We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend this reosrt and the island of Rarotonga. Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Resort Rarotonga

Save Saved
You added Pacific Resort Rarotonga to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3 FREE nights
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Muri
Wellington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would recommend this reosrt and the island of Rarotonga. Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

This is part of a letter we actually wrote to the resort.

My partner and I stayed at this resort from in Aug 2009 and enjoyed it so much we are planning on returning within 6 months. Thanks to Melanie Cooper (our wedding planner) and the wonderful staff, our wedding day and the rest of our honeymoon was a joy and completely stress free. The staff were cheerful and very helpful, making an impression on all of our guests, as well as both myself and my husband. Melanie was remarkable and instrumental in organising our wedding day. She ensured we had everything we needed, knew the procedure and made certain the whole day ran smoothly. The resort staff members involved in our wedding preparations were also fantastic.
I would also like to mention our wedding celebrant, John Kenning and the young florist the resort recommended. Both John and our florist were wonderful. John ensured our ceremony was a relaxed occasion with a few laughs and the flowers for both myself and my bridesmaid were gorgeous and exactly what I wanted. We were both very happy with the resorts choice of florist and celebrant included in the wedding package.
As an extra we used Nane Brown for our hair and makeup as she was listed in your 2008 brochure but I understand you now use another lady. I would ask that you continue to recommend her as we were extremely happy with the end result. Not only did she do a wonderful job with our hair and makeup but she passed on her local knowledge that we made good use of.
On the whole we were extremely pleased with our wedding day and holiday. This was owing to the significant effort Melanie and the rest of your team applied to make our stay so special. We will definitely be recommending The Pacific Resort to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    311
    156
    42
    24
    20
See reviews for
187
247
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Feilding - NZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

This was our second time to Rarotonga and we travelled with another couple. We stayed at Pacific Resort. The service is impecible, nothing is a problem, and lots of smiles. The rooms were lovely and clean, though we did find our bed rather hard.
The only down side I can think of is we had room number 1 which is right by reception so we heard the people traffic coming in and going on the night flights and the staff swept right out by our room at 7.30am which woke us every morning - and apart from the odd rooster - our stay was fantastic.
The weather was rather windy, and we really only discovered on the last day that we should have been kayaking over the island opposite us where it was sunny & sheltered.
We did the glass bottom snorkelling cruise which was hard case - really enjoyed this.
The 'happy hours' really were happy hours and the bar staff were the best !!
the breakfasts were yummy - infact all the meals were great !
We did the private dining option on the last night and had a lot of fun !
the whole resort is beautiful and clean. They put on activities every day if youre intersted in partaking from the beach hut. 2 of us did the "Head Ei" making class and really enjoyed this. All in all this was a memorable stay and I would definetly recommend this resort - the staff really do go our of their way to help you anyway they can.
Elaine & Myanna on the front desk & tour desk are fabulous wonderful people who really made our stay enjoyable ! Thanks everyone at Pacific Resort !!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ngaruawahia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

The pacific Resort exceeded all our expectations. The staff were friendly, helpful and extremely helpful. Very, very friendly. The location, with it's own private lagoon was the best and it had an amazing array of activities for every visitor. You could also just lay back and relax and enjoy the hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRIA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

GOOD HOTEL and VERY NICE BEACH. Try to get a ROOM in the first ROW.
ALso u should take a motorbike driving the island.
Weather was often rainy!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Fantastic location, loved the traditional style, were treated like family, very comfortable bed, sensational food. A resort that I would recommend with no hesitation. Highly recommend you book the private dinner, it was amazing. It is rare that you get to a place and it is better than what it looks in the brochures, this one definately is. Dont think about just book into the Pacific Resort!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

The Pacific Resort Rarotonga is and was undoubtedly the ultimate place to stay for our honeymoon, the beautiful, clean white sand of the the muri beach, the turquoise waters of the Muri Lagaoon, the lushious green gardens, amazing food, such kind, helpful, friendly staff we couldnt have asked for more in a resort!

