We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Beach Villas

King's Beach Villas
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King's Beach Villas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Muri Beach | Muri Lagoon area, Muri, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Muri
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A perfect place to stay right on the beach with kayaks provided and easy walking distance to restaurants and muri lagoon tourist attractions. We stayed in villa one which was well equipped with everything needed to self cater. Good value for money, would definately go back there to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
5
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at Kings Beach Villas for 12 days. Ina organised our transfers from the airport and for our first trip to the Cook Islands, this made it hassle free. We were deposited to this beautiful beach side villa, late in the afternoon.
On arrival, we were very pleased with the accomodation. Separate bedroom (with it's huge bed), and a separate bathroom and toilet. Ceiling fans in both rooms weren't used as it never really got too hot, but we loved the fly screens over the windows, which allowed us to keep our windows open at night.
Ina had provided us with a fruit basket full of pawpaws, oranges and bananas. There was also coffee, tea, sugar and milk provided.
A 10 second walk to the beach, and there we were, in paradise. What an amazing view.
We had 2 kayaks with the unit and 3 beach loungers. Needless to say, those kayaks were used fairly frequently as were the sun loungers.
The unit was fully self contained and although we were only a couple of minutes walk to a restaurant and takeaway, we cooked in the unit most nights and ate out on the deck with a glass or two of wine. You can choose to socialise with your neighbours and or spend your time alone. We felt very welcome and made some really good friends at Muri.
There is so much to do in the area, and we loved every minute.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed here for 10 days, it was idyllic! The hostess was friendly & helpful, a lovely lady. We enjoyed all of the amenities, im particular the canoes, The house was well eqipped with essentials , great to have fly screens on all the windows & ceiling fans. Not the flashest place but had everything you need & more. Even resident lizards & roosters! The location was awesome, right on the beach and lovely weather too! We would love to go back!

Room Tip: Both villas the same, our friends were next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Kings Beach Villas is like a typical kiwi bach - everything you need in a cute, compact little building.

The location was fantastic, right on Muri beach, just a few seconds walk from the front porch to the water.

There were a couple of kayaks which were free to use. We took them over to the island that Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruizes goes on which was a fun way to get some exercise.

This isn't resort accommodation at all so if you're after luxury, it's probably not the place for you. But if you're after privacy, practicality and the ability to self-cater, you'll be as pleased as we were.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Kings beach villas are not flash, but they are very clean, well equipped and maintained. If you are looking for resort accommodation then don’t stay here. The location is amazing and you can walk to everything. They are definitely value for money if you want to be self sufficient. We would definitely stay there again. Ina was a great host, nothing was a problem.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

I had already booked and paid a deposit on a villa at King's Beach before I got on here and read the reviews. After that I stressed so much that I had just ruined my family's holiday and that we were going to be staying in a dump. It was such a relief to arrive at the unit to find it crisp, clean and nicely decorated. It had everything we needed and we had a great time there. The stretch of beach is very pretty and the snorkelling behind the motu is great (admittedly it's not very good straight off the beach). We enjoyed eating dinner on the balcony overlooking the lagoon. Our 19 month old had a great time playing in the sand on the shoreline. As for the manager... we did not go to the Cook Islands to stay with her, and we saw her twice during our stay. She was friendly and helpful enough. We did not find it to be an issue.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivegoneagain
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

The property isn't totally horrible - but there are so many lovely places to stay that will not give you the annoyances and headaches that this property and the host provide (contrary to other reports trying to convince you the host is Mother Teresa!?).

Nowhere is inexpensive on the islands, but there are quite a few 'cheap' places like this one.... as in cheap & nasty. Down the road there's nicer self-contained joints (and resorts) that will not cost any more. And you'll have more fun, on better beaches.

When we stayed the place was full of ants (which can be a problem anywhere on the island), but the place just has a 'grubby' feel to it... certainly not romantic. And, any complaints that we had were just brushed off by the 'host' like we were a pest to her! She was definately without the naturally friendly demeanor of the native people!

Tip: Call the Cook Island Tourism office on Rarotonga and ask their opinion of where to stay. They will give you a genuine and considered opinion - and I would be fairly certain it will be anywhere other than Kings Beach VIllas... they want you to have a pleasant and hassle-free time on the island. It's worth the cost of the call.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King's Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Beach Villas

Address: Muri Beach | Muri Lagoon area, Muri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Muri
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King's Beach Villas 3.5*
Also Known As:
King`s Beach Villas Hotel Muri
Kings Beach Hotel
King's Beach Villas Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Beach Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added King's Beach Villas to your Saves list