We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, chill and really good people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lazy Turtle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Penitas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lazy Turtle
Save
You added The Lazy Turtle to your Saves list
Main St | Tidal Bay Road, Las Penitas, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Las Penitas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun, chill and really good people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for two nights, but we became fast friends with Val, Ryan and everyone else that was hanging out at the Lazy Turtle.

The service was incredible. Val and Ryan hooked us up with a boat ride through the mangroves, care of local fisherman/entrepreneur Frankie, to a nearby private beach. She packed us some tasty food, cold beers and we had an amazing, romantic day on our own playa privado.

We were really sad to leave. We loved these guys.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valryan, Owner at The Lazy Turtle, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hey Josh, thanks for the awesome review! This made me really miss you guys. Hope this finds you well. Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
35
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Ryan and Val rock hard! Highly conversational, merry, grateful to be alive couple that remind you life's for living and not a one track railroad of drudgery. Great tunes and views of the moonlight endowed water. Go Lazy Turtle!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ione
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

First, Ryan and Val (And Annique) are wonderful. Easy to be around, fun to talk to. They fill a much needed void in the Las Penitas resteraunt/hotel "scene." A cut above most of the others without being pretentious. Last night I had the Stuffed Peppers, the very ones picture on their profile and they were as delicious as they look. Wonderful place to eat, stay, hang out and chat.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We made the mistake of checking into a soulless hotel 5 minutes walk from here and only stumbled along this place in time for dinner. The food was great, especially the burgers, service was good and the owners showed us around the cabins out back. New, clean and seemed quite good value. I'd definitely stay here if i went to las penitas again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Val and Ryan are super good hosts and treat everyone like family. The rooms are large and amazingly cool even though Las Penitas can be very hot. The food is excellent and the bar is hopping. I will recommend this place to all our friends

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have been here twice now and we can't say enough about the service, food, and amazing atmosphere. The owners, Val and Ryan, treat you like family. The rooms are extremely clean and spacious. The food is also incredible, nice sized portions and made from scratch with love. We have already recommended it to friends and family and will be sad to leave... but it gives an excuse to head back to Nicaragua!

Room Tip: Book ahead, they fill up quickly!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valryan, Owner at The Lazy Turtle, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
thanks for the great review! We certainly take pride and attention to our food. Cant wait to see you again! Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My girlfriend, brother and a group of other travelling friends have just finished a few days in Las Peñitas.

The Lazy Turtle has the best and most relaxing atmosphere as well as a an incredible range of food... and believe me we tried almost everything. Epic breakfasts as well as nice dinner options.

The fruit smoothies are an absolute MUST on a hot Nicaraguan day after surfing, kayaking or fishing.

The new owners are incredible and treated us like family, go find out for yourselves.

Mark, Mandy & Craig
(New Zealand)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lazy Turtle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lazy Turtle

Address: Main St | Tidal Bay Road, Las Penitas, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Las Penitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Las Penitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lazy Turtle is a funky little joint located in the tidal bay of Las Penitas. We have 4 private cabins and food and beverage services. If coming by taxi you can let the driver know that we are near (cerca) Barca de Oro. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lazy Turtle Nicaragua/Las Penitas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lazy Turtle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.