From day 1 we were in awe at such a beautiful place, we couldnt quite believe that we where actually there, that this was what we had booked. On arrival we were very kindly upgraded from a garden unit to a garden villa #15, the staff were more than helpful and we received an orientation at 10:30 to get our bearings. Every morning we also received the latest issue of the hotel newsletter the Pacific Drum which gave us an insight into actvities at the resort, the weather for the day and any events or places of interest on the island which was very useful in planning what to do each day. Most days dawn is at 6.15ish so we would usually be woke by the noise of roosters, yes roosters who let us know its time to rise! Breakfast consisted every day of a tropical mix of various fruits, freshly baked pastries and cereals, a good start to the day! We booked to stay 10 nights so if you stay more than 5 nights you receive a 50nz dollar voucher every night which could be used against our evening meal in the restaurant or in your room! this meant we spent virtually no money on food at all which was nice! The evening entertainment was excellent and we would definitly recommend Rudy who sings on Sunday nights, he serenaded us with our own wee song as he found out we were on honeymoon!

During the day there is as little or as much to do as you see fit, if you are looking for a fun filled day the boys at the beach hut can certainly do that for you with Dive lessons, reef fishing, snorkelling on the reef, volleyball and much more!

We opted for the more relaxing break and made use of the Kayaks, and snorkelling gear that is provided at no cost for residents, towels are also provided for use on the beach which is very handy as it saves you packing beach towels in your suitcase!
A definite must is to leave for the opposite island on the lagoon which we called sunshine island as the sun shone there from 9 in the morning to 5 in the evening every day so its an excellent spot for sunbathing! the best time to go across is about 9 in the morning when no one else is there, do not be alarmed in the slightest by the 3 or 4 dogs that will probably follow you about or over to the island they are all more than friendly and will only follow you about to see what you are up to. To be honest they are more interested in the fish in the lagoon and you will see them attempt to chase them from time to time!

During our stay we hired a car, although if you want to do this you first have to go to the police station in town and buy a license but be sure to bring you current drivers license as you cannot get one with out it and it will cost you $20NZ. This proved to be a good purchase and we enjoyed a few day trips around the island exploring.

The town itself is fairly small, but for all ladies one shop i would recomend is moanoa pearls. It was the best place i felt on the island to make a purchase of a South Sea Black pearl and it made for an excellent souvenir for myself! In the town i would recommend for eating Cafe Salsa, The Fish & Chips restaurant 5 mins walk out of the town at the harbour and the Indian restaurant! All excellent places to eat! The supermarket was also a good place to stock up on snacks and fresh fruit to store back at the hotel for during the day and sold salad filled subs which were divine!

The best place i found to bring home any souvenirs for friends and family was actually Gifts of Rarotonga just at the entrance of the resort, they had everything from soaps to table runners, jewellery to t-shirts and all very reasonably priced!

Another activity which we really enjoyed was the Cook Islands Christian CHurch, on sunday morning for a small fee of $5nz a taxi bus will pick you up from the reception of the hotel and drop you to church for 10.30am, the church is a beautiful building, and the congregation are very friendly, the singing was beautiful to hear and the pastor preaches in the native language but not to worry as there is a translator. And a light lunch of fruit, sandwiches, cake and tea is provided for all in a building just to the right of the church which is a good time to meet with some of the locals and have a good chat to them!

There are so many more things that can be done here, and experienced both in the resort like the amazing massages, the secluded pool and on the island like the saturday town market, the jungle tours, but all in all i can honestly say i wouldnt change a thing looking back at our honeymoon! Rarotonga and the pacific resorts were the ultimate destinations and i would whole heartedly recommend them to all!

