We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Giardino Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Giardino Hotel to your Saves list
Albergo Giardino Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kossuth u. 87, Balatongyorok 8313, Hungary   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Balatongyorok
Auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our stay was charming. This small boutique hotel felt more like a charming B & B, especially as we were the only ones there. We were welcomed in such a friendly manner that it felt like friends arriving home. The room was very comfortable and exceptionally clean. breakfast was fantastic - especially as they had laid it on only for us. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardıffş Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a wonderful 11 day stay at Albergo Giardino with our 20+ daughter who joined us for 6 days. The train journey from Budapest was amazing as the train tracks follow the lake enabling you to admire the stunning scenery! We arrived at Balatongyorok station, right at the lake and 500 meters from the hotel. We were kindly met by the owners who made us feel very welcome. Their hotel is like a private villa with a cosy swimming pool surrounded by roses and other beautiful shrubs and flowers. Every morning, we enjoyed a substantial breakfast on the terrace. We stayed in 2 beautiful rooms opposite each other with balcony and private garden. The walk to the lake was very pleasant as you pass amazing villas, good value restaurants and wine testing cabins! We tried most restaurants but our favourite was definitely Zeppelin where you get a 10% discount as it is virtually opposite Albergo Giardino. The food was outstanding, we had the best mixed grill ever! The menu was varied; we even had goose one day and loved it. The staff were most helpful and very friendly. They offered us complementary Schnapps to celebrate our daughter's birthday. We really loved our holiday in Hungary. We felt there was plenty to do for all of us. We swam in the lake with the swans and went on trips. The proprietors at Albergo Giardino are very friendly,helpful and professional and made our stay memorable. They helped us to organise trips to Heviz (a local town with a thermal lake, 20mn away by bus), to Ketzthely (nearest city, 10 mn by train with lots of museums and an impressive palace). We also took a boat trip to Szigliget where we visited vineyards in a 4x4 vehicle. I would strongly recommend staying at Albergo Giardino!

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones on the ground floor with a private garden. It is best to contact the pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olaine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at this nice place for 3 days in total as a short trip to Balaton lake (travelling by car) and it was really worth!
The owners - a lovely couple - were always here to help you or give any advice you need - whether you think where to go better for sightseeing, or where to eat the most delicious food and try the awesome Hungarian wine :)
We really enjoyed these days. No problem with car parking - just near the house. Very quiet and calm place, delicious and rich breakfast, just some 500 m until the lake.
Special thank you for accepting two our doggy-boys :) They also enjoyed a lot!
Would definitely come back!

Room Tip: we had a room on the first floor and it had a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

While the hotel is not in the hub of tourist activity (actually a plus for us) there are a surprising number of things to do in the area and our hosts were extremely gracious and helpful in making suggestions and pointing us in the right direction. The hotel is very clean and breakfast on the patio was very pleasant. We had a very relaxing three night stay with excellent parking for our motorcycle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Nice place to stay when visiting lake Balaton. The village is quiet, not packed with tourists. Friendly staff, beautiful garden, nice rooms, and the lake only 5 minutes walking away. Breakfast is included.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunbridge wells
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at the Albergo Giardino in September 2011 for 7 nights. It is a friendly family-run hotel in a peaceful location. The family were very helpful and showed us on a map where to go and what there is to see around Lake Balaton. The B&B was very clean and comfortable, our room had a small garden with chairs and table, the windows had a mosquito screen on them. There is a small pool and sunloungers to the back of the buliding, the breakfast area was beautifully surrounded by plants and flowers. The B&B is very close to restaurants and a short walk to the railway and strand.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Stayed here for two nights in july 2010. Can only add to the earlier positive reviews. The couple who runs the hotel are perfectionists in a good sense. Everything is spotless, furniture and rooms all look brand new. They're also very nice and helpful and have made deals with the surrounduíng restaurants that gives you a discount when eating there.

All rooms have a small balcony or a little garden where you can enjoy the outdoors. Splashpool in the backyard is ideal for children or just for a reading a good book in an quiet environment.

On the negative side there is no aircon. and there are mosquitos who wants to get in the rooma as soon as you open the door or window. Also there is no refrigerator or other possibility to get a cold drink since there is no service outher than breakfast. However the positive sides of this B&B more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Giardino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Giardino Hotel

Address: Kossuth u. 87, Balatongyorok 8313, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Western Transdanubia > Zala County > Balatongyorok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Balatongyorok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Albergo Giardino Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giardino is a cosy and friendly hotel with a large terrace opening off the main street of Balatongyörök, a beautiful village on the coast of Lake Balaton. It has 14 rooms ready to accommodate any visitor who is seeking rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Albergo Giardino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Giardino Panzio Balatongyorok
Albergo Giardino Hotel Balatongyorok, Somogy County, Hungary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Giardino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.