We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge to your Saves list
Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Piton Canot, Chamarel, Mauritius   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chamarel
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

What can we say, wot a place, wot a location, what better place to stay and relax. Ignore the very few negative comments. Embrace the Eco ethos, the location, the culture and enjoy. Can't praise Lakaz or the staff enough. Truly truly a wonderful place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    35
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
206
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We spent the first 3 days of our honeymoon at Lakaz Chamarel, and the plan was just to relax in a nice and somehow exclusive place. Therefore, Lakaz Chamarel was perfect for this short period and this purpose. However, if you would like to discover the island, meet mauritian people and eat some typical food, this might not be the ideal place, because one has the feeling to live in an artificial, parallel reality. However, as we did, you can stay there for a couple days and then move on, to a more simple place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Small boutique hotel in lovely grounds - the sea view rooms have a good view (though the pools were chilly - didn't do more than dip my toes in), but overall the site was quite hilly and there isn't a lot to do other than go places, or relax (it's cloudier and cooler here in the South than other parts of the island - I needed a jumper every evening). I would not recommended for people with walking difficulties - even though there were golf buggies to get you around, driven by the staff.

The room itself was nice and comfortable, quiet too, but although we didn't need linen changing much, it didn't get changed or folded up at all in the 4 days we were there which surprised me a bit. Since we had taken the outdoor towels on a trip, they needed changing on the last day but it wasn't noticed :-( Outdoor shower was quite cool, also private and nice to get the welcome homemade shower oil, but as the evenings were cold it was a quick affair!

Food was nice, but there is not loads of it, also note that if you want anything not on the standard set menu at dinner times, you need to order in advance. There's an option to add to full-board - from half-board but you can just order lunch instead and pay - sadly anything you want you had to pay for - i.e. water, also they had a nice coffee machine in your room, but you had to pay per coffee pod you used - and there was no fresh milk - just creamer sachets - so we borrowed from the restaurant.

It's remote, which is nice, however it means that a taxi ride is required to go to anywhere except the one restaurant near the entrance.

Would recommend the massage - price for this was pretty reasonable!

Since the weather wasn't great, relaxing around the pool area wasn't ideal so recommend while you are in this region you go dolphin swimming - the team can organise it direct for you which is cheaper than booking via any travel agent (BUT it's very early in the morning) - and includes a lunch on the island you can see from your balcony.

Staff at the hotel are nice, but I found them not as welcoming as they could have been. Jaseen was our favourite as he has a sense of humour, but I found some of them a little grumpy at times.

Lastly - since there's a lot of greenery, ensure you put on the mozzie spray - I got nibbled quite a bit a couple of evenings.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms (and the royal villa) are furthest from the restaurant area (so longest climb after d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakaz, General Manager at Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear valuable Guest,
Many thanks to have express your opinion regarding your stay that regretfully isn't so enthousiastic comparing of our others below reviews, proudly rating us current "9th best hotel of Mauritius" (among 171 properties) registered on Tripadvisor.

In our constant concern of your satisfaction and excellence in services provided to our guests, we deeply regret that you didn't express your personal feelings and thoughts as above mentionned during your stay to anyone of our staff (including myself daily present at the Lodge and who personnaly do constantly care of all of our guests) even if some unconveniences as few cloudy days weather condition will be always unfortunately out of our seasonal control.

As you discovered and enjoyed in some parts, since its re-opening in october 2011, Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge is now the first Mauritian 4* green ecological hotel concept in a tropical island nature (newly member of international Green Globe organisation), providing 7 rooms and 13 suites (seaviews & garden pools), independently sheltered units in a large 12 acres property at 400m height, near typical preserved village of Chamarel, just a few kilometers from famous 7 couloured Earth remarquable site and waterfall, by the Black River Gorges National Park.

Concept of lodging in quiet nature for a few days has been create to help our visitors to disconnect with stressful modern life by slowly reconnecting from inside with nature and wonderful peaceful life experience that is just around us all, when one can see it.

Concerning your Seaview pool suite, in order to save precious water, which is a major concern on an island, indeed we change linen generally after 3 or 4 days of stay but could have been done upon your simple request as well as towels when left on ground floor (as a sign), then automatically renewed as usualy explain upon room arrival and also mentionned in the welcome directory.
Open-air bathrooms with private outside shower under the sky (or stars...) are really a must to experience and promote by daily guests satisfaction.
As an Ecological Lodge, we cannot heat pools that would use a lot of electrical energy that we daily try to reduce for helping to preserve our fragile environnement.
Although we encourage our guests to rediscover the benefits of walking, transportation in the domain for Seaview pool residents is also provided by golf cars, anytime upon request avoiding night walk after dinner, as surpringly mentionned in your comment.

