We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this paradise?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Resort Rarotonga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Resort Rarotonga to your Saves list
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 FREE nights
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Muri
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Is this paradise?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was a very special holiday for us. 3 of us had travelled from the UK to meet up with family from NZ for a birthday celebration. And it fulfilled all our expectations! We were in the 2 lagoon villas which were ideal with lots of space to entertain 3 lively children. They were scrupulously clean; the chambermaid had to sweep out sand every day and she was very cheerful and obliging as she worked around us.
We ate extremely well and the food was interesting, introducing us to local produce and a good breakfast each day. The Pacific Night on Friday was excellent and the music and dancing kept the children transfixed (and the adults)long after bedtime! One small criticism; the waiting staff in the evening were a bit slow and we had to wait for quite a while for the food to be served which was fine for the adults but difficult with hungry children; but Billie tried her best to keep us happy. I suspect some of the staff were new at the beginning of the season.
We enjoyed the activities by the staff from the Beach Hut and it was good to borrow swimming, snorkelling and kayaking equipment whenever we wanted......and we enjoyed their enthusiastic music-making on the boats.
It was a shame, since small children are catered for so well in general, that there was a $250 charge for a late check out after 12md. The NZ plane goes at 6 pm so this is the only way to provide a toddler with a nap in the afternoon.
But in general.....a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    180
    50
    26
    21
See reviews for
225
274
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Pacific Resort on Muri Beach is a lovely 4 star hotel. The service is friendly and sincere, the grounds great and the best kids club we've ever experienced. We stayed in a Premium Family Room which was spacious and nicely kept but was on the road side so we did hear a bit of traffic (we were in 43 - see http://www.pacificrarotonga.com/picshotel/pacificresortrarotonga/brochure/prr-map-2012.pdf for Resort Map).
Breakfast on the beach each morning is a wonderful day to start the day and the food is quite nice - the continental options are a bit limited but completely fine.
We visited both The Rarotongan and The Crown Resort and were more than satisfied that the Pacific was the pick of the bunch. Would definitely go back.
Make sure you try The Rickshaw restaurant just up the road, and the lime tart at Delilicious which is just around the corner. Oh, and the Avana Fishing Club for lunch is an absolute must - only a 5 minute drive from the resort. Take a couple of beers with you and try the Mahi Mahi salad!
We visited at the end of April and had fantastic weather for 10 days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was our third time staying at pacific resort, and this was the best trip. I think the staff have up'ed their game from good to great. In particular the restaurant staff were friendly and professional. Special mention to Billie - you really looked after us. I also thought the reception staff were excellent, a great welcome from Matt, and the night staff looked after me when I was locked out when I got back from the Friday nite bus trip! We have previously stayed in a premium beachfront suite, and the beachfront villa. This time we "downgraded" to a standard two bedroom family room - upstairs (for us plus 22 yr old son) . We were really surprised how nice it was! Private, aircon, and clean. We keep coming back because the resort has it all. Dining with your feet in the sand, cocktails served to your lounger, great beach and cute Islands. We will probably be back for another trip, next time I think we will also try Aitutaki.

Room Tip: Our Standard Family room was great value. We asked for an upstairs room, they have little private ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have just enjoyed our second stay at the Pacific Resort Muri Beach, this time introducing the property to dear friends. Our beach front suites were impeccably clean, and one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. Breakfast on the beach each morning started the day perfectly, cocktail hour was enjoyed on too many days :-) and dinner on the beach was delicious, in fact the best meals we had on the island during our stay! Management and staff were friendly and attentive, very helpful with attraction recommendations and booking. Thank you team, we will return and will recommend Pacific Resort Muri Bach to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 14 members just spent a week at the Pacific Resort and it was the most relaxing holiday destination. The weather was superb and we spent a lot of time at the beach which is so close to the accommodation and safe for the children. The breakfasts on the beach every morning were a perfect way to start the day.The staff were bright and cheerful and very helpful.Our only criticism was that the pool facilities catered for toddlers and adults but not for children as the main pool was very deep. Fortunately the beach was a great substitute. All in all a memorable family time and to be recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My family and I (3 adults, 2 children) stayed here for 10 days at the end of Apr-2013 in the 2-bedroom Villa.
GOOD: Muri Beach is the best part of Raro so the location of Pacific Resort on Muri Beach (and the only Hotel on the beach that is kid friendly) cannot be beaten. The Villa was very clean and the daily servicing was brilliant. It was very quiet and private enough not to be disturbed by our neighbours. The Beach Hut boys were fantastic as were the waiting staff (special mention to Billy who was extra patient with our kids) and the musicians were brilliant (special mention to Kura who just blew us away with her acoustics). Gardens were well maintained and beautiful.
THE NOT-SO-GOOD: The 5am wake-up calls by the roosters were funny ... except with a hangover! The meal choices for our 3 year-old were limited. Happy hour prices weren't that "happy" so maybe having a "happier" hour would be a good idea!
Overall, we loved it, loved it, loved it and will definitely be back again for our next holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I just wanted to say a huge thank you to Richard and his team at the bar and restaurant. You were so much fun, and so patient with our little ones. Billie, you are one of a kind and very special, thank you.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Resort Rarotonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Resort Rarotonga

Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Resort Rarotonga 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Boutique….Rarotonga’s leading full-service authentic boutique resort is nestled discreetly in one of the world’s most spellbinding spots. Stretching one kilometre along the south-eastern coast of Rarotonga, Muri beach is laden with glorious white sand, fringed by palm trees and lapped by the gentle waters of a shallow, safe lagoon. This boutique resort offers a perfect blend of modern comforts and traditional island hospitality. A place where simple, lazy days meet luxurious evenings. And where the friendly, gracious staff meet your every request. Dining at the resort is a fine experience. Be tempted by succulent fresh seafood, Pacific and international dishes, or be summoned by beating drums to an authentic Cook Islands feast.No matter how you choose to fill your days and nights at this breathtakingly beautiful place that is Pacific Resort Rarotonga, one thing is certain. You’ll leave feeling rested, restored and renewed. And above all, determined to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Resort Rarotonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Hotel Muri
Pacific Hotel Rarotonga
Pacific Hotel Muri
Raratonga
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Muri, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Resort Rarotonga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.