We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Resort!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Muri Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Muri Beach Resort to your Saves list
Muri Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Main Road, Muri Village | P.O. Box 146, Muri, Cook Islands (Formerly Shangri-La Beach Cottages)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Resort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have just returned from 4 nights at Muri Beach Resort, and had a lovely stay. Queenie is so lovely & helpful! And Toby was a gem also. The resort is nicely set out & has everything you need. We had a beach front apartment, and wish we had chosen Lagoon View or Garden View, as those units were larger, cheaper & more sheltered from the wind. Muri Beach is very windy, so our beachfront apartment was very exposed. Other than that, we had a great stay, loved the pool & the cocktails from 4-6pm, met wonderful people, and had a fabulous time. A lovely location, although the beach is less rocky a further down the lagoon. We recommend this resort!

Room Tip: Go for Lagoon View or Garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    68
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
79
83
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

the Muri Beach Resort was great:
* the studio room were perfect (they put a little bed in the corner for our 6 year old)
* the owners and staff were very friendly and helpful
* the pool was great for our family
* the restuarant providing great lunches are we relaxed by the pool
* we used the bbq one night and purchased salads and island fries to go with it
I would recommend to anyone!
James & Mereana

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at Muri beach resort for 9 nights at the start of September and couldn't recommend this place enough....We booked our accommodation and started planning our Wedding with Muri Beach Resort a year earlier and the staff were fantastic and very helpful at answering all my questions through email.

After a much anticipated year it finally came time to set off on Holiday and have the wedding of our dreams....... and this is exactly what it was! Our day was perfect and everything planned was exactly as it was supposed to be. We couldn’t of asked for a better night and we cannot say thank you enough for all the hard work and exceptional Service we received during our Stay. The staff were all so friendly, helpful and welcoming especially Chrissy who does an amazing job planning prior to the day and setting up on the day/night.

Our accommodation was super clean and tidy and we were impressed with the size, as this resort is a bit smaller than others it meant the pool was not as busy which was great for cooling off on those hot days. The restaurant is also very good with friendly service and lovely food.

Overall we cannot wait to return and stay at Muri Beach resort and would highly recommend this for accommodation and a perfect relaxed Rarotonga wedding.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

we stayed at Muri Beach Resort, for five nights in August 2013 with our young family. Two adults, two children aged four and two.

we had just stayed five nights in a larger resort so it was nice to come to a smaller, more intimate setting. The grounds are just lovely, with lush gardens (and, unfortunately, mozzies - we did get bitten quite a bit).

We stayed in a garden villa that had a wee alcove with bunk beds for our boys, and a separate area with half wall for the queen bed. The set up was adequate for our family, although we did rig up a curtain system so we could 'shut the door' when our kids went to bed in the evening.

The kitchen was adequately stocked with utensils, etc.

The bathroom was a bit tired and the shower pressure was a bit on the low side, but the deep spa bath made up for that.

The beach is great and we made quite a lot of use of the snorkel gear and kayaks out on the lagoon.

We took the self service option, and took our towels in for replacing every day. Apart from sweeping the floor of sand and kiddy crumbs, this was perfectly adequate.

Would not hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed for a week and was expecting a nice time. My expectation was met and I will return to this resort for future holidays. You will find everything you need close by. There is a great selection of dining options near by and an excellent beach to swim and relax by. The weather was cooler this time of year but still warm compared to home.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

My (now) wife and I stayed here for 6 nights and got married here in early August. We arrived on the evening flight and drove ourselves to the resort. Upon arriving there was no one to greet us and no indication of where our room was. After talking with the driver, the ever awesome Toby, we finally located our room and settled in. The restaurant staff were great and happily served us dinner despite it getting late (nearer 9pm).

This was the only negative experience I can think of over the course of the next 5 nights. The staff could not have been more accommodating or friendly. A large part of our wedding party and family stayed with us and we were determined to have a good time. Despite, perhaps, making a tad too much noise at times the staff and management were always positive and made us feel welcome as a group.

Queenie was great at assisting us with arranging transport for a stags do (special thanks to Toby for being our very understanding driver) and answering our questions. Chrissie was very attentive and organised, making the wedding side of our stay a breeze. Apart from a small hiccup involving flowers, the wedding arranged by Chrissie and Jane went smoothly and we've heard nothing but positive feedback about the buffet and drinks service on the night. While I did not make use of the salt water pool, a large group of our guests did during the wedding reception and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Our room was facing the beach and probably the most private at the resort (#20). It has been finished to a good standard and featured an awesome spa bath, a large comfy bed and a well equiped kitchen. The stereo in each room had attachments for Apple iDevices (although not the current generation with the new connector) as well as a universal mini jack cable. We did have ants and a couple of cockroaches during our stay, however this was expected and unavoidable in the islands (especially with the amount of food and traffic through our room). Mosquitoe coils were provided and well used. Most rooms have insect mesh covering doors and windows however our was lacking one for the door. We choose the non-daily serviced option which suited us perfectly (sheets and towels were easily swapped at reception).

The grounds were well presented and tended by Toby. One thing that really helps this resort stand out is there eco friendly mission. The whole place is powered by solar panels (on most roofs and stands near the road side); water is heated via solar heaters with a boost fuction; all water on site is filtered and scraps go to the resident pig (opposite reception across the driveway). The owners are really proud of this and happily explained to us how it worked and what it meant to the island.

If I had to give any criticism it would be minor things, such as: the curtains in our room which were too short and didn't cover the full space (although with the view it wasn't necessarily a bad thing); the shower boost function didn't seem to work for us when we tried it and the reception closed early on one of the days when we had a few pressing questions.

All up our stay was pleasant, the staff awesome, the grounds perfect and the food great. The Cook Islands hold a special place for my wife and I with Muri Beach Resort our new favourite place to stay in Rarotonga. Thanks to Chrissie, Jane, Toby and all the friendly staff for making our trip and our wedding.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were shifted during our stay so we were able to compare the quality of the rooms. For a cost of over $400 per night, with no breakfast or servicing, the first room was overpriced but still nice (4 star), the second room was really quite bad, cracked tiles, swollen vanity unit, bedroom walls only part way to the ceiling, and generally old and tired (2+). The standard was completely different. I wondered if they has overcharged us for the second room, but given the hostility of the lady at the desk, I didn't bother querying it.
We had a mixed experience with service, the owner was very nice, and 1 staff member lovely, the other seemed quite hostile, and the airport pick-up that we paid for failed to appear, so we were stranded at midnight, trying to get to the airport.

Room Tip: Be very careful about what room you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Muri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Resort

Address: Main Road, Muri Village | P.O. Box 146, Muri, Cook Islands (Formerly Shangri-La Beach Cottages)
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muri Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront on Muri. This intimate boutique resort offers 20 beautifully decorated deluxe self-contained villas and apartments. These well-appointed units feature air-conditioning, Jacuzzi spa baths, insect screens, TV/DVD, in-house movies, Wi-Fi internet, IDD telephones. And all of this is set amongst tropically landscaped gardens. When not enjoying the stunning views from the beachfront deck, enjoy lazing by the large swimming pool sipping tropical cocktails. The resorts beautiful poolside Polynesian style cafe & cocktail bar which is surrounded by tropical gardens is al-fresco dining Island style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Muri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel Muri
Muri Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muri Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.