We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Resort Rarotonga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Resort Rarotonga to your Saves list
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 FREE nights
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Muri
Midlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

We would definitely recommend Pacific Resort - it is set against the beautiful Muri lagoon which is great for swimming and snorkelling. You can actually walk across to the Koromiri Motu island opposite through the lagoon (in reef shoes or crocs!!!). The hotel has kayaks, pedalos, snorkelling gear and provides beach towels each day. The staff are very sociable and create a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere whether you are staying in the hotel or just visiting the bar/restaurant. The accomodation is all little apartments and villas rather than a big hotel block. We stayed in a Junior Garden suite which was beautifully decorated and very close to the beach, bar and restaurant. The grounds are beautiful with palm trees (ask the beach hut guys for a coconut demonstration) and loads of flowers and plants (pretty - and I know nothing about gardening!). The food was very good (and we ate both at lunchtime and in the evening - you can't beat eating on the beach tables overlooking the lagoon, or in the restaurant overlooking the little fishpond - look out for George the big eel! The Island night on Fri was really good, and the Pacific night on Monday was even better (different local dance and drum groups with mix of ages showing off their island dancing skills - amazing!!!). And last but not least the shell horn blew everyday at 5pm for happy hour when cocktails and other drinks are a bit cheaper!! Can definitely recommend the BFK cocktail! We had an amazing week there and would definitely recommend this hotel. Word of warning - if the wind suddenly picks up, you probably have about 2 minutes before the rain comes!!! we only had a couple of showers and 1 quite big storm during our week (and it reached almost 30 degrees most days). And remember you need to pay departure tax $30 each at the airport when you leave (or try and do it at the bank before to save queuing!).

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    179
    50
    26
    21
See reviews for
227
273
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokoroa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

Have just come back from staying at the resort. The rooms were great. What could we say about the staff but to stay they were great and always friendly and helpful. We will be going back soon to stay in the best resort on Rarotonga

  • Liked — Clean and fresh
  • Disliked — nothing everyhting was good
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Country
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

We stayed at the Pacific Resort in Aitutaki in 2006 and it was exquisite. So when we returned to the Cook Islands this year and saw that the Pacific on Rarotonga had an Island Night, we decided to go for it based on the wonderful stay we had in Aitutaki (we did NOT stay at Pacific Resort on Rarotonga). Wow. That was the biggest waste of money EVER. We are seasoned travelers to the South Pacific and usually enjoy 20 to 30 dancers with costume changes, different rhythms, and MATURE and experienced dancers in a great location. This island night was held in a confining, stuffy, small restaurant with maybe 15 tables. The buffet opened at 6:30, closed at 7pm. The food was just OK, but I "saved myself" for dessert. Well, the servers brought out individual saucer sized plates for each person that held a small piece of papaya sprinkled with coconut, a mini-eclair that was maybe 2 inches long, and a 1 inch square of a Jell-o type of substance. TERRIBLE AND DISAPPOINTING!!!! The buffet was cleared at 7pm and we waited for an hour for the show. That must have been because they wanted everyone to buy the $12 drinks that were almost devoid of alcohol while they waited. Finally, 5 teen dancers came out and danced for maybe 5 minutes in a very small area. Then came the 5 year olds who mostly stood around sucking their fingers and looking like they wanted to be elsewhere. They "danced" for maybe another 5 minutes. One of the teens showed how to open a coconut, then made an audience member do the same. For the next 40 minutes, IT WAS ALL AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION!!!!!! There was no more "professional dancing". And for this we paid $55 per person. I have never been to one of those "luaus" in Waikiki that I always hear are so terrible. But they must be better than this. This was a total rip-off. The biggest disappointment was expecting more from a place like the Pacific Resort.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2007

We had a lovely room here, although we didnt know about the solar heating till we got a cold shower on a cloudy day! Would have been nice to be told that before we arrived so we could have flicked the switch to power heating. Nice beach and lovely staff. Although I did think this place was a little over priced for what we got.

  • Liked — Lovely gardens
  • Disliked — Solar heating for the showers, dont like cold showers on a cloudy day!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

Unknowingly we chose the best resort on Rarotonga! It was fantastic and Muri beach is the best! The resort staff were sooo Friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The management is excellent and the venue leaves you breathless. It is beautiful, relaxing, heavenly!!!!!!! The rooms were CLEAN and looked great in island decor! My advice, DONT GO ANYWHERE ELSE!

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

My family, friends and I stayed at The Pacific Resort Rarotonga in September 2007. Our rooms were Junior Garden Suites, which are surrounded by lush gardens and very close to the beach.
The suites are nice and clean with plenty of room. We had the rooms configured for 3 adults - 1 king +1 single.
The bathroom was very spacious and modern with an open shower and large bowl sink. There was plenty of room for us to put our toiletries.
The hotel is right on Muri Beach which is really beautiful. There are 2 motus (little islands) just off the beach. The water is so shallow that you can walk to them (with reef shoes) or you can use one of the hotel's kayaks and kayak out there.
The hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating. I actually had an injury from horseback riding on Rarotonga. It was on Island Night and I wasn't up to attending the event. The hotel staff called the hotel bar and asked them to prepare a table for me and my party. They let us order from the regular menu even though the kitchen was focusing on the island night menu. We were very pleased with their customer service.
My group was not traveling with any small children, but I think this resort is suitable for families with young kids.
The weather on Rarotonga was a bit cooler and rainier than expected, but we still found things to do in and around the resort. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Rarotonga.

  • Liked — Location and customer service
  • Disliked — No jacuzzi, which would been nice on the rainy days we had.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

The setting is outstanding, the food was good and the staff very friendly. The gardens are lovely and everything was well maintained. The rooms were dated but clean. We had a two bedroom garden unit. It was damp but the hotel supplied a dehumidifier when this was mentioned. The kids enjoyed the beach club activities and the beach hut boys had just the right laid back approach with them. We'd definitely go back again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — dated furnishings
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Resort Rarotonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Resort Rarotonga

Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Resort Rarotonga 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Boutique….Rarotonga’s leading full-service authentic boutique resort is nestled discreetly in one of the world’s most spellbinding spots. Stretching one kilometre along the south-eastern coast of Rarotonga, Muri beach is laden with glorious white sand, fringed by palm trees and lapped by the gentle waters of a shallow, safe lagoon. This boutique resort offers a perfect blend of modern comforts and traditional island hospitality. A place where simple, lazy days meet luxurious evenings. And where the friendly, gracious staff meet your every request. Dining at the resort is a fine experience. Be tempted by succulent fresh seafood, Pacific and international dishes, or be summoned by beating drums to an authentic Cook Islands feast.No matter how you choose to fill your days and nights at this breathtakingly beautiful place that is Pacific Resort Rarotonga, one thing is certain. You’ll leave feeling rested, restored and renewed. And above all, determined to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Resort Rarotonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Hotel Muri
Pacific Hotel Rarotonga
Pacific Hotel Muri
Raratonga
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Muri, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Resort Rarotonga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.