We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aito Apartments Muri

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aito Apartments Muri
Save
You added Aito Apartments Muri to your Saves list
Rarotonga, Muri 3065, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have just enjoyed staying at Aito Apartments for almost 2 weeks. it's certainly the best accommodation of our 4 trips to Rarotonga. Unfortunately we didn't meet Mere, but Jean Marc made us feel very welcome. The apartments are very comfortable, well equipped and private and suited us perfectly.

Room Tip: Either apartment would be fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We have stayed in Aito apartments for a week in November 2013. We came there without any particular knowledge of Rarotonga and Cook Islands but after having a nice email exchange with apartment owners Jean-Marc and Mere, who supplied us with many valuable advises. Well, after this short stay we can truly confirm that this was the best ever stay in a vacation rental for us, no exceptions! Three main factors contribute to this conclusion: 1.The property itself is a very well designed modern house of a VERY high quality construction for such remote tropical island and this, together with more than just decent rate per day, makes Aito apartments a place of tremendous value. These apartments have: high pressure hot and filtered cold water, fully equipped kitchen, washer, multiple fans, fully screened windows (big deal!), TV with DVD player and nice collection of movies, wifi hotspot (for a small additional fee) large front and back patios, huge bathroom, and generally very large living space. We are experienced in staying on pacific islands and I was very pleasantly surprised that roosters were starting their morning songs not too early and were not too loud. Even more, our daughter who was sleeping in the main room asked us to close windows every night (and turn on the fan of course) and did not hear neither the roosters nor the road noise. There was no road noise in the bedroom and not a single sound was ever heard from upstairs. 2. The location of the property is very convenient: just a 2 min (70 yards) walk to a nice beach in between Muri with all its fun and Fruits of Raro cafe with (indeed) the best snorkeling on the island, opposite to an upscale Rumours resort. 3. (and most incredible!) the apartment owners Jean-Marc and Mere are the nicest ever truly altruistic landlords you can think of! Just a couple of examples: on the first day, following owners' advise, we bought and BBQ'ed the freshest fish we have ever eaten, extremey tasty!; on the second day, Jean-Marc drove us to a hard-to-find cross island walk trailhead under rain so that we could get in our car on the other end of the trail (this trail was a blast by the way!); on the third and fifth day Mere and Jean-Marc shared with us huge amounts of their own food: eggpalnt tomato dish with rice and "poisson cru a la Tahiti"; on the fourth day they gave us the tastiest mahi-mahi they prepared at the market in Muri, and on the last day we and our neighbors were invited to dinner by Jean-Marc and Mere and had a great food (better than in a restaurant) and a lovely conversation upstairs on a huge veranda! After that dinner we left for the airport. Our 11 y.o. daughter was crying all the way saying "I don't want to leave, Mere and Jean-Marc are so-o-o nice". Best vacation of our life. End of story... (and we will never forget Tutu too of course).

