We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Muri Beach Club Hotel

Save Saved
You added Muri Beach Club Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 3050, Muri, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Nights FREE
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Muri
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a beautiful resort, with super friendly and helpful staff.

We had an ocean-view room --- you literally walk out the patio door from your unit and have a little patio, a little grassy area with lounge chairs, some shrubs that provide a bit of privacy from the public beach, but you can walk right out onto the beach a few yards away.

Resort provides free kayaks & snorkel gear (not sure about the process for cleaning the mouth-pieces, so you might want to bring your own, or clean well before using)


A very good breakfast is included every morning, and there is free internet (for email) on a laptop in the lobby. (wi-fi is also available, at a fee)

The local bus is reasonably-priced and circles the whole island – it's just a couple minutes walk from the resort to the main road, where you can flag down the bus going in either direction -- approximately 15 minutes to get into the main town.

The restaurant at hotel is good, and there is good entertainment at dinner. Some of their special nights (dinner & show; ribs & prawns) are good value.

It's also an easy walk to neighbouring restaurants.

There is a big clean pool, with lots of umbrellas if you want shade.

The resort is on a calm lagoon, with views to the Pacific, and you can watch the waves crashing up against the reefs

NOTES: maybe it was just the time of year, but there were alot of flies and mosquitos -- if you go in the summer, bring insect repellant.

Room Tip: ocean-view rooms provide direct access to beach through patio door
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    81
    33
    10
    3
See reviews for
21
220
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
White Salmon, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our 2nd time at this resort, first time was in 2007 and it is overall even better then our first stay. Staff from management to housekeeping is by far some of the best we've encountered. Friendly, helpful, respectful and fun. They became our extended family for 12 days and made sure all our needs were meet. Freddie was a real hit as was Vani and Charmaine in the restaurant and bar. Beach front is by far the best on the island. The over 18 requirement is especially appreciated. The only thing I was disappointed in was lack of internet signal in our room, but the lounge has an excellent signal. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ground floor South West rooms are great! Patio door lets you access the beach right from your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just back from 12 days at this gorgeous place. The staff without exception very friendly and helpful and we felt very welcome - escpecially after an 18 hour flight to be greeted on arrival with a lovely fresh fruit cocktail. We booked a beach front room and had the added 'excitement' of the prospect of Cyclone Garry - which happily didn't really eventuate and only really lost one day where we were happy to stay in and relax reading because it rained so much. As you would expect from a beachfront room steps from the water, the water breaking on the reef was quite noisy but that's what earplugs are for! We enjoyed swimming, snorkelling, kayaking and the treddle boats are worth a try. The daily breakfasts of fresh fruits and cereals as well as 3 hot dishes was good and the lemon cake was especially delicious, Pig and Prawn night was nice and we enjoyed the Seafood Buffet and entertainment on Wednesdays night. We only ate dinner at the restaurant about 4 times all meals delicious and plentiful but a somewhat limited menu.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venus Bay
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We returned here after 6 years, and were relieved to find that it was as good as ever. This is the perfect spot to unwind, lay back listening to the lapping of waves on the picture perfect lagoon, read, snorkell, kayak and swim regardless of the tides (unlike many resorts on lagoons). The beachfront rooms are exactly that - right on the white sandy beach, and are worth the extra dollars. Rooms are spacious, well appointed, excellent spotless modern bathroom, super bed with linen changed daily - coupled with the friendly, charming staff (with perhaps the exception of one or two reception women), what more could you ask?
We felt that the food, although good enough, was unexceptional - the focus is definately on quantity, which suits many I know, but after 10 days, we were longing for something with a bit more "finesse", although I'm sure most clients were very happy with the value for money. We spent time trawling the area for different food, and apart from The Flame Tree nearby (very, very good but quite expensive), the food on offer was all very similar fare.
Although the hotel is child free, bear in mind that it is situated on a popular public beach, which on holidays is teeming with happy, laughing locals enjoying the water and can be quite noisy. We thought it was lovely, but don't expect to have lengthy afternoon naps.
An absolute highlight of our stay, and a constant source of entertainment from our balcony was watching the local dogs which parade the beach. Don't freak if you're not a dog lover - these are the cleanest, healthiest, non-agressive, and much loved dogs who simply visit during the day to entertain themselves amoungst the tourists. Don't be surprised if one hitches a ride in your kayak, or simply decides to swim beside you to the island. They are definately not a menace, and fellow travellers enjoyed them as much as we did - I hope they are never chased off the beach as they would be in other countries.
It was a wonderful rest, and we will return.

Room Tip: Spend the extra dosh, and go for a beachfront room. The rooms on the first floor are less visible f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

FIrst of all, great location, loved the beach right in front of the resort.
Very friendly, helpful staff. Freddie! love your giggles ;)
Best food on the island so far. Sure, you wouldn't get a degustation deli menu on your table, but the management puts great efforts on presenting healthy, honest, good food for its guests, plus supports the local businesses, that have only organic produce.
Wonderful spectacles for Christmas and New Year times! Enjoyed them all.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have travelled extensively and I don't usually write reviews but after just returning from the Muri Beach Club Hotel, I felt I needed to. From the beginning to end of our trip there (10 days) the staff were super helpful and friendly, the place was spotless and the meals were terrific. Don't believe those reviews dissing the food (they have changed the restaurant menu) and it is fantastic. The location is directly on the beach with extensive opportunities for snorkeling and it is such an amazing place for couples to relax or keep busy with activities (kayak, lagoon tours, scooter rides into town etc). We will definitely return to this hotel if the opportunity arises to head back to the Cooks.

Room Tip: Beach front 2nd story all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Being new to Rarotonga we followed travel agent recommendation to base our stay at Muri Beach Club Hotel. What a great recommendation!
The location is great, snorkelling on the doorstep, amenities close by and very relaxed atmosphere. Other snorkelling spots, such as Fruits or Rarotonga are about 3 Kms away.
If you want to relax and unwind then Rarotonga is ideal. I spent most of our stay without wearing a watch - timeless indeed!
What makes Muri Beach Club Hotel stand out from other establishments are three things:
- The staff. Leona, Freddie, Gina and many other staff made our stay extremely pleasant and couldn't do enough to help.
- The restaurant. Great breakfasts, terrific even events and excellent vibes.
- The 18+ policy. By restricting residents to only 18+ we were not distracted by screaming kids and this helped create a more relaxed and less frenetic atmosphere. It's OK to have a family holiday, so long as everyone is over 18.

Only thing that could be improved is air conditioning - which can be noisy. We mostly slept with air conditioning switched off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Muri Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Club Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 3050, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Muri Beach Club Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Beach Club Hotel's unequalled resort location puts guests right at the heart of one of Rarotonga's most outstanding natural features - Muri Lagoon. The lagoon is the island's aquatic playground for superb and safe snorkelling and swimming. With other water sports like kayaking, wind surfing, kite surfing, sailing and glass-bottomed boat rides, there's always an opportunity to get out on the water and away from it all. With Motus (offshore islands) a stones throw away beckons you to enjoy its uninhabitated oasis..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Muri Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel
Muri Beach Rarotonga
Muri Beach Club Hotel Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muri Beach Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.