We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Rocher

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Rocher to your Saves list
Le Rocher
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route Ramey, 11020 Champoluc, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Champoluc
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Visited here between Xmas and New Year on a ski trip. The hotel staff are helpful, friendly and excellent. Stayed on half board. Good selection of cold breakfast buffet for breakfast with super fresh coffee and fresh croissants. You order dinner at breakfast. Dinner is traditional Italian hearty food which we really enjoyed. There is a spread of anti pasti to get you started as soon as you go in. Sweet consisted of home made baking cakes etc.
The hotel is in a very quiet part of the valley. It is 10 minutes walk to the town though there is a mini bus to the ski lifts in the morning and ski deposit at the uplift.
The hotel itself is new and very clean. Good Wellness Centre as well.

Room Tip: We had a triple room which had an upstairs and downstairs which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    15
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We spent an amazing 5 days at Le Rocher Hotel in Champoluc, in April 2011. The hotel itself is beautiful, nicely decorated, the bar area was very cosy with a fire going every evening and the decor didnt feel at all tired or old. Our room was nice, our balcony overlooked the mountains which was an amazing view. There was a spa in the hotel which was available for use from 4pm everyday which was very welcomed after a days skiing!

The location of Le Rocher was good - there were buses running to the ski lifts, but we didn't use these once as the walk is only 10 minutes and through a very pretty forest.

The food in the hotel was absolutely amazing! We were on half-board, and i have never had such good half board food on any other holiday. We were given a menu at breakfast for what we would like that evening - which a choice of three dishes for each of three courses. The food was delicious and every night we were completely stuff!

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and spoke great English. They helped in anyway they could, even finding me a blackberry charger when I ran out of phone battery! On our last day our taxi collected us at 6am (too early for the restaurant to be open), so the owner of the hotel left us a breakfast in the bar area which included pastries, cereals and flasks of tea and coffee. It was the best service i have had in a hotel for a long time.

The only slight downside is that the hotel was quiet (one night we were the only people there!) however we went at the VERY end of the ski season (while lifts were closing) and I have no doubt that in peak season this would be heaving with people. We are both 26 so like a nice lively place! This has not put us off at all, and would like to return next year (maybe a bit earlier in the year).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

We had our fifth stay at this hotel this February. Le Rocher is a relaxed, quiet hotel with lovely owners Giulio and Lotta. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the shower rooms are sparklingly clean! The staff are pleasant and quiet and thorough.
Dinner is great with a buffet of starters followed by two courses ordered in the morning at breakfast. The buffet means that hungry kids can graze from their arrival. Really lovely wine list too. Pudding is something gorgeous like a tiramisu or nuts and fruit and cheese. The restau was particularly good during our visit and there was a really nice St Valentine's dinner with wonderful flowers and decorations. Staff are really fab about food probs as I have to avoid some food groups and this can be a pain.
Although dinner is included, you can arrange to go elsewhere if you give advance notice.
There is a bar with woodburning stove, perfect for relaxing. There is a nearby tv where you can play dvds and various games and packs of cards. I have watched my sons sitting playing cards with friends met over dinner.
The hotel attracts really nice guests, Italians and Swedes to mirror the owners nationalities but is also used by companies like ski 2 and one of my favourite things about staying there is that I have met really nice and interesting people.
You can get a lift to the slopes but there is a short but scenic walk through the woods past some wonderful wood carvings.
G&L make the stay very simple and can arrange pick up from the airport, ski hire and advise about ski passes. They are so lovely and make you feel very welcome. There is a spa but I'm not a spa person so not a clue!
I love the skiing, the views and the mountainside restaus. I love that people in the village always remember you too.
Very laid back and charming, I love it and so do my kids and my husband.

Room Tip: great for an independent ski trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Many things seemed to have changed when I compare with a review from 2009! The rooms have hairdryers, no lack of towels, we got new soaps etc. A very nice spa with 2 sorts of sauna, a bubble pool and comfortable chairs where you could relax. Every dinner started with a delicious buffet with antipasti and then there were several choices for first and second courses. The only complaints were that the beds are a little bit hard and you have to be aware that the hotel is located outside Champoluc but it is only about a 10 minutes walk to town. The advantage is that it is very quiet in the night. The staff drives you every morning to the ski lift and when you call in the afternoon they turned up after a few minutes to pick you up and drive you back to the hotel! A very nice bar with an open fire at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

The first impressions were really good. Hotel looks really good and new, rooms are quite small (italian standard I think) but very clean and each room as their own balcony, the spa with hamam and jaccuzzi is really nice and the owner was nice. There is a free garage for parking. The location is beautiful with a nice view but a bit more off than you get the impression of from the website. It is located outside Champoluc (it takes 10-20 minutes to walk into Champoluc either through a walkway through the forrest, which took longer due to the amount of wet snow there, or along a dark road). We had a rental car but sometimes wanted to enjoy good wine so did not take the car. There is a shuttle bus one hour in the morning and an hour in the afternoon to the ski lifts, which we did not use.

However, soon the lack of many small things (each one of them could have been acceptable if it had been the only flaw) made our stay a less good one. Most of these things should be possible to fix quite easily, so this hotel definitely has potential: There is no real hairdryer even to borrow (only the worst possible kind they have in some hotels, which takes an hour for you hair to dry), there was no iron or ironing board to borrow, we did not receive any more soap or schampoo after the first day when it was finished (we stayed for more than a week), there were almost never any towels in the spa (when asked for some, we were told to get our towels from the room...), towels did not dry in our room due to some problems with heating in our bathroom, you could not get anything at all (no sandwiches, snacks) to eat after you got back from skiing, you were not allowed to choose a table in the restaurant for breakfast even though most of the tables were free, and there were no chairs on the room balcony to enjoy the afternoon sun and the nice view. It is also very noisy: The wooden floors in the corridors are really nice, but without some kind of mats, we heard every single person in our corridor and above us going to and from their rooms (we are not early birds and are not the first ones in the slopes in the mornings...) We also heard chairs being moved from the restaurant two floors below us. The service we received was really bad. You get the impression that some of the employees really did not want to do what they were there for (but rather go skiing themselves.) You felt you were bothering them by asking for something. On our last day, we slept in and arrived at breakfast at 09.40 am (breakfast is supposed to be served until 10 am) and found that the breakfast buffet had been completely removed and when we asked, the waiter asked us what time it was. When we told him he got some of the food for us but was apparently annoyed.

We also tried out the hotel restaurant one night, and event though the price was ok, we were not very impressed. There are several resataurants in the area that can offer considerably better food, service and ambience.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Rocher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Rocher

Address: Route Ramey, 11020 Champoluc, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Champoluc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Champoluc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Rocher 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Le Rocher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Rocher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.