We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Easter Break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marlie Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Romney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marlie Holiday Park
Save
You added Marlie Holiday Park to your Saves list
Dymchurch Road, New Romney TN28 8UE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cheap Easter Break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here Monday - Friday with my 2 children aged 7 & 8 during the easter holidays .We stayed in a silver lodge. I left with mixed feelings about this holiday park .
ACCOMODATION - was clean and warm . Kitchen well equipped but lacked cupboard space to put food / bottles / jars etc . Bathroom window glass was not just broken but smashed to peices and covered up with bin liner - maybe could been mentioned when booking in. Kettle and gas hob tempermental and to top it all EVERY time we used the hob or oven the smoke alarm went off as it was placed directly above the oven !! The children also found a pair of childrens knickers drying on the radiator which amused them no end .
PARK - Quiet . No late night noise or large groups of people . Felt safe letting my chidren play out . On site security .
POOL - Clean and warm . Given a wrist band on arrival to pool so that during busy periods you are in there for an alloted amount of time only ( approx 45 mins - 1 hour ) . Changing room floor was freeeezzing . 2 lifeguards at all times . I could see that during the summer the pool maybe too small to accomodate all the guests .
FOOD - couldn't comment on the food as we didnt eat out . Menu varied and cheap .
ENTERTAINMENT - Early evening entertainment repetitive . Bingo and more bingo . All the live bands / vocalists appears to happen on a Saturday night .
STAFF - All very polite and helpful . Especially in the reception / shop .
ON SITE ACTIVITY - Small climbing frame with slide . Crazy golf and go karting ( all at a cost ) . Amusements and slot machines within the stable bar .
SURROUNDING AREA - Supermarket 5 mins drive away . Nice beaches St Marys Bay and Dymchurch . Port Lympne Wildlife Park . Light Railway Steam Train .
All in all an ok week . Probably wouldnt go back .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Marlie Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Marlie Holiday Park. I was sorry to read that you have a mixed feeling about your stay however I would just like to assure you that as we are always looking to improve our service, we are currently looking into the points you have raised and we will look into any changes that we feel will be necessary. Thank you again for taking the time to review our Holiday park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    68
    28
    29
    25
See reviews for
91
30
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night break here with my partner and teenage son. We used this for the use of the mobile home as it was a base for places of interest we wanted to visit within a 45 minute (approx) drive. We booked a 6 berth silver grade home. The single beds are very narrow 2' 6", so having the option to have pull out seating in the living room area for a bigger sleeping space for my son was quite important to me. It wasn't to him, he just pushed the 2 single beds together and slept like a log!
The mobile home was spotlessly clean, kitchen very well equipped, plenty of storage space and lots of hot water for showers. The heating in the living area and bedrooms was more than adequate and we we toasty warm in the evenings.
We did book the breakfasts in advance online to eat in the Stable Bar area. We arrived just before 9 am and it was closed, we thought we were too late, in fact we were too early! Breakfast starts at 9 am. What you get is what you pay for, simple really. Not great produce used, but for £4-00 per adult (price paid in advance) you really should not expect anything more. it was OK for us, we didn't have high expectations and choose to spend our money on better quality meals out.
We did not use the swimming pool, (never even looked), same for the play area, as our son is now too old! Evening entertainment wouldn't have been to our taste, but we didn't come for that, and were happy after long days out to have a glass of wine in or two in the mobile home before an early'ish night
Price for our 3 night stay including 3 adult breakfasts for 3 mornings, £104-00.

Marlie Holiday Park, New Romney

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Marlie Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for you kind comments regarding your stay, I was please to hear your accommodation was to your satisfaction as well as the park itself. I was surprised to read you didn’t believe our food produce to be of a high standard as we do try to ensure our food is prepared and serve to a good standard. We hope to see you all again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed Friday to Monday in a bronze caravan ( as we took the dog!!!)
The caravan was very clean & well equipped. It was really cold through the night though! ( No heating in a bronze caravan), The lady on reception managed to sort out some extra quilts for us.
All the staff were really friendly and helpful.

We took the steam train into dymchurch ( the dog was allowed on it for £1)!

The kids enjoyed the pool, bouncy castle and go-karts.

There's a shop on site & sainsburys just up the road. We cooked in the caravan and had a takeaway delivered one night.

All in all a nice place to visit, we'll be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Marlie Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Marlie Holiday park, we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities on park and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at Marlie Farm for the easter holidays with my 2 young children and had a really good time, the amusement rides were brilliant the kids loved it! The stay was fantastic from start to finish we will definatley be returining.

Room Tip: Definatley pay the extra to upgrade, gold vans are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Marlie Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay we hope to see you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed with my husband and 2 children. Amazing place. Very well run. Beautiful surroundings. Staff were very helpful and obliging. Stayed in a lodge which was spacious and clean. Had the best week. Swimming pool was spotlessly clean and lovely and new. Would definately be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Marlie Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at Marlie Holiday park I will pass on your comments to the team and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Well what can i say Stayed here for the weekend and very much enjoyed it! The park is beautiful, Lady on reception who I believe was called Laura was faultless and couldn't have assisted us anymore! Kids loved it, and it's a beautiful area will most certainly be returning :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Marlie Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for you comments I have passed on your nice comments to Laura whom is very grateful. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I went here for a long weekend with my mum and 2 year old son and we had a great time, we went over the last weekend so it was quite cold, wet and windy. The caravan was a little cold, but there were extra duvets so we could keep warm. The entertainers were great, they included my little boy in all the activities and he even won a prize! They got out the face paints as we were saying that we would love to see our boy have his face painted. All the staff were very helpful and very friendly!

They also included us in the activities and made it a fun time for all. We had the very basic caravan, but even so it was still good, there was plenty of bedding and utensils etc.

We went during a quiet time and had easy access to the swimming pool, the water was fine but the floor in the changing rooms were very cold! Just need some extra mesh / plastic covering. There were 3 + little play areas, we were right next to a slide / climbing area, there was also one near the reception and I saw one at a different side of the park. There was crazy golf and if the weather had of been nicer there would have been bouncy castles etc put up.

The negatives: The duvets could do with being replaced and as said the floor in the changing room was very cold, though this could be fixed easily. Would be nice if the caravans were warmed up before arrival. The beds were a bit uncomfortable but I didn't expect them to be luxury. The arcade machines seemed to be a bit mis-functional and we had to get help a couple times - but the staff were quick to address any issues and resolve them efficiently.

The highlight was definitely the staff, and especially the entertainment staff!!! (Thanks Matt, Simon, Loopy and Syril!). The themed loopy/syril gifts available were very affordable as well, we got a t-shirt, rucksack, socks, hat and torch for under £20!!

Room Tip: The caravans in the bull ring area have parking and are right next to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Marlie Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay, I was so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and have passed on your kind comments to Loopy, Cyril, Matt and Simon.
I have made a note of the negative points that you have raised and as we are always looking to improve our service we will look into these and see what changes can be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marlie Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlie Holiday Park

Address: Dymchurch Road, New Romney TN28 8UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > New Romney
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in New Romney
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlie enjoys a countryside location yet is just a short drive from the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marlie Holiday Park New Romney, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlie Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.