We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value For Money In Beautiful Muri Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muri Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Muri Beach Resort to your Saves list
Muri Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Main Road, Muri Village | P.O. Box 146, Muri, Cook Islands (Formerly Shangri-La Beach Cottages)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Auckland, NZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Best Value For Money In Beautiful Muri Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

We stayed here in a "Lagoon View" room in June 2008 and I must say that we were most impressed ! We were part of a wedding party of about 30 people so this gave us the ability to compare thier accommodations and compare to ours. Everyone made the comment that for the price we payed, ours was far superior - and we humbly had to agree!

Muri is the nicest place to stay in raro but as a result the prices are generally the highest on the island. But dont dispair Muri beach resort is much more reasonable than most others , with most rooms freshly renovated too.

The location is a little far from town but rental cars and scooters are easy to hire, and you really only need to venture into town for the Saturday markets or some food supplies. *hint Take frozen meat and snack foods if you can, as food is generally twice the price as in NZ here. example: 1.5L Coke $3.80 , bread $4.50.

There is a gas station/store just at the end of the driveway and also a 5 min walk up the road is the "deli-licious cafe" with $4 coffees and reasonably priced internet access.

Paul and Jane are excellent hosts, and the staff in general were all very friendly - which is hard to find these days!

We WILL return and stay here again. Lovely place to stay, and even nicer country :-)

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    64
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
74
81
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aucland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

We stayed 8 days at he Muri Beach Resort and had a fantastic stay. The weather in Rarotonga was beautiful and the Resort location is one of the best on the island! We found the staff very friendly and helpful with what to do and see throughout our stay. will be back!

  • Liked — beachfront
  • Disliked — loud children
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

My family and I spent two weeks at this tropical paradise in April this year. My husband and I are in our late 30's early 40's and our son is 5. We all had the most fantastic time - there was something there for all of us to do - from paddling the pristine waters of the lagoon, to lazing around the pool with a book. I have never had a more relaxing holiday - and this was the first one with our son!!! The proprietors are friendly Aussies and nothing was too much for them to make our holiday great. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2008

We have just spent a fantastic 10 days at the Muri Beach Resort and recommend it highly to other travellers. Jane and Paul are great hosts who go out of their way to ensure you know all you need to about the island and what it has to offer. We were travelling with our three kids who are 21, 20 and 13 years old so things like the salt water pool and free use of snorkelling gear and kayaks was excellent. Islanders Toby and Lily assisted around the resort with Toby always keen to husk and open a coconut when you needed it. It was only a five minute walk along the beach to some fabulous restaurants or you could buy reasonably priced meat packs from Jane if you wanted to barbeque by the pool. They also provided some lovely personal touches like fresh fruit in the fridge when you arrive, hibiscus on the beds and bunches of bananas that were 'help yourself'. This is also one place where it is safe to drink the water as it is all UV treated. We struck great weather with it only raining once through the day and this wasn't a problem as the resort have a good supply of games, DVD's and books.

  • Liked — The location and the people
  • Disliked — The rooster over the back fence.....for the first couple of days...then you don't notice it
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

I travelled solo for some R&R and to see the South Seas. The Cook Islands and Muri Beach did not disappoint. The accomodations are modern and clean.

The proprietors, Jane and Paul, were awesome hosts. They have put their lives into this venture and have spent much time to spruce up the property they acquired about a year ago and that I had found in a guidebook. I came rather prepared after spending some time reading the guidebooks, but getting reinforcement from Paul to take the day trip to Atutaki was really helpful.

This hotel is situated on an idyllic piece of the island that is sheltered by a coral reef. It is true that at low tide one can walk through knee deep water to one of the islets, but be sure to wear water socks as the bottom is rough.

Unfortunately, the wind was too strong for this rather neophyte windsurfer to get out in the water. Since it is protected by the reef, there is no fear about getting blown out to sea as I have experienced on Maui.

