We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“te vara nui is the best culture show in raro!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Te Vara Nui Village

Te Vara Nui Village
Rarotonga, Muri, Cook Islands
00-682-24006
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book Now
Ranked #3 of 9 things to do in Muri
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Te Vara Nui Village is the Cultural Centre of the Cook Islands offering 3 amazing products: a 2.5 hour VILLAGE TOUR offering a full authentic journey into our past, a Stunning Over-Water Night Show and first class Island/Western fusion buffet dinning experience on floating and fixed stages set in botanical gardens surrounded by rock gardens and waterfalls, and our COMBO PACKAGE offering both Village Tour and Over-Water Night Show and Buffet dinner in one night. Your ultimate cultural experience not to be missed!!!!
Gold Coast
1 review
“te vara nui is the best culture show in raro!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

it was soo good to finally see a show that actually showed what the cook island culture was like, it was the best part of my holiday! if your ever in raro, no matter who your with GO SEE THE TE VARA NUI SHOW!! :)

Visited November 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    139
    34
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Fantastic Cultural experience on Rarotonga-highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We took the combo tour. Highly recommend doing both!!! The guides were very informative, entertaining and humourous. I learnt so much about Cook Islands culture and it was very interactive. they included us and got us up to do demonstrations. Tony is a gem and the guys sense of humour is infectious. your staff make it a great tour!! The Ura Po show was fantastic. Havent seen a show like that on Rarotonga in years. The dancers were fantastic and the floating stage..ohhhh. awesome!
The food was divine and I couldnt stop eating it was so good :)
A must to do when you go to Rarotonga - whether as a couple of a family. even if your a local I would suggest trying Te Vara Nui. Its set the bar for cultural entertainment in the Cook Islands. Well done and keep going!!!! We will definitely be back!!!!

Visited November 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interesting and Educational!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We did the combined village experience and it was amazing. The first section was very informative and educational about village life and the guys who took us around were outstanding. It was followed by a meal cooked the village way with a over lagoon show after. Got to be seen. Everybody enjoys themselves, food was amazing.

Visited December 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Te Vara Nui is 5 Star for entertainment & cultral experience in Rarotonga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Te Vara Nui is 5 Star for entertainment & cultral experience in Rarotonga. The staff and crew are very helpful and friendly. The village tour is fantastic! You're involved and its hands on, so its not like your normal boring tour. The guides are entertaining and imformative.

In the evening, there is an island buffet meal, entertainment and dessert follows to top off the night. A fantastic cultral show with fire dancers and the girls swinging their hips. Tony (Te Tangata, The man) looks after the visitors and keeps you entertained.

I thoroughly recommend Te Vara Nui for everyone visiting Rarotonga, it is truely 5 Star!

Visited October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Cant say more than it is absolutely brilliant place! the village tour is very informative and highly recommended for everyone to gain an understanding of Cook Island culture, the show was fabulous and the best culture performance I have every seen. The food was delicious and you can eat as much as you like. Service is friendly and entertaining. Worth every cent!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Vara Nui Village also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Te Vara Nui Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Vara Nui Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.