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

When we first arrived I admit to being a little disapointed with the room (smaller than anticipated and had a few ants) and the pool (not in sight of the sea). Then again we had pretty high expectations as we have done a fair bit of travelling in the past. Once we had adjusted to the island as a whole and checked out some of the other available accomodation on the island, we became more convinced that we had indeed selected the best resort on the island for our purposes.

The Pacific Resort offer a family a more intimate holiday expience, and is on what I consider to be the best beach (Muri) on the island. The sea is clear and is perfect for children of all ages. Opposite the beach are a few small islands, the cental island is beautiful and as the water never seems to get much above shoulder height you can walk across or use a one of the hotel kayaks, this is also where we chose to renew our wedding vows. Unlike most people coming to the island we chose to do our ceremony in the morning as at that time the island was completely deserted, and the light great for photo's. We chose not to have a celebrant, our 8 year old daughter conducted the ceremony and did an excellent job.

The island is a real bonus as the resort loses sun on the beach fairly early, but the island has all day sun and is typically calm even when there is a breeze on the beach at the resort. We spent most afternoons (when not travellign around) on the island beach. It's great for hunting crabs and you can feed bread to the fish (who hang around the large rocks) so bring a snorkel too.

A few member of the resort staff were aware of our special day and went out of there way to accomodate our needs. For example the day before the ceremony we booked on the snorkling cruise run by the resort, on the day we were the only guest who wanted to do the cruise, once we explained we had renewed our vows and wanted to go on on the cruise to make the day extra special, we ended up with a private cruise!. Luther the 'captain' did a great job. Snorkling revealed some truely beautiful fish, and it was great fun feeding the them, our daughter squealed at the fun she was having. Though at this time of the year the sea is a little cool, so make sure you take loads of towels for when you get out!.

The temp of the sea is fine when all you are doing in going for a dip from time to time to cool off, but 30-60mins int he water and you start to feel it.

In the evening as a three we cannot be seated in restaurants easily, the best seats by the edges tend to go to couples or families of four. However after explaining that this was a special day for us, three seats in the best spot were arranged (this was organised the day before) and a special flower arrangement was even added to our table.

I would definitely recommend this resort, but it is important that you realise that this is not a partically commercialised island, and as such standards are generally not quite a high as you might expect in other parts of the world. That said the Pacific Resort keep the gardens immaculate, and the service was excellent. The kayak's and towels are all grey or brown so that they don't interfer with the beauty of the surroundings. The pool as I mention before, is towards the back of the property, and is a little dark, however after visiting two of the other resorts on the island the pool is much nicer, even if the location isn't so great and it is surrounded by attractive greenery. Although this is still not a pool I would spend much time sat around.

Don't waste your money hiring an expensive car, we hired a convertable. It was faded, scratched and the canvas had seen better days, but on an island only 32km around does it matter what you are driving? The spped limit is 50km except in town where it is 30km, over that and you are risking a ticket. Friday's is licence checking day!.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacific Resort Rarotonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Resort Rarotonga

Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Resort Rarotonga 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Boutique….Rarotonga’s leading full-service authentic boutique resort is nestled discreetly in one of the world’s most spellbinding spots. Stretching one kilometre along the south-eastern coast of Rarotonga, Muri beach is laden with glorious white sand, fringed by palm trees and lapped by the gentle waters of a shallow, safe lagoon. This boutique resort offers a perfect blend of modern comforts and traditional island hospitality. A place where simple, lazy days meet luxurious evenings. And where the friendly, gracious staff meet your every request. Dining at the resort is a fine experience. Be tempted by succulent fresh seafood, Pacific and international dishes, or be summoned by beating drums to an authentic Cook Islands feast.No matter how you choose to fill your days and nights at this breathtakingly beautiful place that is Pacific Resort Rarotonga, one thing is certain. You’ll leave feeling rested, restored and renewed. And above all, determined to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Pacific Resort Rarotonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Hotel Muri
Pacific Hotel Rarotonga
Pacific Hotel Muri
Raratonga
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Muri, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Resort Rarotonga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.