I found the diving to be so-so (I did two two tankers with two different dive shops), but the Atutaki day trip was well worth it. So was Pa's guided hike to the Needle. Riding a bike around the island is worth a 1/2 day including a quick stop in town.

From LAX, there is an overnighter via Air New Zealand that makes this a very time efficient trip.

There is a convenience store just steps away, an Internet cafe about a 10 minute hike down the road, and hotel restaurants are a stroll down the beach.

Take care with the phone calls. The local phone company was out of GSM cards and I finished off my prepay card pretty quickly so I had to suffer the roaming charges and it turned out to be over $100! Fortunately, I was able to persuade Ma Bell that the rather unexpectededly steep rates should be discounted.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

We've just returned from a week at the Muri Beach Resort after 3 weeks travelling in New Zealand, and we had a wonderful experience there.

The owners Jane and Paul and all the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and to make sure you are having a good time. The units are bright and clean and well equipped, the pool is great and the beach access to the lagoon is very good.

As new owners, the Pearsons have been doing a lot of upgrading and improvements, and the buildings and grounds are in tip top shape.The water system is now treated with ultraviolet, so the quality is pure. The new pizza oven in the kitchen shelter is just about ready, too bad we won't be there for the inaugural baking.

The location was perfect for us, easy walking access on the beach to three restaurants (we liked Sails at the Rarotonga Sailing Club the best), lots of small stores within walking distance, and of course the bus to town. We had our best snorkeling on the whole island right off the volcanic island in the lagoon (just a short kayak ride away).

With only 16 units, there is the chance to get to know your neighbours if you want to , or to be left alone if that's your choice. During our week we had a very eclectic mix, from honeymooners, to families, to retired couples, and from all over: Australia, New Zealand, Canada, US, Sweden and Britain.

We've never been to the Cook Islands before, but we would definitely stay here again if we go back, and we would unreservedly recommend it to anyone who is going.

  • Liked — Size, atmosphere, location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

We have just arrived home after spending 12 days at the Muri Beach Resort. I found it by browsing the internet. The owners have been there since March, 2007 and are busy doing lots of work around the resort. It is small, with stand alone units. They are very comfortable with air con. and fans. The units are of a good size and they provide larger ones to cater for those with kids.
The owners Jane and Paul are great and go out of their way to provide what you need and make your stay comfy. It has a lovely pool, all one depth, and is a saltwater one. No smells of clorine there. They are installing a wood fired pizza oven and intend having Pizza nights on Friday which will be good for meeting other residents holidaying there.
It is on the lagoon so the views from the lagoon villas is nice. It is separated from the main road by the shop and trees so there is no road noise which is nice.
A bus circles the island and will pick you up and drop you off at the driveway or any destination on the island you wish to visit. We found a small supermarket next door, with another just a short walk away, although the main ones are in the main town.
There's a lovely cafe a few hundred meters down the road which has lovely food you can have there or buy to eat back at the resort, and they also have the internet for you to use.
There are quite a few restaurants within walking distance, which also do takeaway.
I highly recommend this resort to anyone who does not want to stay at a large resort and looking for the smaller more intimate accommodation.

  • Liked — stand alone units, air conditioning and fans, quiet off road, on beach, lagoon
  • Disliked — nothing at all.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Muri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Resort

Address: Main Road, Muri Village | P.O. Box 146, Muri, Cook Islands (Formerly Shangri-La Beach Cottages)
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Muri Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront on Muri. This intimate boutique resort offers 20 beautifully decorated deluxe self-contained villas and apartments. These well-appointed units feature air-conditioning, Jacuzzi spa baths, insect screens, TV/DVD, in-house movies, Wi-Fi internet, IDD telephones. And all of this is set amongst tropically landscaped gardens. When not enjoying the stunning views from the beachfront deck, enjoy lazing by the large swimming pool sipping tropical cocktails. The resorts beautiful poolside Polynesian style cafe & cocktail bar which is surrounded by tropical gardens is al-fresco dining Island style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Muri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel Muri
Muri Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muri Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.