We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hosts are horrible..... stay away!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of King's Beach Villas

King's Beach Villas
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King's Beach Villas
Save
You added King's Beach Villas to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Muri Beach | Muri Lagoon area, Muri, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Australia
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hosts are horrible..... stay away!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2007

The Cook Islands are beautiful.... don't spoil it by staying here.

It took no time at all to experience how horrible the host (Ina Tuatai, she is not a Cook Islander) was, and we went elsewhere. Just go to one of the resorts, they're not much more expensive, they are just as private, will have nicer facilities, and will have beautiful Cook Islanders who pride themselves on customer service. And somehow the resort restaurants menu's are cheaper than what you can make meals for yourself.... I'm sure the supermarket adds a 'tourist premium'!!

Just remember, you're going to Rarotonga to experience the culture, the people, the food.... not the King Beach Villa alternative.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Arriving
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
5
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2006

We stayed at Kings Beach Villas on Rarotonga's Muri Beach in late December 2006. The property we stayed in was very comfortable with very tidy presentation. The villa was serviced daily by Ina(Host) and she always made sure we had fresh towels, cereals and milk on a daily basis. The location is perfect and just under 10 minutes walk to the islands best resort 'The Pacific Resort', their you are able to dine at the restaurant and bar and swimming right out the front is probably the best and safest on the island. You are also within close proximity of the motu(islands) in the lagoon which you can swim out to or even walk to on low tide. The property is competively priced compared to other similiar properties on the island and all though it doesn't have the flash facilities onsite you are surrounded by the lagoon and kayaks can be hired just next door. You are also within 5 minutes walk to three local corner shops selling fresh fruit and veges and bread etc etc. The only negatives were the lack of kayaks as it felt uncomfortable always having to ask the neighbour to borrow his. We felt it would benefit the property if say 2 kayaks were purchased. Sun loungers are available. Considering everything we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay in Rarotonga. We want to say a big thank you to Ina and her family. Thank you......

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The Low Pressure Shower + Lack of Kayaks
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2006

The review by Jamitchri nearly put us staying at Kings Beach Villas.

Just as well we didn't take any notice of their review. The place was in a great location, the snorkelling out front by the Motu was as good as anywhere on the Island and we were impressed by the service and friendliness of Ina and her family.

The beach is typical of any pacific beach inside a reef where dead coral is simply a fact of life.

The villas were clean, well serviced, and unlike properties close by we had no ants inside the villa. This was the most common complaint from occupiers of other villas.

We would recommend this property as great value for money.


Frank & Lyn
NZ

  • Liked — Great location, value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

Well, it's right on the beach of Muri Lagoon, directly opposite the southern most Motu (little island). The decks of the villas (there's two of them) are maybe 10m from the waters edge. The location is very pretty. That's about all I can say that's good about the place.

The water out front is very shallow, and very rocky. Swimming isn't really an option. Although, if you've got reef shoes you can walk out to the nearest Motu where the snorkelling is very good. The beach is much nicer further up the lagoon. It is a plesant, and easy walk to get there (10min stroll), but there are several properties that have the prime positions like Vara's (inexpensive), Beachcomber (mid-range) and the Pacific (very nice).

The villas themselves are way below expectation. The website claims that they are 1st class, don't believe it. Our kitchen was fine, and the bed was comfortable, but there's just a feeling of 'cheap & nasty' about it. Tiare's (which is right next door) seemed to be of a much better quality.

Lastly, the owner is not nice to deal with. Don't let any correspondance fool you, she's not Cook Island Maori, and she doesn't have a very friendly demeanour in person. If you get a quote from her, make sure that you take hard copies of your correspondance with you. She tried to claim that we owed her much more money than was agreed, after much argument she realised that she was wrong, but then she got very aggresive and tried to kick us out anyway. We were travelling with a baby, and were facing spending out last night on the island in our rental car. In the end, we got so frustrated with the situation that we did leave. We fortunately came across the most lovely people you could hope for at Palm Grove who went out of their way to help us out. We contacted the Police about our situation, after making their own enquiries they were very sympathetic and not surprised with the difficulties we had.

You can do much better! It's probably best to stay with a hotel/resort. The quality is so much better, they have all the facilities you'd want (snorkels, canoes etc. usually available for free to guests), and the staff are actually there to ensure you have a the nicest time possible. Any $'s you think you're saving at somewhere like Kings, you will end up spending on the things that are included it the cost at most other places.

Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Beach Villas

Address: Muri Beach | Muri Lagoon area, Muri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King's Beach Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
King`s Beach Villas Hotel Muri
Kings Beach Hotel
King's Beach Villas Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Beach Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.