We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muri Beach Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Muri Beach Club Hotel to your Saves list
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 3050, Muri, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Muri
White Salmon, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Impressive Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our 2nd time at this resort, first time was in 2007 and it is overall even better then our first stay. Staff from management to housekeeping is by far some of the best we've encountered. Friendly, helpful, respectful and fun. They became our extended family for 12 days and made sure all our needs were meet. Freddie was a real hit as was Vani and Charmaine in the restaurant and bar. Beach front is by far the best on the island. The over 18 requirement is especially appreciated. The only thing I was disappointed in was lack of internet signal in our room, but the lounge has an excellent signal. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ground floor South West rooms are great! Patio door lets you access the beach right from your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    84
    35
    11
    3
See reviews for
22
229
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just back from 12 days at this gorgeous place. The staff without exception very friendly and helpful and we felt very welcome - escpecially after an 18 hour flight to be greeted on arrival with a lovely fresh fruit cocktail. We booked a beach front room and had the added 'excitement' of the prospect of Cyclone Garry - which happily didn't really eventuate and only really lost one day where we were happy to stay in and relax reading because it rained so much. As you would expect from a beachfront room steps from the water, the water breaking on the reef was quite noisy but that's what earplugs are for! We enjoyed swimming, snorkelling, kayaking and the treddle boats are worth a try. The daily breakfasts of fresh fruits and cereals as well as 3 hot dishes was good and the lemon cake was especially delicious, Pig and Prawn night was nice and we enjoyed the Seafood Buffet and entertainment on Wednesdays night. We only ate dinner at the restaurant about 4 times all meals delicious and plentiful but a somewhat limited menu.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venus Bay
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We returned here after 6 years, and were relieved to find that it was as good as ever. This is the perfect spot to unwind, lay back listening to the lapping of waves on the picture perfect lagoon, read, snorkell, kayak and swim regardless of the tides (unlike many resorts on lagoons). The beachfront rooms are exactly that - right on the white sandy beach, and are worth the extra dollars. Rooms are spacious, well appointed, excellent spotless modern bathroom, super bed with linen changed daily - coupled with the friendly, charming staff (with perhaps the exception of one or two reception women), what more could you ask?
We felt that the food, although good enough, was unexceptional - the focus is definately on quantity, which suits many I know, but after 10 days, we were longing for something with a bit more "finesse", although I'm sure most clients were very happy with the value for money. We spent time trawling the area for different food, and apart from The Flame Tree nearby (very, very good but quite expensive), the food on offer was all very similar fare.
Although the hotel is child free, bear in mind that it is situated on a popular public beach, which on holidays is teeming with happy, laughing locals enjoying the water and can be quite noisy. We thought it was lovely, but don't expect to have lengthy afternoon naps.
An absolute highlight of our stay, and a constant source of entertainment from our balcony was watching the local dogs which parade the beach. Don't freak if you're not a dog lover - these are the cleanest, healthiest, non-agressive, and much loved dogs who simply visit during the day to entertain themselves amoungst the tourists. Don't be surprised if one hitches a ride in your kayak, or simply decides to swim beside you to the island. They are definately not a menace, and fellow travellers enjoyed them as much as we did - I hope they are never chased off the beach as they would be in other countries.
It was a wonderful rest, and we will return.

Room Tip: Spend the extra dosh, and go for a beachfront room. The rooms on the first floor are less visible f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

FIrst of all, great location, loved the beach right in front of the resort.
Very friendly, helpful staff. Freddie! love your giggles ;)
Best food on the island so far. Sure, you wouldn't get a degustation deli menu on your table, but the management puts great efforts on presenting healthy, honest, good food for its guests, plus supports the local businesses, that have only organic produce.
Wonderful spectacles for Christmas and New Year times! Enjoyed them all.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have travelled extensively and I don't usually write reviews but after just returning from the Muri Beach Club Hotel, I felt I needed to. From the beginning to end of our trip there (10 days) the staff were super helpful and friendly, the place was spotless and the meals were terrific. Don't believe those reviews dissing the food (they have changed the restaurant menu) and it is fantastic. The location is directly on the beach with extensive opportunities for snorkeling and it is such an amazing place for couples to relax or keep busy with activities (kayak, lagoon tours, scooter rides into town etc). We will definitely return to this hotel if the opportunity arises to head back to the Cooks.

Room Tip: Beach front 2nd story all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Being new to Rarotonga we followed travel agent recommendation to base our stay at Muri Beach Club Hotel. What a great recommendation!
The location is great, snorkelling on the doorstep, amenities close by and very relaxed atmosphere. Other snorkelling spots, such as Fruits or Rarotonga are about 3 Kms away.
If you want to relax and unwind then Rarotonga is ideal. I spent most of our stay without wearing a watch - timeless indeed!
What makes Muri Beach Club Hotel stand out from other establishments are three things:
- The staff. Leona, Freddie, Gina and many other staff made our stay extremely pleasant and couldn't do enough to help.
- The restaurant. Great breakfasts, terrific even events and excellent vibes.
- The 18+ policy. By restricting residents to only 18+ we were not distracted by screaming kids and this helped create a more relaxed and less frenetic atmosphere. It's OK to have a family holiday, so long as everyone is over 18.

