We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pretty grounds :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Last Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Karamea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Last Resort
71 Waverley Street | PO Box 42, Karamea, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Karamea
herndon, va
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“very pretty grounds :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

the grounds are lovely and are a relatively quick/easy drive from the oparara and moria gate arches (i highly recommend the oparara arch walk).
if your gas tank is not full, you can get gas at the nearby gas station before you head up the arches or back down the coast.
TIP: be sure to leave plenty of time (at least 24 hours) for the staff to respond if your primary mode of communication is email (emailing is likely for international travelers since the last resort's 800 number is for NZ only).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    27
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
14
34
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had intended on staying only one night during Easter 2013. However we stayed for two as there is plenty to do and see. We selecting a simple studio unit that was a request from my better half Violet and this room was okay for cleanliness and comfort but no mirror, not anywhere. The staff while not rude are in urgent need of some simple training in hospitality and the restaurant menu left me cold, so except for breakfast we ate elsewhere. Breakfast, well if you like stale bread for you toast then you may find something nice to say and so on our second morning we had breakfast elsewhere.
The price we paid for our two nights and one breakfast ($225.00) was well if you compared the same thing in another like place, exorbitant. Remember this is a simple unit we stayed in, except for the shower and toilet, no facilities and the room was tired looking with the toilet/shower floor beginning to peal away from the walls.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very pleasant accommodation. We stayed in the budget rooms - but they were really like lovely wee hotel rooms - just without the bathroom. The shared bathroom facilities are very handy anyway. Extremely friendly and helpful staff (as you would expect on the west coast). Dinning was quite good - although did lack a bit of atmosphere to be honest. Food was good - and nice to have a these facilities on site. A great base to explore the incredibly scenic top of the west coast. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our studio was clean and tidy with plenty of room. Bathroom and shower was large but no mirror in bathroom. A very quiet place to stay. We had drinks in the bar after a meal elsewhere and the staff were friendly and obliging.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a studio which had a fridge, kettle and toaster but no hot plates but everything was very clean and in good condition. The bathroom was excellent and the room was a good size. We ate in the main building and had a very good meal. There was lots to do in the area and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were let down by our original private holiday booking accommodation so arrived at The Last Resort tired and cross. We were given one of their three two bedroomed chalets which we found to be very roomy with a small kitchen area but large bathroom, with a separate toilet and good sized patio area. What was nice is that you had the option to not have your room cleaned every day . . . And the windows were mirrored so giving you more privacy. Karamea is quiet and peaceful but plenty to do, just be aware of the very nasty sand flies!

Room Tip: Sorry there was no pool but can't zero rating . . . Room 31 is furthest from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

After completing the Heaphy Track we were booked into the Karamea Village Hotel but to our shock and horror discovered they were having a very large family 21st party. They should have warned us but totally understood (no charge) when we moved on to The Last Resort. We found excellent, very clean units and the food was quite reasonable. The main building very interesting and grounds were well kept and nice to sit and eat breakfast in. We wandered around Karamea which is very spread out and small, finding a couple of interesting shops to spend an hour or 2 browsing in. You do only visit here if you are into hiking and other outdoor activities.

Room Tip: They seemed to be all quiet and set back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Last Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Last Resort

Address: 71 Waverley Street | PO Box 42, Karamea, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Karamea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Karamea
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Resort was hand built by entrepreneurial locals and first opened for business in 1992. The complex offers a range of accommodation options, restaurant and bar facilities. Make this "very special place" your base when exploring Karamea, the Oparara Basin, the Kahurangi National Park and the Heaphy and Whangapeka Tracks. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Last Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Last Resort to your Saves list