We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Resort Rarotonga

Save Saved
You added Pacific Resort Rarotonga to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3 FREE nights
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Muri
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had a great stay at the Pacific Resort, helped out by the amazing weather. Staff we generally very helpful, a little slow at times in the restaurant/bar, perhaps we needed more time to move to island time.

A little disappointed by the bogan behaviour of other guests, shouldn't blame the resort for this expect to say it would have been nice if they had clamped down on the "parties" that took place in front of our neighbours room, bottles and scooters everywhere, our loungers pinched for their privilege, wasn't happy about that but I guess even bogans will travel.

Muri lagoon a bit of a disappointment for snorkling, its all quite dead, however there were other spots that were much better, try in front of Big Fish dive shop.

Food was ok, needs more local produce and local food (doesnt it Robert Oliver!!).

Room Tip: Waterfront the best way to travel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    318
    157
    42
    24
    20
See reviews for
191
249
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Six of us recently spent a total of six days at the Pacific Resort...and we would unreservedly fully recommend it. Our greeting was very welcoming and our beach front rooms (101 & 102) were everything you could reasonably wish for in your hard earnt tropical holiday. The views of the lagoon were crazy! The food on offer was as good as anywhere else on the island - the burgers were a big hit and a favourite. Don't know about you but my holidays are partly measured by the quality of the mojitos!! I was full of expectation and might I say that Todd (bar man) makes some of the best mojitos not just anywhere in Rarotonga but anywhere in the Pacific...superb. The six of us hit the scooters and went exploring. After a few days it was evident that Pacific Resort was indeed the best resort on offer. Lots of other locations looked tired and/or their respective beaches were not overly conducive to jumping in and going for a swim...too many rocks and sharp coral. If staying at the Pacific Resort and you need supplies head out of the entrance turn left and travel about 300 meters. There you will find a little store on the left. 'Mr Woo' is your man, never short of a laugh and pretty good value...just remember you are in the islands! March is rainy season in Rarotonga and we 'suffered' no more than 25 minutes rain in total over the six days...not a problem let me assure you. Perhaps the only problem we encountered was the skinny dips at night in the lagoon. We found out that the coconut crabs enjoy coming out at night too...and will nip anything on offer...be warned!!!
Pacific Resort provided us with the awesome stay we were hoping for...when compared to other hotels we definitely had a great resort, great location, close to lots of restaurants and of course home to those mojitos!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

14 days at Pacific Resort on Muri Lagoon just wasn't enough! We had such a great time. Our Premium Garden Suite (which was lovely) was exactly as advertised, the location is absolutely beautiful and even the weather was great. The tropical breakfast every morning was so filling the only time we ate lunch the whole time we were there was when it was supplied on the day tours we did! Evening meals on the beach were a highlight altho perhaps a little pricier than similar meals at neighboring restaurants. The staff are amazing..nothing is too much trouble and they are so happy, efficient & friendly. My husband & I wish we were still there and can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 are the most private of the Garden Suites(which we preferred), but if you really want Lago...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband I and are stay the Manava (sister hotel) but we used the Pacific Resort hotel every day for breakfast, sometimes lunch and dinner. Great atmosphere, location and food. There is an option for dining in the restaurant or pizza bar. We tried both and I highly recommend it. The pizza was full of flavour.
We loved the view from the hotel. Muri beach lagoon is terrific. We spent few hours sunbathing, drinking cocktails and eating the delicious island fries (cassava chips) and calamari.
Staffs were lovely and efficient.

Room Tip: Good choice of dining; Pizza Bar and/or Restarurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a great time in Rarotonga, and a big part of this was because of the Pacific Resort. The hotel is at Muri Beach - an absolutely beautiful location on a sandy beach. The accomodation is not super luxurious, but is clean and comfortable - perfect for lazing around on the beach and in the lagoon for a relaxing holiday. Our room had picture postcard views of the lagoon which was only metres away. The food and bars were good, but there are also plenty of options around (walking distance) if you feel like a change. We had a look at some of the more boutique hotels but were always glad to return to the Pacific Resort where everyone (including the staff) seemed happy and relaxed and having a good time. Wish I was back there right now.....

Room Tip: Go for the beachside rooms with views you will remember forever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stopped in Cook Islands on the way back to Australia to visit family, and stayed 5 nights at Pacific Resort Rarotonga.
Firstly, location is amazing! Muri beach is beautiful, good snorkelling, spectacular kayaking and a really safe place for the kids to swim. We stayed in one of their villas where it was a straight walk of about 20 metres from our back door down to the beach. The decor is a little dated but that is my only minor negative, and really if you are worried about the decor in your accommodations, you are missing the point of a holiday in the Cook Islands. Breakfast on the beach was fantastic, delicious fresh tropical fruit and some tasty little doughnut-type-things. Our kids spent a couple of days with the Kids Club, the first time they had attended a program like that, and they really enjoyed the activities and were instantly comfortable with the relaxed and friendly nature of the 'beach hut boys'. We found all staff friendly and helpful, if somewhat relaxed, they were never following after you to see if you needed anything, but nothing was too much trouble if you asked them for it.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this resort to anyone looking for a great, relaxing family holiday. Our kids regularly ask to go back, and I am certain that we will be back there to visit again some time soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Thrilled with all aspects of this resort. The location and grounds are exceptional, the staff friendly and helpful, the food so good we only ate away from the resort twice, the opportunities for kids varied and exciting. We stayed five nights, and could have done twice that. The only thing we were surprised at was the $120 quote for airport transfer, steep for a ten minute drive. We payed $50 for a taxi that stopped and waited while we picked up a few things from town for the flight. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacific Resort Rarotonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Resort Rarotonga

Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Resort Rarotonga 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Boutique….Rarotonga’s leading full-service authentic boutique resort is nestled discreetly in one of the world’s most spellbinding spots. Stretching one kilometre along the south-eastern coast of Rarotonga, Muri beach is laden with glorious white sand, fringed by palm trees and lapped by the gentle waters of a shallow, safe lagoon. This boutique resort offers a perfect blend of modern comforts and traditional island hospitality. A place where simple, lazy days meet luxurious evenings. And where the friendly, gracious staff meet your every request. Dining at the resort is a fine experience. Be tempted by succulent fresh seafood, Pacific and international dishes, or be summoned by beating drums to an authentic Cook Islands feast.No matter how you choose to fill your days and nights at this breathtakingly beautiful place that is Pacific Resort Rarotonga, one thing is certain. You’ll leave feeling rested, restored and renewed. And above all, determined to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Pacific Resort Rarotonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Hotel Muri
Pacific Hotel Rarotonga
Pacific Hotel Muri
Raratonga
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Muri, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Resort Rarotonga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.