Only thing that could be improved is air conditioning - which can be noisy. We mostly slept with air conditioning switched off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

For a classy looking place, with excellent reviews, we were looking forward to a great night. Friday nights here are widely advertised throughout the island as a Pork and Prawn night. The whole night lacked class, from when we sat down and looked out at the beach via dirty windows, to the Greggs salt and pepper shakers straight from the supermaket, to the meal and drink order being taken at the same time, to the meals arriving within 5 minutes and well before the drinks, to the meals being on super hot sizzling cast iron plates which continued to overcook the food so much so we has to put it on the side plates to stop it cooking, to the obvious origin of the food straight from the freezers of an Auckland supermarket, to only 3 finger bowls for 5 of us, to the caked filth on top of the ceiling fans which were turned off, to the sporting equipment also stored in the Bar, sorry to say, totally lacking any class. This establishment is obviously managed and staffed by a majority of non Cook Islanders, including the cooks (not chefs), and it was easily the worst experience of an otherwise great holiday in Rarotonga.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotroppo, Operations Manager at Muri Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to load this posting re. your experience at our SilverSands Restaurant, in your capacity as a casual diner. It is regrettable that you were not one of our in-house guests, as had this been the case, you may have had more opportunity to bring these matters to the attention of Senior Management directly during your stay.
Our 'Pig and Prawn' as well as the 'Polynesian Seafood Island Nights' with live local entertainment, are indeed well known and have to date always received very positive comments from our in-house, as well as casual guests. We are therefore naturally very disappointed to read a report such as you have posted, and thank you for spending your effort in doing so nevertheless .
As SilverSands Restaurant is located in very close proximity to the Lagoon, we are required to adapt to the constant onslaught of salt water spray, erosion from wind-driven sand and [at times] high levels of humidity generated by our glorious Tropical Climate. The windows of the Restaurant are therefore cleaned every morning before breakfast, however, on the day of your visit there had been an unusual level of salty spray, which may by the time you had dinner built up on the windows somewhat. Due to these climatic conditions, and by the same token, we have purposefully chosen to use air-tight plastic salt and pepper grinders [rather than metal that rusts....]. Our guests also prefer to use grinders rather than those less suitable permeable paper sachets.
Pork Spare Ribs and Prawns are indeed served on sizzling cast iron inserts in wooden platters - and this lends to the appeal and ambiance of this style of food presentation. Our staff are therefore instructed to get the order to the table whilst still sizzling for maximum effect. There is little opportunity for the food to deteriorate on these platters, as they cool very quickly, thereby posing additional challenges to our staff who pride themselves on getting the food to our guest's table with that enticing sizzle-sound and puffs of steam.
With regards to your comment on the ceiling fans, these are cleaned regularly. The only explanation we can provide is that perhaps the ornate Cook Island design [tattoo-like] in dark yellow colour on a few of the fans may, on cursory inspection, have been mistaken for stains
With regards to the apparent swift speed of food service in relation to the drinks service; your order included a range of milk-shakes which, like cocktails, take some time to prepare. In addition to this, your food part of the order would have been placed at the kitchen first to mitigate the wait-time for food on the usually busy Pig and Prawn Nights. As far as your perception that the food's origin was "...straight from the freezers of an Auckland supermarket...", this could in reality not be further from the truth. Pork Spare Ribs take some 2 hours alone to prepare to the final caramalisation stage, after initially being charcoal-seared whilst being basted with our secret marinade, and thereafter slow baked in the Steam/ Combi Oven. They are then kept in a covered bain marie, and finally placed on the flame grill whilst again being basted with marinade to achieve that lovely 'caramel-crisp outside', and 'succulent/tender inside' quality. Our Prawns are indeed imported in a frozen state,[although their place of origin is not New Zealand ] as Prawns are not available here locally. These too require some considerable preparation in terms of de-veining, cleaning and preparing to order eg. grilled BBQ, flash-grilled Piri-Peri, and / or pan-seared garlic and lemon pepper.
As the only route for all guests from the central courtyard area to the sandy white beach along the Lagoon edge is past the entrance / bar area of SilverSands, this provides the perfect collection point for our in-house guests - who invariable head straight for the bar on their return from their snorkelling / kayaking/ sailing activities in the Lagoon anyway. In the evenings [dinnertime] this equipment is stored well out of the way and on the inside of the Lagoon-facing porch area, for security reasons. It is indeed visible when standing at the till, but this has a purpose - as many of our guests choose their gear at the end of the evening and take it to their rooms - ready for an early snorkel before returning for hearty Tropical Breakfast Buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Muri Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Club Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 3050, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Muri Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Beach Club Hotel's unequalled resort location puts guests right at the heart of one of Rarotonga's most outstanding natural features - Muri Lagoon. The lagoon is the island's aquatic playground for superb and safe snorkelling and swimming. With other water sports like kayaking, wind surfing, kite surfing, sailing and glass-bottomed boat rides, there's always an opportunity to get out on the water and away from it all. With Motus (offshore islands) a stones throw away beckons you to enjoy its uninhabitated oasis..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Muri Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel
Muri Beach Rarotonga
Muri Beach Club Hotel Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muri Beach Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.