We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good spot.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Resort Rarotonga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Resort Rarotonga to your Saves list
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Still a good spot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is our second stay at Pacific Rarotonga. Things change and after 4 years we certainly felt a difference. The room was great we had a premium garden room which ad a large lounge area and bedroom little kitchen unit and a wonderful large bathroom with plenty of hot water. Our room was clean and comfy only suggestion move the TV into lounge area out of bedroom. We were close to beach so a good spot room 15. Bar service and ,meals was friendly and meals good value Billie certainly stood out and made everyone feel very welcome thank you. We did feel however that the service this time round in some other areas a little lacking. The new letter we received this time round was a little repetitive, last time it updated us on any weddings taking place and when the music etc would be turned off not this time.
The beach hut was supposed to offer a number of activities but when I turned up I got a 5min blurb then that was that. But all in all a clean spot close to some nice cafes and restaurants if you want to eat out of the resort and kid/ family friendly. If you are looking for a more secluded couples escape make the effort and head to the sister resort in Aitutaki instead.

Room Tip: rm 15 close to beach, big and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    196
    52
    28
    21
See reviews for
249
296
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The beach restaurant at this hotel is open to the public and this is where we dropped in for lunch. The staff were friendly and welcoming and there was a wide range of dishes to choose from. The service was excellent and the view was fantastic. The dress code is whatever you happen to be wearing to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were looking for a place to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Pacifc Resort ticked all the boxes for us and more than met our expectations having initially reviewed this and others on-line before deciding. We also took into consideration comments from family and friends that had been to Rarotonga before. We were looking for some quite, privacy, beach and relaxtion without the hussle bussle of sme of the busy mainstream hotels.
We found staff and service at Pacific great. Room was excellent and well serviced. We were given the impression that 'nothing was a problem' and always with a smile and greeting.
The second level beach front room is the best choice (for us) with great view and privacy.
Breakfast buffet was fine and we found that most restaurants were of similar price for meals. yes they are a little more than perhaps NZ or Aus, but not unexpected due to cost of bringing in food from overseas. If you are happy with local produce its even better. We plannaed on spending abou $100(NZ)/2 adult each night and this came very close with entree man and a drink or two.
Take the chance to Hire a scooter and trip around the Island. Its great fun and yu can come and go at your lesiure. The tow buses that run on the hour each way will cost $5 one way or $8 return and there is only one stop rather than a segment cost, a scooter cost $50 for three days.
pacific. The Resort is onoy abot 15-20mins drive/scooter to town and is one of teh closer resorts to town. The Resort does not offer the romantic sun-set but does have great swimming for adults and children in the idealic lagoon, awesome snorkelling around Taakoka Island in waste-deep water and plenty to do....or nothing if your wish is too just chill out and relax.
All in all we will be back here.

Room Tip: Beach-font second level for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here two years ago and again in October 2013 - I have to say that the first visit was much more impressive than the second.
We felt like the resort was just letting those little things that really make a big difference to guests slip and it is becoming more of your average family resort rather than something really special like it was two years ago and like it's sister resort in Aitutaki.

For example - most flights out of Rarotonga leave between 5pm and midnight and the hotel used to allow for automatic late check-out so guests could shower/nap prior to their airport pick-up. This visit we had to pay $250 and were told we could only stay until 6pm, despite our flight leaving at 1am and knowing that no one would be checking into that room, nor would it be cleaned, until the following day.

Also, despite booking nearly nine months ahead of our arrival, our two parties didn't get rooms anywhere near each other - in fact, you could say they were at opposite ends of the resort. Despite expressing our dissatisfaction with this and also with the quality of one room we were told nothing could be done unless we were wiling to take a room with no view at the back of the resort with no reduction in the tariff. The bathrooms in some of the beachfront rooms are well in need of a re-vamp and our shower/mirror had mould growing in the grout,etc. whereas the other party, who paid the same tariff, had a beautiful large open planned modern bathroom in a room that fronted directly onto the sand.

That said, it is the most beautiful location on Rarotonga - the beach is literally like a giant swimming pool, where the water is crystal clear and clean and the sand is soft and white. The staff were extremely friendly at all times, even when delivering the bad news about the late check out! In particular, Billie in the restaurant was so happy an efficient waitress (so much so that she waded out into the water to show people the happy hour menu!)

The food at the resort is amazing - we worked our way through the menu and we were not disappointed once. Happy hour was very nice, too!

This place would be perfect for families - parents can sit on the beach with a cold drink and kids can play in the water right at their feet. If you are looking for a romantic getaway for two then I wouldn't recommend it as much as I would have if you asked me two years ago.

If I go back to Rarotonga I think I will stay at their sister resort, Te Manava, owned by the same hotel chain, where the 'luxury' that we became accustomed to in Pacific Resort Aitutaki might be matched.

Room Tip: Beachfront suite 13 and 14 are the best rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our initial experience with the Pacific Resort was less than stellar. However, we explained to manager Annie that our family of six was housed in beachfront units that were not together and that it was not what we had reserved six months prior. She truly made a grand effort to please us and make it right. Make it right she did!! This is a wonderful family resort with many many things to do. We would definitely go there again. The luau was fantastic [it was my 70th Birthday celebration.]

Room Tip: We would recommend the beachfront suites or one of the individual homes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have just had a week in the Cook Islands. Three nights Pacific Raro / 2 nights Pacific Aitutaki / 2 nights Pacific Raro. First stay was in a garden unit which was good but lacked any wow factor. Rooms were clean but needed updating and we were in the room at the back of the resort backing onto the road. Second stay here in a beachfront room was fantastic. Muri beach is the best spot on the island, the lagoon amazing for swimming and all water sports. We just loved the beach view and being where it all happened. Staff are great and made us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: go the beachront rooms you get what you pay for.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A truly amazing and beautiful place to stay. Staff are so friendly and helpful.
I stayed in a beachfront room, which was totally amazing. Room was very clean and tidy and of high standard.
I loved being right on the Lagoon, If I go back to Raro this would definitely be where I stay again.
Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Resort Rarotonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Resort Rarotonga

Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Muri
#3 Spa Hotel in Muri
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Resort Rarotonga 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Boutique….Rarotonga’s leading full-service authentic boutique resort is nestled discreetly in one of the world’s most spellbinding spots. Stretching one kilometre along the south-eastern coast of Rarotonga, Muri beach is laden with glorious white sand, fringed by palm trees and lapped by the gentle waters of a shallow, safe lagoon. This boutique resort offers a perfect blend of modern comforts and traditional island hospitality. A place where simple, lazy days meet luxurious evenings. And where the friendly, gracious staff meet your every request. Dining at the resort is a fine experience. Be tempted by succulent fresh seafood, Pacific and international dishes, or be summoned by beating drums to an authentic Cook Islands feast.No matter how you choose to fill your days and nights at this breathtakingly beautiful place that is Pacific Resort Rarotonga, one thing is certain. You’ll leave feeling rested, restored and renewed. And above all, determined to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Pacific Resort Rarotonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Hotel Muri
Pacific Hotel Rarotonga
Pacific Hotel Muri
Raratonga
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Muri, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Resort Rarotonga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.