We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muri Beach Club Hotel

Save Saved
You added Muri Beach Club Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 3050, Muri, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Nights FREE
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Muri
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I recently spent six nights at the Muri Beach Club Hotel and had a fantastic trip. From the moment we arrived we were well looked after and this continued throughout our trip.

We arrived at 6 in the morning and were told they would get our room ready as soon as they could. After a quick nap by the pool and a trip into town, our room was ready.

Our room was beautiful. We had a beachfront room and the view from our balcony of the beach and lagoon was spectacular. The room was clean and very spacious, with a nice big bed.

We were very impressed with the pool. It was clean, a good size and very attractive. The hotel was very quiet during out visit so we usually had the pool to ourselves.

On our first night we took advantage of the Happy Hour and enjoyed some very nice cocktails on the beach. Our servers were very helpful and friendly. Every time we saw them in the hotel after this, they said hello and addressed us by our name and asked us how we were. We also had a lovely dinner. The menu consisted of a nice range, including some local choices. The servings were big sizes and reasonably priced.

The breakfast was also very good. There was a good selection of hot and cold food. There was also a nice selection of fresh fruit.

The staff were all very friendly during our stay. They were all very helpful and quick to respond to our needs. They helped us book tours, hire scooters, find restaurants and book transfers. The free snorkeling equipment and canoes was also great.

The location of the hotel seemed to us to be the best on the island. We drove around the island and stopped at various places. And Muri Beach and the lagoon are by far the prettiest on the island and have the best swimming. And the hotel is right in the middle of this. There are also restaurants and small stores within walking distance.

During our stay the hotel had their Christmas party (the week we were there was their quietest around the time) and the restaurant was unavailable that night. To compensate us for this, the hotel gave us a $50 dinner voucher each plus a free drink each at a restaurant down the beach. They also arranged for a bus to take us there. We were very impressed with this. The staff are certainly entitled to a Christmas party and we just happened to be there during this time. We thought this was going above and beyond what we expected.

Our trip was fantastic and the Muri Beach Hotel made our stay even better. If we do come back to the Cook Islands we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    77
    32
    10
    3
See reviews for
20
211
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to Rarotonga, on previous holidays we stayed at The Edgewater and the Rarotongan beach resort and spa as we had our young children with us.
This time it was just me and hubby and we wanted to try a nicer hotel, as this was rated no 1 on trip advisor we decided to go with it.
We had the garden room.
First impressions were good, the room was nice and fresh but we did find black mould spots on the inside of the bed comforter and grubby fingerprints and mould on the back of the bathroom door and plug.
We informed the staff who promptly sent in the cleaners to rectify.... and although they did change the sheets they didn't wipe the door. When I passed the cleaner on the path she informed us that our room was done (not in a nice way) and then whispered to the other cleaner that we were the ones that complained about our room.
Made us feel a bit uncomfortable, I hate complaining but I did expect the standard of cleaning to be a bit higher than the other places we have stayed at before..
The rest of the staff however were really lovely and friendly.
We went beginning of December and it was VERY quite, only a few at dinner & happy hour, the plus side to this is we pretty much had pick of deck chairs etc.
We found that the hotel didn't have much of a holiday island feel to it.... it was quite white and glassy... like staying at a 3 star hotel in Aussie.
I much prefer the rarotongan as they had activities to do during the day like crab racing and learning how to dive etc.
Location wise it was nice, right across from some little islands that you can swim or canoe over too.
The beach was nice but packed with dogs. Don't stay on Muri beach if you are not a fan of dogs.
They were friendly to us, my husband even had 3 on his chair with him at one stage.
The hotel did offer free internet at reception which was good for checking emails.
Breakfast was really nice, good selection of hot and cold!
Overall just average.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

