We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, friendly and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Am See

Hotel Am See

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Hotel Am See
Uferstrasse 1, Hard 6971, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hard
Berne
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Modern, friendly and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

There are only two negative things one can say about this hotel, so let's get those over and done with. The position is not entirely "am See" - the lake is virtually out of sight - but the situation is quiet and convenient (with easy access to walks in the lakeside area and a Kneipp-bath in the stream flowing through the grounds). And the bathroom, in its desire to be modern and integrated, lacks privacy and, however hard one tries, the shower floods the adjacent floor.

That said, the whole place exudes friendliness and excellence. The reception is friendly and helpful (the receptionist accompanied us to our room and ensured we knew how the lighting etc worked). The rooms are well appointed - light and fairly spacious (excellent workspace for a computer, free and efficient Wifi, though two armchairs rather than a sofa would have made watching TV easier). The bed was extremely comfortable and the other amenities in the room impressive (clever storage space, iPad charger in safe, etc).

The breakfast buffet was generous and the staff attentive. The food had clearly been freshly prepared, and was topped up regularly. There was plenty of choice, hot, cold, sweet, savoury. On the two (weekend) mornings we were there, many tables were occupied by non-residents who were obviously attracted by the copious buffet. The hotel does not serve dinner, but refers guests to the excellent Gasthof Käth'r next door, with which it has links (one can sign for one's meals there and have them put on the hotel bill).

We travelled using a Bocco card, so the hotel was excellent value for money, but even at full price it would have merited consideration. We travelled by public transport - the hotel is only a short walk from the bus stop connecting with the trains in Bregenz or Lustenau.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have a lake "view" and are probably quieter (though noise is not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
1
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

In a town of so many quaint, old structures, the Hotel am See appears to be a bit out of place as it is a bronze cube only a short 5 minute walk from the lake. Nevertheless, it is a modern building that is very well appointed, clean and quiet. The staff is exceedingly helpful and courteous, and the abundant buffet breakfast was more than I could have wished for. This is a hotel that I would definitely recommend to my friends and coworkers. It will be my only choice for future visits to this area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed for only one weekend night. Appears to be a new hotel - rooms have all the basic. Breakfast was great and plentiful.
Service was good (especially at the breakfast) except that we had the experience with one staff member at the reception who guided us into the wrong direction for public bus - in the end we took our car to go to Bregenz (which was the better choice anyway as the bus does not run frequently)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed there on business purposes for 1 night.

The hotel and the rooms are very modern and stylish. The bathroom / toilet via glass walls visually integrated into the room, from the shower you have view outside over the balcony.

Service very good. The lady at the reception remembered my name during my stay, and accompanied me the whole way to my room twice, once when i arrived and second, when i asked for wellnes bathrobe and carried two bags....

Breakfast buffet style, everything you are used to in typical good business hotels, warm & cold.

Wellness area was nice and clean: Sauna, Steamroom, infraredcabin and a small gym.. lots of towels available

Only a bit dissapointing: When booking a hotel with the name "Hotel am See", i expect beeing located directly on the lake with nice view on the water.. This was not the case, i had view on another house and at two buildings that were just built. The hotel is close to the lake but not directly...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am See

Address: Uferstrasse 1, Hard 6971, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Hard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Am See, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Am See to your Saves list