We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QUINTESSENTIAL....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta do Scoto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Quinta do Scoto to your Saves list
Quinta do Scoto
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Rua Dr Teixeira Bastos 18,, Algueirao - Mem Martins 2635-314, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“QUINTESSENTIAL....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

QUINTESSENTIAL is the best way to describe the Quinta do Scoto. Unfortunately, I was only able to spend one very enjoyable night there. Tony and Penny were the perfect innkeepers, so very helpful for the 'lost travellers' and always were there to help with any requests or guidance. The setting inside a protected area (not that one needed it) was so relaxing and the room had all anyone could want. They think of everything!!!

If in Portugal, nearby Lisbon, then you would be foolish not to book in this wonderful Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    22
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
152
169
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed here in Sept 2011. Owners are excellent. They cant do enough for you and are helpful when asked for recommendations but leave you alone when you dont need them. The Quinta is beautiful and sympathetically restored. Clean pool with lots of loungers. Well located in a quiet, non-touristy village, which has a couple of decent local restaurants. Well located for Lisbon and Sintra. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We enjoyed a wonderful week at Quinto do Scoto in September. The B and B came highly recommended by friends and we were not disappointed. Tony, Penny and Charlotte and even the dogs, hens and horses, gave us the warmest of welcomes. We decided, for once, 'to let the train take the strain.' It was great to have a choice of two local stations and to be able to rely on trains to whisk us to our various destinations. Lisbon was a delight, Obidos a treat to visit and Sintra lovely. But, of course, the other tempting option was to relax by the wonderful pool and simply soak up the Portuguese sunshine. Local eateries were great and our kind hosts so helpful. The breakfasts were excellent too! The rooms were super and absolutely spotless. Thoughtful provision of wine and fruit was much appreciated. Thank you for a wonderful and memorable holiday.

Room Tip: choose the one with the giant, enormous bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We are retired Americans, living part of the year in Spain, from where we travel quite a bit, staying in B&B's where we can. Our first stay at Quinta do Scoto a year ago was so delightful that we went out of our way to take some friends there in a recent adventure in Portugal. The beauty and tranquility of the old manor house and the wonderful, enormous bedrooms in the converted stables are only exceeded by Tony and Penny's hospitality. Wonderful location. We can't recommend it more highly and hope we'll find occasion to return with family and friends. Fred and Susan, Seattle, USA, and Salobreña, Spain.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Thank you to Tony, Penny and Charlotte for making our stay at their beautiful Quinta such an enjoyable and happy experience.

The quality of the suites are '5' star - luxurious and beautifully restored with many extras which were much appreciated, especially the wine!

A delicious, relaxing breakfast in comfortable surroundings set us up for the day ahead. The semi-rural location was perfect and after absorbing Tony's advice and knowledge, we were able to take maximum benefit of local visits in and around Lisbon, which is such a fabulous city. To anyone visiting and if you have time, make a trip to Obidos. It was fantastic and wasn't on our to visit list but after Tony's advice I am glad we made the trip.

Thank you also for the free entertainment with the dogs and chickens!

Hope to be back again soon.

Jackie. David

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We had a great family time .Kids loved the dogs, hens , horses and open field . Rooms are hudge and fridge is full of cold drinks and beer.A bottle of local wine in your room makes you welcome. Place to relax after touring all day.Tony and Penny were always full of informations and recomendations for trips and great local restourants at low cost for enormous plate .We visited Lisbon,Sintra, Cabo da Roca ,Cascais and Estoril in short trips from Quinta.We stayed only for two nights and wish we had more time for chat and swim in the pool.Thank you Tony and Penny

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Really enjoyed our 4 night stay in this quiet semi-rural location. The quinta has been beautifully restored by Penny and Tony and the rooms are generous in size and airy. We had no car but it was close enough to the local stations (plus taxis) to easily get to lovely Sintra and Lisbon. Our hosts were always around when you needed them and provided lots of helpful information. Would love to go back.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta do Scoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Scoto

Address: Rua Dr Teixeira Bastos 18,, Algueirao - Mem Martins 2635-314, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Algueirao - Mem Martins
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Algueirao - Mem Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta do Scoto 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Scoto is a very different concept in Bed & Breakfast located close to both Sintra and Lisbon with 8 spacious luxury suites most sleeping up to 6, with en suite bathrooms. Some with separate sitting rooms/2nd bedrooms; furnished with antiques; set around a pool and sun terrace or in the traditional 1746 Manor House. Good access to local typical Portuguese restaurants and public transport; local railway station is a 10 minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quinta do Scoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta do Scoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.