First impressions were excellent. No complaints about our deluxe beachfront room, it was spacious and spotless. The breakfast was very limited, with only 3 hot dishes, and the same fruits etc served up everyday. The swimming pool was a disgrace, it needs draining and retiled, not just sticking random tiles back on. It was dangerous just stepping into the pool, the edges were very sharp and jagged. The so called theme nights were just laughable. The polynesian night was cancelled due to lack of guests at the resort. The "pig and prawn" night was so expensive. 6 prawns for $35! And if you're going to have a "beach bbq buffet" then have it ON THE BEACH not cooked in the kitchen and served in the restaurant. People who came from other resorts left when they realised it was not on the beach. Having to pay to use the day room is just wrong. We checked outat 10am and weren't flying out til 1am the following morning so needed to shower and change late in the day. Had to pay $10 each for the privilege. Considering how much we had already paid for accommodation this was abit rich. We have stayed in a number of resorts in the south pacific and Asia and this was really disappointing. Wouldn't go back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotroppo, Front Office Manager at Muri Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Kia Orana,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel, however we are saddened that you were not entirely happy with your stay with us. Allow me to apologise to you, and to explain some of your issues...

We offer a complimentary daily Tropical Breakfast with your stay with us, which includes a variety of fresh fruits, cereals, breads and baked goods, as well as some additional complimentary cooked options included, which is due to the hotel being owned by the local egg farming family on the island. As the name suggests, this is a Tropical island-style breakfast, with the majority of these items being sourced locally to support the Cook Islands local businesses. There is also an alternative menu to order from if you would prefer more of a cooked breakfast rather than the complimentary Tropical Breakfast. Being a small tropical island, we offer you whatever fresh fruit is available at the time of year, which at the moment we are enjoying paw paw (papaya), watermelon, rock melon, pineapple, bananas & passionfruit. These vary day-to-day, week-to-week, depending what is available from the local producers. We could order in other fruits from abroad that have been frozen, preserved, transported and then defrosted to give you an even wider variety of every fruit on the planet, however for the sake of taste, health and supporting the local economy, we choose to source just our own wonderful variety of tasty fruits. We apologise if this variety was not vast enough to what you are used to in Australia.

Our swimming pool in under maintenance as we speak, having the tiles replaced. We had the choice when doing this to either drain the pool, meaning that for the duration of many guests visits there would be no water in the pool and therefore no pool in use, which we understand is not what people want when they come on holiday to a resort, or we had the option to, at considerably greater cost, keep the water in the pool and source a special underwater glue that allows us to fix the tiles whilst using scuba gear without the inconvenience to you of draining it, so that all guests are still able to make use of our pool during our maintenance schedule.

As you stayed with us during the quietest week of the year in Rarotonga, our usual Wednesday Night Island Night performance was unable to go ahead as the dance group that perform require a minimum number of bookings to secure their performance, which was unable to be met during this week, the lowest week of the year on the island not just for us but for all hotels. Our Friday night Pig and Prawn night is a platter menu from which to order, our large king prawns being available to be succulently cooked in a choice of 4 marinades; peri-peri, garlic & herb, lemon-pepper butter, or tangy BBQ and served on a sizzle platter along with other side dishes for you to enjoy. As prawns are not able to be fished locally in Rarotonga, they must be imported from overseas, which we do due to the high demand from our guests for prawns, however we cannot avoid the associated fees incurred from sourcing them from abroad. They are undoubtedly cheaper back home for you, where they are able to be sourced in bulk reducing the overall costs for you, but unfortunately that is one of the prices we pay for being a remote paradise island in the middle of the ocean. Our Beach BBQ night on Sundays is, as always, weather dependent. If there is a high-tide, rain or strong wind, then it is relocated to our SilverSands restaurant, where our guests can still enjoy the BBQ food without getting sandblasted on the beach.

For use of our day room, which includes shower and changing facilities, we charge the incredibly low fee of just $10. This is to cover the house-keeping and laundry of the area, and is here for your convenience so that you are still able to go swimming and be at the beach during the day and then freshen up before your departing flight. We do not believe this is a tall-ask, if you are using the room from 10am until 1am, 15 hours use works out at $0.67 per hour, hardly an extremity, and it is merely an optional service, not compulsory. If you were unhappy spending $10 for the 15 hour use of our day room, we would have by no means forced you to do so.

