels. When we cheque out two ladies in charge paid more attention to their dog, than to me and my husband, so that was the kind of hospitality for the guests who don't go to their massage (50 $) and daily trips. You can get to Prison Island with centuries old turtles from Stone Town for 30 $, hotel arrrangements are far to expensive. Zanzibar is far too expensive for what you get and this hotel is at it's top (for what you get).

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HakunaMatata1, Inhaber at Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2015
We are very sorry the guests are not happy with Hakuna Matata Beach Loge$ Spa
Anyway I want to defend our staff to some comments.
I think there is a problem with language and communication.
The guests are absolute correct - we are not the cheapest Hotel in Zanzibar but for sure we have an excellent value for Money. If somebody is looking for cheap Drinks and Food we are the wrong Resort.
As you can see in most of the comments we are very well know for our fresh and homemade food - we don’t do Tortellini - maybe they ate somewhere else.
Also they are correct we ask BB booked guests during the morning time if they want to join dinner in case we have some Special Events like Beach or Swahili - why not?
Also sure you can go from town in a common boat to Prison Island - if you want this standard everybody is free to do so - we do private tours ( only the ones who booked) for snorkelling, Prison Island etc .
For sure we don’t force someone to go to the massage in our Spa - they just get a voucher for a free Foot Massage each - again I think it´s a communication and language issue.

Maybe we have been the wrong Hotel for their Budget.
We feel sorry for them and it´s a shame they did not complain to us during their stay to give us the chance to help .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa

Address: Chuini Ruins, Bububu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bububu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bububu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa. Located on the west coast of the exotic island Zanzibar under shady age-old mango trees, bordered by a secret private bay you will find our 4 star hotel Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa. Our beach hotel offers 13 comfortable bungalows - all with a spectacular view to of Indian Ocean. The new Villa Zanzibar is the highlight of all bungalows. Weddings and honeymoons - are you are looking for a romantic place to get married under palm trees, on the beach or next to historical palace ruins? Here, your dreams will come true. In our unique Day Spa you may revitalize your body and soul. Enjoy the breathtaking African sunsets. Let your eyes wander to the south, see the skyline of Stone Town, the small Chapwani and Prison Island, and just ahead the silhouette of the African continent. You will feel enchanted. The hotel is managed by the German owners Rose and Fritz. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hakuna Matata Beach Hotel Bububu
Hakuna Matata Beach Bububu
Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa Zanzibar/Bububu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hakuna Matata Beach Lodge & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.