We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new, Best Accomodations in Raro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Haymarket, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Brand new, Best Accomodations in Raro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

We had a great 4 nt stay in Villa 1 at Te Manava (pronounced teMAnava). The layout, interior design and furnishing are all top end and obviously the work of a professional designer. Although I think our unit had been around for something on the order of a year it seemed as though we were the first to ever stay there. Everything was in perfect and new condition. The glass doors along the front and rear walls of the living area fold away and the house can be completely opened up to the tradewinds. There's a beautiful covered sitting area outside that can be used in any weather - which was not particularly ideal during our stay with lots of wind and intermittent rain. Evidently, the weather can be dodgy on Raro at any time (we thought we were going in the best season but I gather there is no guaranteed good season). The principal lure of this destination is sunny weather, turquoise water and swaying palms so when it's cloudy and miserable there isn't a whole lot to do. However, one thing absolutely not to be missed is the island night at Highland Paradise. Forget all the hotel shows; they don't come anywhere close to this spectacularly enjoyable feast and show, which got a heartfelt standing ovation from everyone there.

By the way, the power outlet and hair dryer is inside a hidden cabinet on the side of each mirror. Pull it open from the bottom.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    13
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
53
87
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

We recently returned from our wedding in Rarotonga, where my family chose to stay in one of the Garden Villas (Villa 10) at Te Manava. Although, as previously mentioned, the Garden Villas aren't fitted out to the same level as the beachfront properties, it was still very nicely done. There were a few maintenance issues, but these were promptly fixed. The villa worked perfectly as base for us, as we had family staying all over the place and it was great to have such a quiet, private place to ourselves!

Later, after our wedding, my husband and I were lucky enough to spend 2 nights at one of the Ultimate Villas (Villa 1). It seriously took our breath away! Absolute beachfront, beautifully decorated and really just stunning and intimate. The layout is great with the private courtyard and pool with the second bedroom at the opposite end to the main house. Bathroom was gorgeous - love the rainforest shower head and glass wall to the closed off garden! We even found the plugs in the bathroom after a wee while (they're hidden behind mirrors, the end thirds of which open out to cupboards with the plugs inside). We reworked some of our plans just so we could spend more time in our villa and make the most of it!

Elane our concierge was absolutely brilliant, so attentive and friendly :) On our last day we were allowed a sneak peak of the Presidential Villa as well - absolutely amazing and perfect for a family or group. Even better equipped than the Ultimate Villas. After seeing all 3 categories on offer, what really stood out to us is how private they have managed to make every single one of these villas.

After staying in a resort for some of our stay, I really think that we prefer the private villa options that Te Manava allows. These are truly beautiful properties and we can't wait to go back. Would not hesitate in recommending Te Manava to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

If you are considering staying in Rarotonga I can highly recommend this accomodation for anyone who is wanting a luxurious, relaxing holiday....
We chose the presidential villa (aka Villa 3 - 2 double bedrms 1 single) which had everthing you could want ie. own gourmet kitchen to 60-70" Plasma TV in the lounge to 30-40" LCD in the upstairs bedroom to bath overlooking muri lagoon, own BBQ area enclosed within the walls of villa 3, DVD/CD player with surround speakers if you decide to take along some CD's & of course your own pool. The accomodation can be expensive at $1500 per night (Base rate) but because we stayed 7 nights we got a cheaper rate - note the base rate only includes the accomodation use of kayaks anything in addition such as changing of linen is an added cost. What you expend on accomodation you can make up if you decide to cook for yourself which in our case we chose to do. The best super market that we found was CTIC Supermarket in Avarua (Just on the ouskirts of the main township just before the airport (Going anti clockwise around the island - note there is also a liquor store there as well).
The complex is managed by Pacific Resort which comes with your own personal concierge so if you decide you require in house service such as champane breakfast then you can order that via the concierge - We were provided the services of Elaine who I can categorically state was extermely helpful & always went well beyond what we asked of her. she certainly made our stay more enjoyable.
Some things to note - Beware that the garden villas which also form part of this complex are not fitted out to the same level (I understand that over the next couple of months stage of 3 of this development will start & that there will be a new fit out of the garden villas - so be aware that things maybe get a bit busy/noisy over this period again you may want to contact them directly)
I found the best place to snorkel was directl in front of the villa although you had to swim out some 100 meters as the water can be quite shallow ie up to knees / hip (Similar to Autitaki - see comments on Pacific Resort / Bishops Lagoon Cruise)
Note the heat burn rate is not the same as it is in NZ I spent most of the time in the water & was pleasently surprised that I didn't cook after 30 mins in the sun even at midday.
You will also find several dogs roaming the beaches - Because they do roam they didnt seem territorrial or aggressive most of them were very socialised & therefore friendly
For us this was definitely the best holiday we have taken & I would highly recommend this accomodation if you want to get away from the maddering crowd.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

My partner and me and two friends returned yesterday from a one-week stay at Te Manava. The nearby Pacific Resort manages Te Manava. Te Manava is about a 20-minute drive from the airport and we used the Pacific Resort’s transfer service, which was efficient and timely. Pleasingly the villa looked exactly like the photographs on their website unlike some places I have stayed at in the past.

The villas are beautifully appointed with more than enough room for 2 couples with excellent kitchen and laundry facilities. The beach is right on your doorstep and it is superb. Kayaks are supplied for guest’s use. The sea water quality is generally excellent however at times of heavy rain the first 50 metres of the ocean becomes quite cloudy due to a nearby stormwater drain. When this did happen there was however no smell or obvious pollution. You may find dogs on the beach during the day however the 4 or 5 that we came across were all very friendly and appear to be owned by nearby locals. They also seemed to know not to come onto the villa patio!

To get around the island there is a clockwise and anticlockwise bus service however I would suggest hiring a car or a scooter, both of which can be hired from the Pacific Resort or numerous other locations nearby. We hired a small car for about AUD60 a day including CDW. Scooters are about AUD20 a day.

There are a number of supermarkets dotted around the island and there is a small deli close to the Pacific Resort which sells a range of delicious food in particular their range of breads. Food can be ordered from Te Manava however it is very expensive. On our first morning we had the continental breakfast delivered to our villa (AUD55 per couple) and it was delicious including fresh bread and croissants - well worth the money.

The faults we found with Te Manava were very minor but are things that let the place down slightly: poor quality towels; no bins in one of the bathrooms and one of the bedrooms; no power points in the bathrooms (local law?); no hairdryer; pool became murky and wasn’t cleaned until we asked for it to be done.

For those who want to be pampered be aware that Te Manava does NOT have an on site spa facility which is not clear in their ads. There is a spa facility next door at Rumours however Te Manava guests are not allowed to use it. There is spa facilities elsewhere on the island that you can book into.

In summary - outstanding villas in an outstanding location. Just needs a little fine-tuning.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

Ok so we didn't actually stay here...the villas are brand new.

We basically checked out every resort on the island during our 5 day stay in Rarotonga - the weather wasn't great and we love to explore! The spa isn't set up yet but the villa's are beautiful and the location - close to Muri Beach means you can stroll to a number of good places to eat out. Well worth adding it to your list of options. If only I'd known about it earlier!!

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa

Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Muri
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
#2 Spa Hotel in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Cook Island's newest and most luxurious private villas managed by Pacific Resort operator of Australasia's & the Cook Islands Leading Resorts - World Travel Awards 2007 & 2008. Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa is 5-star luxury accommodation, set on the beautiful white sand beach of Rarotonga's stunning Muri lagoon, offering an exciting new choice for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Manava Luxury Villas And Spa
Te Manava Luxury Villas Hotel Muri
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.