Here throughout the Cook Islands we believe in offering a genuine, authentic and cultural experience to showcase all that Rarotonga has to offer in terms of cuisine, culture, history and heritage, but at the same time by no means sacrificing on service and quality, where our guests can relax, unwind and settle in to the slow and satisfying pace of "island time", leaving your busy and hectic lives behind, at least for a while. Because of this we do not, unlike some huge, over packed resorts in Bali, Fiji, etc...which you seem to have experienced, put on a huge display and bring in every type of food and show known to man. We have plenty to experience and enjoy on the island, if visitors are willing to.
Once again we sincerely apologise for the disappointments you felt during your stay, and have taken your comments on board.

Meitaki Ma'ata!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I got married at Muri Club on the 8th Nov this year. Our wedding coordinator Liana was fantastic!!! The lead up to the day was made stress free as I knew she had everything organised. We were taken into town to get our wedding licence sorted, and had appointments made to meet our celebrant and photographer. Although the weather was a little windy, the sun was out and made it a perfect day. Everything from the flowers, cake, decorations, food etc was spot on. We were upgraded to the beach front room on our stay,the room was clean and tidy and decorated with fresh flowers. Breakfast had plenty of variety, hot options, fresh fruit, yogurt, selection of breads, juice etc. We found all staff friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend Muri Beach Club hotel if you were thinking of getting married in Rarotonga, or just for a holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My friend and I stayed here in April 2013. We had an absolutely wonderful stay. Our room was lovely, and had an excellent air-conditioning unit that we both greatly appreciated having. Muri Beach Club had free snorkel and kayak equipment, and also reef shoes of various sizes. The staff were absolutely wonderful, always pleasant, and very helpful. The free continental breakfast was very good - there was a vast array of foods available, and very tasty. The beach that the hotel is on is gorgeous. We did a bit of snorkling fairly far from the shore, and saw some beautiful coral and tropical fish, including 2 stingrays and an octopus! There were a number hotels and restaurants along the beach, so you don't have to strictly stay at the hotel for every meal. The only negative thing about our stay was that my friend and I did find the beds very hard, and had a relatively difficult time sleeping on them. Luckily we were usually so exhausted from a day of swimming and kayaking that we slept better. We would both definitely stay at the Muri Beach Club again, and definitely recommend this to our family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Perfect location right on the beach at Muri lagoon. We stayed in an ocean view room which had perfect views over the beach and logo on. Staff were very attentive and helpful pool was great and never crowded. Some prior reviews mention about the condition of the pools tiles which did let down the appearance although during out stay they had workers with scuba tanks underwater so that would be all fixed by now. Standard of food was good and reasonably priced. Would definately stay there again

Room Tip: Would definitely go for the ocean facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great place to stay if you want peace and quiet and good service from happy staff who know you by name. The Hotel was right on the best beach in Rarotonga and had the best pool (with no kids). Just a stroll down the beach or up the drive if you want to eat out, but food very good at Hotel too. (Wonderful breakfast) We enjoyed just lying by the pool in the sun reading a book or chatting with the other holiday makers and staff. We will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Muri Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Club Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 3050, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Muri Beach Club Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Beach Club Hotel's unequalled resort location puts guests right at the heart of one of Rarotonga's most outstanding natural features - Muri Lagoon. The lagoon is the island's aquatic playground for superb and safe snorkelling and swimming. With other water sports like kayaking, wind surfing, kite surfing, sailing and glass-bottomed boat rides, there's always an opportunity to get out on the water and away from it all. With Motus (offshore islands) a stones throw away beckons you to enjoy its uninhabitated oasis..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Muri Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel
Muri Beach Rarotonga
Muri Beach Club Hotel Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muri Beach Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.