We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Des Glaciers Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Des Glaciers Hotel to your Saves list
Relais Des Glaciers Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route G.B. Dondeinaz, 11020 Champoluc, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Champoluc
North Yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013. The quality of the rooms together with the helpfulness of the staff made for a great skiing holiday. Whilst it was some way to the lifts we were always able to use the hotel minibus. Will be going back next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    43
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
55
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights at the beginning of February, and it was a fantastic base for a wonderful weeks skiing in Champoluc. It isn't a luxurious hotel, although there is a spa with sauna, steam room, aromatic shower, hot tub and an outdoor hot tub which is lovely after a hard day on the slopes. Instead, it is a cozy, traditional hotel that has excellent service - every waitress, bartender ect. couldn't do enough to help you, and is overall very warm and family friendly. The breakfast is very good with a wide range of things to choose from - crossiants, youghurts, cereals etc as well as a juice machine to make your own orange juice. Each night you sit down for a four course supper which is fantastic! The rooms are small but have Sky TV with english as an option. The bathroom was fine - shower a bit small. The Relais was well located - only a 10 minute walk from the ski diposit - we went with Ski 2 who were absolutely brilliant! If you are thinking of jetting of to Champoluc, make sure you go with them! The only downside to the hotel was the karaoke evenings - terrible Italian singer who mumbled away in the bar, and the inconsistent internet access - very annoying when trying to check emails from work etc.
In conclusion, if you're looking for a 4 star hotel with friendly service, gastronomy and good facilities then try the Relais!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 16 nights at the Relais Glacier with my wife and almost three year old at the end of January and start of February.

1. The food is great! Better get lots of skiing in otherwise you'll be leaving a lot heavier.
2. VERY family friendly, warm and accomadating.
3. Great FREE spa facilities, just what you need after a hard day on the slopes, saunas, jacuzzis, heated pools, baths...
4. Excellent service, whether in the restaurant, reception or bar, very friendly nothing is too much attitude.
5. Location very central with plenty of parking
6. Rooms totally fine and warmly furnished.

The only knocks against the hotel was the completely inconsistent internet access, wi-fi signal great but the internet coming in was sketchy something that in our totally wired world is a must. To their credit they were on the case and during our stay saw the technician at least three times looking for the problem. Also, specifically ask for a bathtub if that's what you wish which for a baby is a must, (they did provide a mini-tub for us).

In conclusion, if you're looking for a solid 4 star with great service, gastronomy and facilities, (not luxury, but super-cozy), then look no further than this hotel. Although we didn't use them this time, Ski-2 uses this hotel and all their clients we met during our stay spoke very highly of them and the hotel. Will definetely being staying hear again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Excellent food and service! We stayed for a week and the menues were great every evening. THe breakfast buffet is plenty with freshly baked pastry from the hotel bakery.

The hotel is by the church, and the lift is in the top of the village so it is a short walk (good warmup) but the hotel has a ski&boots deposit just by the lift.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heerlen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We choose this year Champoluc as base camp for a week father-son mountainering. The Relais Des Glacier Hotel fulfilled all our wishes. Nice room, excellent kitchen, after mountain swimming pool and most important a friendly and attending staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during our ski holiday inJanuary and really enjoyed it. We really liked the location even though it was about a 7 minute walk to the gondola as we kept our boots and skis in the ski shop all week ( a card was given to us by the hotel and it was free). We enjoyed the food and there was just a couple of things all week that weren't to our taste, but otherwise the selection was very good. The spa area was beautiful with an amazing outdoor hot tub and we used the facilities every night. The apres is very quiet here although we met up with some people staying in another hotel and we made our own apres ski! Our room was on the front of the hotel and a good size although we did speak to someone else and their room was on the back of the hotel and smaller, although they did have balcony.The TV was disappointing though as the only thing in English was the BBC or SKY news.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel as they seem bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We last stayed here in Jan 2010. Last year we stayed in the Castor, which we were really impressed with. We stayed with our two preschool children, and our friends with their two preschool children. The staff were extremely friendly, and bent over backwards to accomodate the children's meals and to make them happy.


We stayed in the same mezzanine room that we had done before, which is really spaciousOne downside of the rooms is that they are VERY dark. The lighting could be a lot better.The food is pretty much on a par with the Castor, we felt overall that the pasta dishes were better in the Castor last year. The Relais has the advantage of the AMAZING hottub/swimming pool outside, and a spa. The kids just loved it! The website photos don't do it justice at all.

Room Tip: 306 or 208 are the mezzanine rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Des Glaciers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Des Glaciers Hotel

Address: Route G.B. Dondeinaz, 11020 Champoluc, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Champoluc
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Champoluc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Des Glaciers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Relais Des Glaciers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Des Glaciers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.