Room Tip: Renting a scooter or a car is advised to be mobile and save time on transfers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylmar, usa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just got back from my trip about 2 weeks ago. This is truly a home away from home! You could not find any host mores hospitable & considerate as Jean Marc & Mere! They are so kind, they do all to make your stay comfortable. I thank them for all their hospitality! The apartment we stayed in was immaculate, clean and pretty good size. The kitchen is well stocked with plates, pans , coffee pot etc. There was bread, fruit, milk , eggs in the kitchen which was wonderful for tired travelers ! There is wi fi available but you do need to pay for access by purchasing access card/code down the street about 15 min walk.
The location is not beach front but is right across the street from the beach although the nicer beaches are a good 15 min walk either way left or right. I strongly suggest renting scooter or car to get around the island. Bus service is just slow & takes to long . We truly enjoyed our wonderful stay !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I found this accommodation on trip advisor and I have to say that after traveling around the world, we have never felt more welcomed. The hosts Jean-Marc and Mere were some of the nicest people we have ever met and their hospitality was exceptional. The apartments are spacious, clean, and have everything you need to stay on the island. Jean-Marc and Mere gave us great tips on restaurants, where to buy groceries and goods, and the best places to explore the island. They invited us over for dinner to taste the local cuisine which was exceptional. Their sweet dog Tutu even accompanied us to the beautiful secluded beach in front of the apartments. If you really want to experience Rarotonga and its hospitality you won't regret booking this accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merimbula, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We chose this accommodation based on Tripadvisor reviews and was not misled or disappointed. If you don't want the resort experience then you cannot go past Aito. The resorts across the road from Aito are 5 to 10 times the price and are probably lower quality accommodation. The apartment is spacious and has high quality fittings including a fully resourced kitchen. Added to this was the personal touch of the owners. If you can ride a bike then you can ride a scooter and we recommend that you hire one. Avis at Muri (15 minutes walk) had the cheapest rates at $15 per day and the daily trips around Rarotonga were great fun. If we return to Raro we will not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Aito in January 2013 and it was nothing short of brilliant.

The hosts Jean-Marc and Mere made us feel so welcome and the service we received was truly exceptional and something we will never forget (yes, its that good).

Polynesian hospitality at its best, you won't meet friendlier or more hospitable people.

The apartment is spacious, spotless, close to everything, comfortable, very homely, has everything you need and at a very fair price.

In summary, Aito far exceeded expectations and I'm more than happy to recommend Aito Apartments to anyone staying in Raro.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed for 13 nts in April 2013 and had a wonderful stay in Aito Apartments.Perfectly located at the far end of Muri beach towards Titikaveka,a lot quieter than the main Muri beach.Sometimes we had the whole beach to ourselves.We were escorted to the beach each day by Tutu,the owners dog who was ever so friendly.It is also about a 10 min walk to Fruits of Rarotonga for some excellent snorkelling and yummy burgers opposite in the cafe. The apartments are spotlessly clean, comfortable and very spacious with everything you would need for a great stay.A welcome pack of milk,bread,fruit,juice,butter,jams and eggs was just what we needed when we arrived at 07.30 on the first day of our stay.It has a large outdoor deck to eat and relax.At the rear of the property,there is another covered area with a washing mashine with detergent which we made good use of.The hosts Jean-Marc and Mere were delightful and we have never experienced such warm and genuine hospitality.They organized transfers to the property and Jean-Marc drove us back to the airport on departure.We made use of the round island bus which stopped right at the front of the apartments.They invited upstairs to their place for dinner twice during our stay for some wonderful meals,and even brought us down some prepared meals on several occasions which we really enjoyed and appreciated.The apartment is fantastic value for money and we thouroughly enjoyed our stay there.We will defineately be back.Thankyou so much Jean-Marc and Mere for your wonderful, amazing Polynesian hospitality

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aito Apartments Muri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aito Apartments Muri

Address: Rarotonga, Muri 3065, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AITO offers 2 Spacious Modern Deluxe self-contained 1 bedroom with ensuite apartments for your enjoyment.Located on the ground floor with ramp access.Fully equipped kitchen with an outdoor BBQ, laundry area with washing machine & cloths line, ceiling fans in bedroom&lounge;, fully screened windows, Solar hot water.Broadban access can be bought from nearby Resorts.Only a pace away from the Beach & pristine Lagoon.The local round-the-island bus service is right at your front gate.Rental cars/bikes, internet Cafes, Restaurants, Hotel&Resorts;, Boat&Safari Tours, Aquatic facilities, Sailing club and the best snorkelling spot is within a walking distance.Relax & unwind in this beautiful family home with the breeze from the Pacific Ocean.Suitable for 1-3 persons per apartment.Your host Mere&Jean-Marc, live on the top floor and will be happy to welcome and assist you.Minimum Stay: 3 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aito Apartments Muri Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aito Apartments Muri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.