Also please note, that in order to keep our room rates as lowest as possible (and succeed not to increase our rates for second year, remaining still around 30% off the market), we are in the obligation to charge common extra services such as Mini-bar, Nespresso machine but instant coffee and tea bags are complimentary.

On Half-Board basis, our Restaurant is providing large morning English & continental breakfast buffet, while fine Dinner with daily suggestion from our Mauritian talented Chef Nicholas is consisting in 2 different choices of starters, 2 main courses and dessert.
On supplement, there is an "A la Carte" Menu (never need to book in advance except for lobsters, indian and chinese special menu) proposing a variety of dishes including fresh mauritian fishes, local deer and wild pork etc.

Overall, we are very pleased that you've found helpful and friendly our mauritian local staff (almost all from Chamarel village) despite a mood observation attitude that, rest assure, shall be rectify.
And despite your mixed experience, we do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in our beautiful green south-west Mauritius Lodge and wishing you all the best for the future.
Kind & warm regards,
Mr Alexandre Avakumovic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

A very good and lovely place, we spent 4 days in Lakaz and 6 in 20 degrees south.
The combination of these two hostels is awesome. Food, activities, services and location were perfect.
I really recomend mauritius island and these two fabulous place.
Thanks Waren, Alexander and Anne.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Had a lovely four night stay in this wonderful haven. It was the perfect stay to our time in Mauritius and we felt really relaxed. All the other recent reviews are definitely spot on.
Very friendly staff who are there to truly help. Warren is just great, he promoted the hotel as a home and that is definitely the feeling you get.
The grounds are tranquil and beautifully laid out but beware that it is situated in a deep valley and therefore some of the paths can be a little tricky especially at night were some of the lighting can lead to some dark areas. Take some good shoes.
We went in September which is at the end of the Mauritian winter and being so high the evenings could be chilly.
Great location for visiting the South West corner of the Island with it's many attractions close by. The roads are windy and some of the taxi drivers need to be reminded if you are subject to motion sickness.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We arrived from the cacophony in Mumbai to this stillness at Lakaz, what a wonderful start to a holiday...
It might seem the most unlikely place to go, up to the hills while in Mauritius which is so much of a beach destination but am so glad we decided on going to Chamarel.
Lakaz is a charming place and grows on you. You keep discovering things around the place.Beautiful gardens and view points overlooking the lagoon. Massages and beach trips , walks around the place.
The village around is quaint and you can go on walks, take the bicycles out or go on a day trip to nearby Le Morne and other beaches or Port Louis for some retail therapy!
The rooms are wonderful , each done uniquely. We stayed at the Dame Creole room and absolutely loved it! Specially the plunge pool with bath salts.
The breakfast has some lovely homemade crepes,bread and made to order eggs.
The dinner is an experience with lovely set menus by the chef.
The staff headed by Warren are very friendly, attentive and quite helpful.
Special mention about the spa. It is a must do here.Wonderful treatments and therapists, Emma and Alize.
Would love to go back to just relax and enjoy the slow paced life.
So happy to have discovered this piece of heaven....

Room Tip: Look at taking one of the sea view suites or garden suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel in the mountains is only 15 minutes from the beach so don't worry if you want sea and sand - they will run you down and pick you up from it at any time. What it has is the sounds of nature and peace and quiet - a great place to chill. Very friendly staff led by Warren. We were upgraded to the Reshma suite overlooking the lake with a private pool area and outside shower. Just watch out for mosquitos!!! Try the Miss Molly in My Bed red wine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge

Address: Piton Canot, Chamarel, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Chamarel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chamarel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge is a small „boutique lodge‟, managed like a Guesthouse but with the full service of a 5* hotel! Unique and refined in the heart of a splendid tropical garden of twelve hectares, surrounded by the mountains of Chamarel, Lakaz Chamarel is a pearl among the top hotels of the destination which guarantees exclusivity and serenity to nature and green tourism lovers in a warmt and harmonious decor, and with a refined local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakaz Chamarel Hotel Chamarel
Lakaz Hotel Chamarel
Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.