We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - Shocked at the Previous Ratings” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Barca de Oro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostal Barca de Oro to your Saves list
Hostal Barca de Oro
Fte a la Bocana, Las Penitas, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Las Penitas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Eugene
1 review
“Wow - Shocked at the Previous Ratings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The reason why this might be one of the best places in Las Penitas is because there are only a handful of places in this small town. But like some of the previous comments, I am absolutely shocked that this is the best option in Las Penitas.

Where to start?

I stayed here during Semana Santa, which was a bad idea in the first place, and rates were nearly doubled in the 40-50$ range. I'm not sure if this place would be worth it for the normal rate of $24. The service was awful for the three days I stayed, the bathroom smelled HORRIBLE, there was hardly and water pressure in the shower, and the food was extremely expensive there as well. Furthermore, being a gringo, I would always get weird looks walking in and out of the place. LIke I'm not a paying guest?? And for having somewhere near 10 workers in the lobby, the service was slow and very disappointing. Also when I asked if I could pay in dollars and receive cordobas in change they gave me a horrible rate. And lastly there is a five percent charge on credit cards which they didnt' tell you about before hand. I highly DO NOT RECOMMEND staying here. Save your money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    37
    11
    9
    2
See reviews for
20
42
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Superior, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We only ate here, while searching for meals while staying at a hostel in the same town. The menu had many American dishes on it which, for me, was a bit of a disappointment, but I certainly understand the need to please different crowds. We had breakfast and, if you like pancakes - this is your place! And the prices here are really what will make us come back. Best bang for your buck.

The atmosphere is really the best part about the place. You can see right to the beach from the dining area, the whole thing is open air with a beautifully crafted thatch roof. The tables are all cut from giant trees, they are really unique! Our waiter was a young guy who tried his best to understand our horrible Spanish and was very patient and attentive, which we were very thankful for.

Also, they have a pool table, and we heard it's the only one in the area!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moyogalpa, Nicaragua
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed here two nights in a private room.
The location is great, right on the estuary with a short walk to the sea.
The room was very comfortable and clean with nice fresh sheets.
There was no door on the bathroom, which might have felt a bit odd if travelling with someone else.
The staff were friendly and the food very good and reasonably priced.
I rented a kayak from the hotel and rowed into the nature reserve, highly recommended.
Only slight drawback was the large group of noisy German teenagers who were staying there, not really the hotel's fault though.
I still managed to get a couple of decent nights' sleeo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

For a couple of days of taking it easy, kayaking, swimming and enjoying the relaxing nature of the place, this was the best sport we found in Nicaragua. Sunday was full of Nicaraguans enjoying the beach which was interesting to watch, birdlife is good and the setting is stimulating yet peaceful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Recommended! Sitting in the wind on the platform watching life in the bay and the waves further on. Earlier I used to stay at Hotel Suyapa, from now on I will stay here. Be careful crossing the river where most of the boats are anchored (to the right seen from Barca de Oro - I got nine major curs in my feet on the sharp rocks, straight to the hospital)

Room Tip: The cabanas in the backk are nice, but you will hear the noise ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Little rustic but sweet place. Beach was not white sand but dark and mingled with locals. Cheap great eats. Must visit... Service was great although not much English they tried very hard... Wifi was intermittent...

Room Tip: Had a private room with bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed one night and had dinner. Unfortunately I found the accommodation simply a little too rustic. It was March but nonetheless warm in the room at night as the cabin (entirely made of wood and bamboo) too far back to benefit from any sea breezes and no air conditioning available. Bathroom was too basic..the lighting so weak it was impossible to see to shave and the shower to weak to use. The meal was only passable. So we moved on to another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Barca de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Barca de Oro

Address: Fte a la Bocana, Las Penitas, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Las Penitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Las Penitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run hostal in relaxing fishermen's village, facing Juan Venado natural reserve.The food and attention are excellent, with breeezy balcony with hammocks overlooking the ocean.Bright and comfort rooms or eco design bungalows.Nature,Activities, massage, games, in Barca de oro time stops.......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Barca de Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Barca De Oro Nicaragua/Las Penitas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Barca de Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.