We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want privacy in a top location, don't look past these villas.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Te Vakaroa Villas

Save Saved
You added Te Vakaroa Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Te Vakaroa Villas
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“If you want privacy in a top location, don't look past these villas.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Our family of 4 (2 grown children) had 2 weeks here over Xmas. The 4 villas (2 bedroom apartments upstairs, 1 bedroom ones downstairs) are right on Muri Beach which is a fabulous location where you see the waves breaking on the horizon but in between you & them is a beautiful, sheltered lagoon.
The snorkelling is fabulous but it is best on the far side of the lagoon which is a decent distance. We often kayaked over and just flopped over the side to snorkel for hours. The kayaks & snorkelling equipment are next door for no extra charge.
The upstairs 2-br villas are amazing, with well-stocked kitchens and massive outdoor, covered verandas overlooking the pool, spa and beach. We spent most of our time out there on the comfy lounges and chairs when we weren't snorkelling, swimming or eating.
Talking of eating, it's standard to take food to the Cook Is. I'm not kidding - you see lots of polystyrene boxes coming in with people at the airport. Next time that's what I would do too as there aren't many places to buy fresh ingredients for cooking. Everything is imported to Rarotonga because the island is tiny (you drive around it in less than an hour) and the middle is dense vegetation & hills.
There's a great restaurant next door (officially the sailing club) and a couple further along the beach, but don't expect night life as there isn't any. If you want that, don't go to the Cook Is!
If you do want to do your own thing in a laid back, beachside, stunningly beautiful and relatively unspoiled location, you can't beat these villas.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    6
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
74
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

A group of 16 of us recently spent 6 nights at Te Vakaroa Villas and we had a ball! Nick (one of the owners and on site most days) couldn't have been more accommodating and Poko (Office Manager and font of all knowledge) with her lovely smile and local knowledge just made everyone happy! The lovely ladies who delivered our yummy breakfast each morning were so friendly and happy that you started the day feeling on top of the world!

The villas are spacious and very well appointed and as we had the whole place to ourselves we just congregated in whichever one the food and wine was flowing in! Right on Muri Beach (did I mention the infinity pool that looks out onto the beach?) and within walking distance of at least four restaurants Te Vakaroa Villas is a must-return venue for me!

Room Tip: All rooms are fab - 3 x 2 bedroom and 3 x 1 bedroom - Villa 6 is the best 2 B/R and Villa 1 is the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our family of four (two adults, two twelve year olds) spent a blissful five days at Te Vakaroa. Everything was perfect - from the airport transfer, to our arrival, right through to our late check-out. Nothing was too much trouble, and everyone was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Our a two-bedroom villa was huge, and had wonderful views across Muri Lagoon. The villa was luxuriously decorated, and had a great outdoor deck with large daybeds. We've stayed at a variety of places on Rarotonga from resorts to private houses, and Te Vakaroa is by far the best. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We were one of 2 couples that stayed in a 2 bedroom villa at Te Vakaroa in August and have to say Wow! The rooms were immaculate, the staff were fantastic and our location was perfect. The villa suited us perfectly and there was plenty of space for 4 adults and had everything we needed to enjoy a relaxing holiday. It didn't take long to settle in to island life and the only downside was having to leave. We are already planning our next trip back to this wonderful place.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was our first stay in Rarotonga, so we wanted to go "up-market" to avoid disappointment.
Te Vakoroa delivered!!!. From the friendly shuttle driver, to the owner, receptionist and room staff we could not have asked for more. Very relaxed and laid back, but efficient.

The apartment was spacious, and well equipped. We enjoyed the ability to cook for ourselves, and use the washer and dryer contained in the apartment. We were able to get a breeze right through by opening the large "ranch-slider" doors and the smaller one in the bedroom. The lounge opened out onto a lovely infinity pool, with spa. The grounds, though small, were meticulously maintained.

While in Rarotonga we took the opportunity to compare Te Vakaroa with several other resorts, and are confident that it is the best on the island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was our first stay in the Cook Islands and we hit the jackpot! Te Vakaroa Villas has gorgeous views and the villas have everything we could need. Whenever we told people around the Island where we were staying, they all spoke of it as the best and just walking around, we didn't see any better. Someone posted that the pool was too cold, but we found it perfect after relaxing in the jacuzzi. After a few days, we realized we could not find a better view at resturants than our villa, so we took advantage of the full kitchens and dined at home. The staff was always helpful and answered all our questions, which included many since we had not been to the Island before.

We'll definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I forgot to do a review the last time we stayed here for 7 nights July 2012. The place is simply described as absolutely fantastic, the best facilities on the island,awesome staff and the only negative is the experience of feeling "not wanting to leave" when you depart. We travel to Raro often and have previously stayed at the Crown Resort & MuriBeach Club until we discovered this magical place!! We love staying at Te Vakaroa and have plans to stay again this time for 10 days in the next 2 weeks!! So Te Vakaroa........he we come again!!

Room Tip: Upstair units have an awesome view of whats happening during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Te Vakaroa Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Vakaroa Villas

Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Vakaroa Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new property offers six beachfront villas that face Muri Lagoon. 3 x 1 Brm Villas at the ground level and 3 x 2 Brm Villas at the 1st level each with views across the pool to the beach and lagoon. All villas are highly appointed, with large terraces, full kitchens complete with dishwashers, microwaves, frig/freezers, DVDs, surround cinema with flat screen TVs, satellite TV reception. I pod docking stations, and WiFi internet connections. Each Villa has its own laundry. A freshwater pool, spa and large daybed are located right above the beach. We provide complimentary meet/greet and airport transfers with welcome fruit platter on arrival. Complimentary tropical breakfasts are delivered to your villa daily and room service from the adjoining restaurant is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Te Vakaroa Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Vakaroa Villas Hotel Muri
Te Vakaroa Villas Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Vakaroa Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.